We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings
Ranked #50 of 451 hotels in New York City
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here last week and absolutely loved our time. The hotel is clean, fresh and modern looking. I definitely recommend getting a corner room, it had great views of the city and streets. The rooftop had great views of the city and it was actually really nice that there wasn't a bar up there. The seating was nice and they even had a yoga class up there one of the nights we were there.


The staff was really friendly and very helpful. There was such a nice laid back vibe to the place. We'd definitely stay there again. The huge bathtub was a plus as well. My boyfriend is 6'3" and he fit perfectly stating "I haven't taken a bath where I fit in the tub in years--this is awesome."

I'd say the only thing I wasn't thrilled about was the restaurant downstairs--the food wasn't that great especially compared to all the amazing food located right down the street. I loved being so close to Little Italy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    133
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
269
49
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pro
1. Clean
2. Vey friendly staff
3. Very comfortable beds and pillows
4. Good neighborhood

Con
1. Small rooms
2. AC is either full blast or off - so room temperature constantly veered from hot to cold
3. AC had complicated programming system so AC would kick on at 3 am set at 60 degrees
4. Closet light was motion activated but kept turning on and off randomly - usually after @ 6 - 9 seconds
5. Internet was often slow

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for three days. The hotel is new from the ground up and very ingeniously designed in a minimalist style that is very efficient. Our room on the 8th floor had a functioning balcony with a direct view of Midtown and the Empire State and Chysler buildings. Kenmare is simply an extension of Delancey which leads directly to the Williamsburg Bridge, a beautiful sight all lit up at night. And you can view it all up on the 10th floor roof, which is easy to access and set up for visitors. The staff are well-trained and truly enjoy their jobs and the guests. Each night there is a free happy hour from 5-7 pm with wine, cheese, assorted fruits and nuts and crackers. The rates are quite reasonable for what you get, and I like the Euro-feel of the place. The location is close to fine dining and easy walks to The Village or longer ones Battery Park, which took about 45 minutes. We will definitely return to the Nolitan.

Room Tip: Get a north-facing room on an upper floor, if you can. The building is concrete and steel and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Nolitan is in the Bowery, close to Chinatown, Little Italy and Soho. It's a great place to escape to after a day hitting the pavement and battling the crowds. The subway lines are a 10 minute walk, the Brooklyn bridge is a short walk as well. It's a cool, laid back hotel with fabulous non pretentious staff who make you feel like a part of the family. Nothing is a trouble. If traffic noise is a problem or you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the 7th or 8th floor. The room size for our king was spacious and the bathroom really large by NYC standards. Plenty of amazing restaurants and off the beaten track places to eat across the street (Butcher's daughter) and on nearby Mott Street near Kenmare, Fiat Cafe, also one of NYC's best kept deli secrets on Mott north of Kenmare St, the chicken schnitzel sandwich is the size of a dinner plate! The hotel does complementary wine, champagne and nibbles between 5-7pm, they have cruiser bikes for guests to use and the doorman is a nice touch for such a small hotel. One note, they do not have water so BYO. Whole foods is a 5 minute walk but you have to pass the Bowery men's shelter to get there which can be a tad seedy after 6pm. Soho is now so full of tourists, you get the feeling the Bowery is where the locals eat, drink and hang out. What a wonderful area, truly authentic NYC.

Room Tip: 7th or 8th floor, king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All in all a great choice for staying in New York. I have stayed at The Nolitan twice and i am very satisfied. Excellent location in the heart of Nolita. Staff is attentive and the free wine and cheese servings in the late afternoon is appreciated.


The downside is that there is terrible confusion over what is included in the breakfast vouchers. The waiters give mixed answers and the front desk staff doesn't know either. I ended up being overcharged for several days. Something I didn't realize until I came back home.
The fans in the bathroom/toilet is very noisy and is automatically turned on when you switch on the light, quite disturbing!
The fitness center is not located on the hotel itself..

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floors for a great view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I kind of hate to share what a sweet little hidden gem this place is. The rooms are small but VERY comfortable and well planned. Located in Nolita (North of Little Italy) and in a great location. Walking distance to SoHo, Chinatown, Tribeca...literally everywhere and close to subway. The staff are so helpful and friendly! They have a rooftop deck with gorgeous views of the city. The inhouse restaurant was awesome. This venue serves "sips and savories" from 5-7 each nite, which is comp wine or bubbly and cheese and crackers. I would highly recommend this but afraid the next time I visit I won't be able to get in!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is in the warehouse district, and you guessed it, it's an old warehouse remodelled into a boutique hotel. It's a trendy type of hotel and apparently is in the top 15 of New York hotels. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous. In our room the toilet was in one room, and the sink and shower in another. The shower had a glass window looking out to the bedroom, presumably so you can see the view out the window while you shower. There is a curtain that can be drawn for shy folks. The ceiling in the toilet and bathroom are left bare concrete as though to show what's been done to the rooms. We had a balcony where we could get some New York air if we wanted. The room was nicely air conditioned or heated as the weather warranted. There was a bar and closets with umbrellas, iron, and hair dryer. The only quibble I had was that the amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion seemed to be dried out since I couldn't get anything out of the bottles. A small thing. The hotel is 2 short blocks from Little Italy where there are wonderful restaurants. I wonder if the location close to little Italy has something to do with the name of the hotel? The is also a rooftop garden where there are magnificent views of New York, night or day. We stayed 2 nights here and would gladly come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;