We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 454 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Second Time Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

So we came back to the Nolitan for a quick weekend/weekday getaway to the city.
We stayed in one of the Mezzanine Rooms on the 2nd floor.

We were pleasantly surprised at how silent the room was especially being so
close to the street. We live in Upstate NY and it was quieter in our hotel room
than our home!

The staff was awesome as usual. Always friendly and ready to offer assistance.

The location is perfect. It couldn't be more convenient to everything
we want to do on our weekend getaways to the city. Shopping, food, museums...

Plus is... the hotel is not far from Chinatown, which if you're driving a car like us,
there are super reasonable parking lots nearby!

Can't wait to go back for our next weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    141
    27
    16
    7
See reviews for
82
289
53
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Warm and welcoming staff, great rooftop terrace for breakfast, drinks or dinner, downstairs restaurant very popular and rightly so, try for room 4 - worth the extra for views and space - overall thoroughly recommended, can't think of one downside!

Room Tip: room 45 so good, and it sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Nolitan is perfect. Yes, the rooms are small, but unless you are planning a party in it, it doesn't matter. Well furnished, good toiletries - although they really should double the quantity - and nice robes and towels. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and knowledgeable about places to eat and drink locally. And Nolita is such a great place to stay if you want to see a really fun part of the city. Easy access to the subway in Spring Street for trips uptown and further downtown. The roof is open to guests but the bar isn't finished yet - amazing views. We would definitely stay again, and thanks to Aliye and the reservations staff for all their help.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have a better view and less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
edm1887~
Thank you so much for reviewing your experience with us! I am delighted that you found our Guest Services team to be knowledgeable and friendly. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the amenities in the room, our beautiful rooftop and convenient location. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent a week during Easter in Nolitan hotel and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is really well situated in NoLita which is super close to all the restaurants and shops that the area and Soho has to offer. The staff was really helpful with everything and the free drinks and cheese every afternoon was a delight! The rooms are fresh and modern and especially the rooms up from 6th floor have a wonderful view to the Empire State Building. There is a roof top terrace as well from where you have a good view to the city and both down- and uptown and to Williamsburg Bridge. I would highly recommend hotel for anyone going to NYC and especially if you are in town for shopping and dining as everything is very conveniently located.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Niiskuliini~

Thank you so much for the fabulous review! Thank you for your fantastic comments about our helpful staff, rooms and well situated location. I am happy that you were able to enjoy our Sips & Savories reception. We thank you for the terrific recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Nolitan was a great experience....I spent two nights here on my way home from a business trip.

First up the location can't be beat right in the heart of trendy Nolita. The hotel is cool but in an unpretentious way, the lobby is excellent, modern, full of books and newspapers and place you feel comfortable hanging out in.

The rooms were compact, but very modern and well designed, there was lots of natural light. I was on the third floor and had no issues with the street noise, they must have triple glazed the windows as the room was very quiet. There was a full mini-bar as well.

I didn't use the restaurant.

So there is no room service as such instead they have menus from restaurants around the areas so you make a call and the food comes directly from the restaurant of your choice and there were about 20 restaurants to chose from....I didn't use it because hey its New York so its not like there is a short supply of eating options in the city. But still an excellent idea.

The only negatives were the fans in the toilet and the bathroom, plus the heater seemed exceptionally loud, they all worked perfectly but very loud. Also another minor point is that there was construction happening in the hotel during the day, it would have been nice to be told on check in as is usually the case with exceptional hotels...also the gym is 5 blocks away which is a bit inconvenient, especially if the weather is not so great......still these are very minor, picky faults with a very very nice hotel.

The price as well was very reasonable considering it was the Easter weekend and the cities reputation for expensive accommodation.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Superpang~

Thank you for choosing The Nolitan during your recent visit to New York City. We appreciate your feedback and are happy that you very much enjoyed our location and design. I was also pleased to learn that you enjoyed our take on room service. With regards to the construction, I do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced and please know that it is our practice to notify all guests of any circumstance that may disrupt their experience.The work performed was a minimal last minute repair for which we believed would not cause a noise disruption to other floors. As for the heating and air conditioning units, we recognize that in some rooms the sound can be a bit intrusive. Thankfully, we have identified a solution and are in the process of correcting each unit. Finally, with respect to the gym, we understand that the five blocks distance is certainly not ideal but rather than use the nearby limited facility, we feel it is important to provide complimentary access to a well equipped, full service club that offers fitness solutions for everyone.
Again, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My daughter and I spent 3 nights here in April. The room at first seemed small but is designed very well and we ended up doing just fine with the space we had. We had a queen room no balcony but large windows and a great view. I would recommend getting a room with a balcony. The location is great if you want to be able to walk to restaurants and shops nearby. Subway stop is a few blocks away. Check out Fiat cafe for breakfast or Bread Nolita for dinner. The hotel has a rooftop bar and would be great for summer fun. They also had a wine reception in the afternoons that was nice to come back to after a day out. I would recommend this hotel for those who do not mind being away from the center of tourist attractions. Priced well, we will stay here again. The staff were friendly enough but could have been a little more polished.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here in mid march during NYs cold snap. First up, the location of this hotel is great if you want to be close to LES, Soho, and the surrounding areas. Its also super convenient if you're looking to hit up Brooklyn. The neighborhood is awesome, with some great boutiques and amazing eating spots.

The hotel itself was a pleasant surprise - it's price range would indicate something smaller and basic, but I found the rooms to be some of the larger I've stayed in in NYC, the amenities in the room are fabulous, and the bed was ridiculously comfortable. Concierge was super helpful in helping me track down a particular store (Raleigh Denim, 5 minutes walk away) as well as giving me eating options outside of the hotel (the French Brasserie is very good however, get the club sandwich), and the whole experience was one of the better ones I've had in New York. Get away from Midtown and the chain hotels, and head here for something refreshingly simple but well executed.

Highly recommended and will stay again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
B3nnyDubai~

Thank you for such a fantastic review regarding amenities, comfortable bed and great location. Thank you also for recognizing the Guest Services team and the helpful service they provided.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and would highly recommend The Nolitan. Most importantly, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.