We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metrowalks Walking Tour of Greenwich/East Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Walks

Metropolitan Walks
100 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007 (Financial District)
(347) 632-1421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #241 of 809 Activities in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Metropolitan Walks provides guided New York City walking tours. Walks last two hours, cost $20 per walker and cover various neighborhoods around NY.
State College, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Metrowalks Walking Tour of Greenwich/East Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Took the Metrowalks walking tour of Greenwich Village, East Village, and the Bowery with Andrew yesterday. It was cold (in the twenties) and only four people signed up for the tour. Only two-- my wife and I--showed up. Andrew had little choice but to give us a personal tour. I am sure he might have rather gone home. Or he might have just gone through the motions. But Andrew was very professional, giving us a very good tour.

In the course of the tour Andrew chooses maybe 12-15 sites to stop and give detailed information about. His facts, anecdotes, and stories are very interesting and entertaining. Once you complete the tour you really feel as if you learned something about this part of the world's greatest city.

We have done most of the standard tourist things in NYC and were looking for something new. Despite the temperature, we felt the tour was well worth the time and the money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grand tour of Grand Central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I took the Grand Central and Times Square Walk. The route was great and the guide was excellent. The high point for me was the Public Library.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Andrew, our tour guide, is a former journalist who has done a thorough job of research to create the routes and scripts for these tours. He is articulate, flexible, and extremely knowledgeable. We were very pleased with our "Mostly Indoor" tour, which was perfect for a cold and miserable December day. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific NYC Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Took yesterday's Christmas in New York History Tour with Andrew, a friendly, spirited and very knowledgeable guide. Since the family of four he was also expecting failed to show up, it was a private tour! Over two hours, visited numerous sites in lower Manhattan and learned how they related to the development of Christmas traditions, most of which, according to Andrew, originated in New York City during the 19th century. Even though I've lived in Manhattan for 35 years, I visited a number of places I'd never know existed and learned a great deal. I highly recommend this seasonal tour!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanuet, New York, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nabhattab Tiur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just took the Grand Central and Time Square tour.

We take a couple of walking tours a year in Manhattan and Andrew was the best guide we have ever had.

He imparts lots of good information and insights; has a great delivery and a warm friendly personality

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolitan Walks also viewed

 

Been to Metropolitan Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.