We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great hotel in SoHo/NoLiTa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Great hotel in SoHo/NoLiTa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three days. The hotel is new from the ground up and very ingeniously designed in a minimalist style that is very efficient. Our room on the 8th floor had a functioning balcony with a direct view of Midtown and the Empire State and Chysler buildings. Kenmare is simply an extension of Delancey which leads directly to the Williamsburg Bridge, a beautiful sight all lit up at night. And you can view it all up on the 10th floor roof, which is easy to access and set up for visitors. The staff are well-trained and truly enjoy their jobs and the guests. Each night there is a free happy hour from 5-7 pm with wine, cheese, assorted fruits and nuts and crackers. The rates are quite reasonable for what you get, and I like the Euro-feel of the place. The location is close to fine dining and easy walks to The Village or longer ones Battery Park, which took about 45 minutes. We will definitely return to the Nolitan.

Room Tip: Get a north-facing room on an upper floor, if you can. The building is concrete and steel and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    141
    27
    16
    7
See reviews for
82
289
53
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Nolitan is in the Bowery, close to Chinatown, Little Italy and Soho. It's a great place to escape to after a day hitting the pavement and battling the crowds. The subway lines are a 10 minute walk, the Brooklyn bridge is a short walk as well. It's a cool, laid back hotel with fabulous non pretentious staff who make you feel like a part of the family. Nothing is a trouble. If traffic noise is a problem or you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the 7th or 8th floor. The room size for our king was spacious and the bathroom really large by NYC standards. Plenty of amazing restaurants and off the beaten track places to eat across the street (Butcher's daughter) and on nearby Mott Street near Kenmare, Fiat Cafe, also one of NYC's best kept deli secrets on Mott north of Kenmare St, the chicken schnitzel sandwich is the size of a dinner plate! The hotel does complementary wine, champagne and nibbles between 5-7pm, they have cruiser bikes for guests to use and the doorman is a nice touch for such a small hotel. One note, they do not have water so BYO. Whole foods is a 5 minute walk but you have to pass the Bowery men's shelter to get there which can be a tad seedy after 6pm. Soho is now so full of tourists, you get the feeling the Bowery is where the locals eat, drink and hang out. What a wonderful area, truly authentic NYC.

Room Tip: 7th or 8th floor, king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

All in all a great choice for staying in New York. I have stayed at The Nolitan twice and i am very satisfied. Excellent location in the heart of Nolita. Staff is attentive and the free wine and cheese servings in the late afternoon is appreciated.


The downside is that there is terrible confusion over what is included in the breakfast vouchers. The waiters give mixed answers and the front desk staff doesn't know either. I ended up being overcharged for several days. Something I didn't realize until I came back home.
The fans in the bathroom/toilet is very noisy and is automatically turned on when you switch on the light, quite disturbing!
The fitness center is not located on the hotel itself..

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floors for a great view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I kind of hate to share what a sweet little hidden gem this place is. The rooms are small but VERY comfortable and well planned. Located in Nolita (North of Little Italy) and in a great location. Walking distance to SoHo, Chinatown, Tribeca...literally everywhere and close to subway. The staff are so helpful and friendly! They have a rooftop deck with gorgeous views of the city. The inhouse restaurant was awesome. This venue serves "sips and savories" from 5-7 each nite, which is comp wine or bubbly and cheese and crackers. I would highly recommend this but afraid the next time I visit I won't be able to get in!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is in the warehouse district, and you guessed it, it's an old warehouse remodelled into a boutique hotel. It's a trendy type of hotel and apparently is in the top 15 of New York hotels. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous. In our room the toilet was in one room, and the sink and shower in another. The shower had a glass window looking out to the bedroom, presumably so you can see the view out the window while you shower. There is a curtain that can be drawn for shy folks. The ceiling in the toilet and bathroom are left bare concrete as though to show what's been done to the rooms. We had a balcony where we could get some New York air if we wanted. The room was nicely air conditioned or heated as the weather warranted. There was a bar and closets with umbrellas, iron, and hair dryer. The only quibble I had was that the amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion seemed to be dried out since I couldn't get anything out of the bottles. A small thing. The hotel is 2 short blocks from Little Italy where there are wonderful restaurants. I wonder if the location close to little Italy has something to do with the name of the hotel? The is also a rooftop garden where there are magnificent views of New York, night or day. We stayed 2 nights here and would gladly come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I don't really know where to begin. My trip to New York was designed to be the trip of a lifetime. What I didn't count on was that the Nolitan would be such a cornerstone of such an amazing trip. The perfect location just on the edge of the village meant that evening strolls, morning brunches and brilliant little shops were the order of the lazy days when you felt lazy. Or the proximity to the bustling city meant that within a few blocks you were right in the heart of the noise and excitement. The staff were excellent yet barley noticeable. My room was simply amazing - I could look out to the Empire State building from my SHOWER ! Every morning I had intended to nip out and get a different breakfast, however after day one and my main man Carlos looking after me I sat in and had breakfast the in great little restaurant every day, watching the traffic drift by and enjoying the low winter sun. Then I would take a coffee up to the roof top terrace, soak in NY city, then go out for the day.
Every night was an absolute pleasure coming back to the Nolitan. Whether it was to crash out on the bed (after checking the forecast card on my pillow every night) of relax with a drink in the bar. The mood, the vibe and the general atmosphere at the Nolitan hypnotically soothes you and just puts you in a fantastic frame of mind. No wonder this place has such great reviews. Like nearly everyone who has stayed here I was reluctant to leave. What should have been the trip of a lifetime actually has become a quest.......how can I get back to NY and how can I get back to the Nolitan. BTW I still have the complimentary slippers almost 9 months on !!

Thank you Nolitan x

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotels excels for 2 reasons; first it is perfect. It is an unfussy, modern and extremely comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff. If you don't like your hotels to remind you of the 1980s (or even earlier) this is the hotel for you. Secondly, it's location. This hotel is located next to a huge array of fantastic shops, bars, restaurants. Having visited midtown New York whilst we stayed, we realised that staying in lower Manhattan was definitely the better choice. There's more of a vibe and tons happening, day & night. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath & not all rooms have a balcony. Knowing a trip to New York would invo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Poddweller~

Thank you so much for the great feedback! we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.