We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & tasty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petrarca Cucina e Vino

Petrarca Cucina e Vino
34 White St, New York City, NY 10013-3508 (Manhattan)
212-625-2800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,321 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice & tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is located in a nice corner... The food is tasty and reasonably priced, however the service could be inproved! Besides, when you receive the check a 18 per cent tip is automatically added without questioning, quite rude!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    18
    13
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe with great staff across from Tribeca Grande Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Decided to drop in for a glass of wine and an appetizer as the outside had a nice Old World feeling to it. Was not disappointed. The Bartender was very helpful in the wine selection (a chilled Chardonay from Chile-$16/glass) which was brought in its own individual carafe (nice touch). Ingredients in the Bruschette appetizer ($8) were all fresh and very tasty. This is a small (50-75 seating tops) establishment, bright and warmly decorated. There is a small bar and some outdoor seating. From where I sat, the service provided by the waitstaff seemed very attentive to the customers. Will definately consider visiting again for a full meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax and unwind with a glass of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was the second time my wife and I ate here -- the first time, it was just the closest place to a gallery, we were dead tired, and it looked quiet. This time, we were early for a nearby theater performance, looking for a place to have dinner. We remembered Cucina e Vino, but thought we'd look at other nearby restaurant menus. None had the combination of interesting dishes, full wine list and bright, airy location, with sidewalk tables if we wanted them. We ate here again, and the food -- we both had pasta dishes -- and wine, were superb, as was the service. We won't waste time looking around for something else next time we're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Tribeca place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The best Gnocchi and Carpaccio in Manhattan. Cool, low-key, delicious! I love to go for a bite or a big meal. Staff knows how to get you the best paired wines and the chic but relaxed atmosphere is great for friend, lovers, low key holiday, etc. Last week in the OMG hot weather I popped over to relax and eat well before heading out for the later night. Also it's a place that is owned and operated by the former owners of Restaurante Arqua (awesome high end northern Italian that was across the street!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
641 reviews 641 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Good food and wine selection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very enjoyable place with good food, excellent wine collection, pleasant decor and service. Italian cuisine at its best. Try their buffalo mozzarella as your starter. Bruschetta is delicious too. You will enjoy variety of pasta, meat and seafood dishes while sitting among shelves displaying various wines. There is an option to sit outdoors and do some people watching while eating on a pleasant day. Good experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrarca Cucina e Vino also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Petrarca Cucina e Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petrarca Cucina e Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.