We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around fabulous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 508 Restaurant & Bar

508 Restaurant & Bar
508 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013
212.219.2444
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
508 Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,870 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spring Street
Transit: Spring Street C E - Canal Street 1 - Metro Bus 21 or 20
North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“All around fabulous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Great food--the lamb flatbread was delicious--and lovely service. Great drinks too! Warning-the truffled mac and cheese is highly truffled--it was too much for my teenage daughter. Great ambiance as well. Expensive, but the food and service is stellar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Found 508 on Open Table and gave it a try for brunch. Turned out to be a good gamble - cute place, extremely friendly staff and comfy atmosphere. The brunch items include a choice of beverage - bloody Mary's were fresh and spicy, with real horseradish. Interesting menu, the spiced lamb omelette was particularly good. Also, killer fries. And in an act of total indulgence, we had churros for dessert, unnecessary but oh so good! Also tried the craft beers, thumbs up. Will go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GReat dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We found this restaurant on OpenTable and confirmed the feviews on the much trusted, TripAdvisor. It didn't disappoint. We had the Cheese Fondu for two (ton of food and ooh, so good!), the cucumber salad (excellent), margarita pizza (just so-so, didn't care for the cheese mix or flavor) and the to-die-for, truffle mac and cheese. Definitely not a low cal meal, but. . . .worth every calorie! Would recmmend the Malbec wine - it was very good.

From eavesdropping on the bar guests, it seemed like a very warm, nice, neighborhood place to have a drink and share some chatter.

It was closed because of the storm but has recovered nicely.

It was definitely worth the subway ride from mid-town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“very good cook and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The atmosphere is really nice, dimly lit and we loved the decorations. The meal was very good, homemade pasta and bears and in spite of being to many kilometres of our house my husband, my son and I felt like at home thanks to the friendly service

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Beers, service just ok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I went to this restaurant for lunch last Friday at around 1pm. He subscribes to a Beer magazine called DRAFT, and it had a featured section of NYC and he wanted to try a few of the places out. The beer selection he felt was great. The food was not traditional bar food, but more interesting and different. However, the service was not that great as we had to wait a while for the courses and the place was not even that busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 508 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to 508 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 508 Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.