We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings
Ranked #41 of 449 hotels in New York City
Queens, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The customer service is pleasant and kind. I asked for a PS3 in my room and it came right away and the technician was quick and very helpful. The view from the roof was incredible which had an all around view of Manhattan and highlighted the beautiful lights of the Empire State and also the liberty tower! Would come back any day!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    132
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
77
268
48
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Staying south of Houston Street opens new experiences for a traveler: restaurants are more affordable and full of surprises, shops don't have designer labels but offer items you've never seen anywhere else, and you get a glimpse into the young, hip, diverse scene in New York City. The Nolitan is the perfect boutique hotel to stay: small, spare rooms with all of the amenities, a lovely lounge with a bar and restaurant, friendly staff, and views. We stayed on the ninth floor and watched the sun rise over the Williamsburg Bridge. Our friends watched the lights come on the Empire State Building. And our adult children who shared the quirky suite, saw it all. Accommodating and clean, exceeded expectations, and ironically, when I was in graduate school, I wouldn't dare walk in this neighborhood. Now it reminds me of a European city.

Room Tip: Go for a room higher up so that you can enjoy the views. The hotel is concrete, so we never heard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Nolitan provides a sophisticated yet comfortable atmosphere for the discriminating traveler. Reminiscent of an urban European hotel, comfort meets chic. We were greeted at the front door by a friendly, knowledgable staff. Our room was immaculate. Cement walls and large windows are tempered by hardwood floors. The overnight stay was peaceful and quiet thanks to well insulated windows and thoughtfully placed room darkening curtains. Slippers, a robe, and a cashmere blanket draped over the end of the bed, added to our comfort. We appreciated the high quality toiletries provided in the sleek, modern bathroom. The Nolitan is in close proximity to shopping, sightseeing, and countless restaurants and cafés. In the evening, we lingered in the front lobby which provided attractive seating areas, books, games, drinks and snacks. We would absolutely stay here again because the Nolitan delivers a first class experience without being stuffy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice hotel. I like the design and decor. Clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The view from our room on the ninth floor was excellent. We faced the Empire State Building. Nice location within walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy and Soho. Perfect for shopping and restaurants. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

The design is far more superior, modern, clean most of all its confortable people that work there are kind and the best I have ever seen compared to other hotels in new york city definitely above all other hotel I have seen

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I'm sorry to have to give this hotel a poor rating as some things were great like the view, the ambience and the staff at all levels. Good location, wonderful roof terrace.
The Major problem is the traffic noise. We were on the top 9th floor and hardly slept in 4 nights. The hotel is near a busy junction and New York drivers are madly in love with their horns. They blast them constantly if they think someone is slow, in their way and the list goes on. The first night was impossible and be aware the traffic never stops in 24 hours. We got earplugs which I hate and even they did not block it completely.
The next issue is internet connection. Despite checking with the hotel before booking as we needed it for work and calls it hardly worked. Many calls to the desk to get it reset gave you a 50% chance but even when it worked it was so slow it drove you mad. Others complained or sat in the lobby to connect. The lan hardwire in the room did not work either.
Beware cold weather too if you don't like noise as the heaters make a real racket.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a layover in NY before heading to Europe, and stayed at The Nolitan since we found a deal on LivingSocial. Best decision! The staff was wonderful, and surprised us with a bottle of champagne in the room since it was our Anniversary. They made sure to tell us to go up to the roof at sunset to see the view. We went and picked up some pizza and a bottle of wine, and had a wonderful, quiet dinner with the buildings of NY surrounding us. Location was great, and we can't wait to stay here again some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Amex, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.