We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel trying too hard to be cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Andaz 5th Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #50 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice hotel trying too hard to be cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

don't be fool: behind the efforts Hyatt did to come up with a trendier arm for their Andaz brand, this remains a family friendly corporate hotel. If you are after the kind of creative and trendy crowd you expect to see at the Standard or the Soho House, wrong address. The hotel is full of "suits" and families. It is opposite the Library, mid town in a good location. I had one large room and a suite. The suite looked very nice with floor to ceiling windows, a large dinner table and a spacious bedroom.
It is very well appointed although way over designed in the sense the architects have obviously lost sense of what guests really need in their room, especially when they stay longer than one day. No coat hangers anywhere so you have to either hang yours in the already minuscule unique wardrobe or leave it on your bed. No cupboard space, I have never seen anything like that: literally you have a tiny wardrobe with one shelf and only one drawer hidden in the bedside tables and that's it. The bathroom is also very dark but the staff told me they were in the process of changing it. But beside these glitches, the rooms are quite nice and the bedding is fabulous. There is a tall glass wardrobe that looks better than it is convenient but it is a nice feature. The bathrooms are spacious although not very practical. Also I wasn't impressed with the soundproofing of their double glazed window: depending what you are facing, traffic noise can get pretty loud.
One thing they got right in their new approach: they don't charge for soft drinks in your fridge, nor for the internet and there is a free Happy hour between 6 and 9PM where you can get wine in the lobby. Also they don't charge for local call. That's brilliant! when do other hotels will understand we don't want to pay per day what our provider charges us per month to have access to the internet? and that we are not prepared to pay $20 for a bottle of Evian! So well done Andaz.
The staff is generally very helpful and kind although they have to work in rather difficult conditions: there is no reception desk, only a square unit in the lobby where staff uses each one side to deal with clients. So they constantly ask people to move away from it because they have to have access to the built-in drawers. So guests do not know where to cue, whether they are here to check-in, check out or ask questions: the staff does it all, there is no concierge. Inevitably this other attempt to be "cool" leads to frustration and chaos. And obviously, not all staff are good at giving advices on restaurants. One of the guys though was very knowledgeable, the others were definitely less. But again, the staff tries its best to be helpful, no question about that.
Another annoying thing, especially after a few days: there is no service elevator so the times where you actually make it to your floor without at least two stops are very very rare. A member of staff will almost inevitably get in at any floor and stop at another.
Finally, I couldn't quite figure out why they don't make better use of the best space they have: the open kitchen at the second floor. It is very well designed, bright, large and the kitchen units are great. It is not open to the guests and they only use it for corporate events. Talking about corporate, this is clearly a design hotel for corporate people, probably due to both its Hyatt genes and core business. This is a bit misleading: i thought it would be more of trendy place.
Overall I recommend it, you won't be disappointed if you accept the few issues I mention above.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    371
    112
    37
    15
See reviews for
342
704
102
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

This was a great hotel from the moment we stepped into until we checked out. When checking in, you get a glass of wine, the staff was VERY friendly. They go above and beyond to make sure that you have a great experience. The room was very clean, and the fact that basic snacks from the minibar are free is a definite plus. The decor was nice, and the bed was hard, but not terrible. The fact the hotel is on 5th ave is both a plus and a negative. Its a little loud, but the location is top notch. You're within walking distance of lots of places.

I would recommend this hotel to any NYC traveler, the rates are reasonable for the location and overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I stayed at the Andaz 5th Avenue early April with my teenage son. We had an XL Twin room with view which overlooked the NY Library. The room was lovely and comfy. It is a very nice touch to offer free waters and complimentary mini bar items. Thanks!
The room is very modern, very beautiful. The bathroom is also very lovely. My only complaint would be the dim lighting in the bathroom, other than that it was awesome.
The location is great. Sephora around the corner on Madison. Zara & H&M across the street. Times Square about a 5 min walk. Loved it!
My son and I enjoyed our stay at Andaz and would like to compliment every single 'host' working there. Everyone was extremely friendly. I will be back! Thanks again Andaz!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We almost missed this hotel when we arrived in the cab, but it's right across from the New York Public Library. We were unexpectedly upgraded to a suite!! It had two bedrooms and two baths. Even more fantastic--a balcony overlooking the library. As another review posted, the bathrooms could use a larger shower door and the lighting needs improvement in the bathrooms. But, each bedroom had a great flat screen TV, the living room was enormous and there was a full size refrigerator. I still can't believe how large the suite was--especially compared to other places I've stayed in NYC. It's also very close to Grand Central which was the main reason I chose it. The lobby staff was very friendly. Unfortunately, we didn't have time for the reverse happy hour--always hate to miss out on free wine! We also did not eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on the food quality. The free water and soft drinks in the room were a nice touch also. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We have just returned from a five night stay and really enjoyed it. We booked this hotel on the back of a previous stay with the Andaz London (equally great). We have previously stayed in hotels on the Lower East Side / Soho as we love the area & I was a little apprehensive that the midtown location would be too "touristy" given its proximity to Times Square. I didn't need to worry - it had a great laid back NYC vibe.

We had a loft suite which was refreshing spacious, loved the decor, the comfort level and the little spoils such as the mini bar drinks. Staff were very helpful and I like the little touches such as a complimentary glass of wine in the evenings etc (though we didn't partake). We ate in the restaurant & enjoyed great food and cocktails in the bar downstairs, and had takeout breakfast other mornings from The Shop.

My only gripe would be that at $400 a night no breakfast was included. I wouldn't expect a sit-down breakfast to be included - but some takeout coffee & pastries or muffins in the guest area may be more appreciated by some guests than a glass of wine in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Our room was great, we enjoyed it very much.
The service was great too, they were very helpful and kind.
The restaurant was a little bit pricy and the bar was quite empty when we visited it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Just got back from a 4 night stay here.

Pros:
Nice design
Food is good
Location is good
Got upgraded from standard king room to loft king, which is a big room for NYC standards, two tvs, two vanities
The bar is really cool with good drinks

Cons:
Bathroom lighting is terrible
Shower needs a door so it's not freezing and water doesn't spill out everywhere
The "hosts" were clueless when I handed them a Platinum Extras certificate
Service at breakfast was terrible
Did not refill toilet paper during the stay
Only did turndown once, and I had to call and ask for it, and all I could tell that it was was folding the duvet back. No chocolates, no new towels, nothing.

Would stay there again, despite these issues.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! I am happy that we were able to give you an upgrade, although disppointed we did not recognize your Platinum Extra's certificate immediately! I have followed up with our team and made sure everyone is aware of how to handle these.

We are also working on a solution for increased bathroom lighting based on what our guests are saying. A new lighting mock-up design has been created in one of our rooms, which I can assure you has wonderful light, and we are in the process of replicating this throughout all the hotel.

I apologize for the lapse in service at breakfast, and with housekeeping....sincerely. Please feel free to email me directly at connie.wang@andaz.com so that I can remedy these directly and personally ensure your next visit is perfect! I greatly appreciate your "pros and cons" list, and hope to turn the cons into pros!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#48 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#7 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,626 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,015 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#32 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.