We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Monte Sereno,CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was the first time that we stayed downtown and loved the location; It's an easy walk to all the surrounding neighborhoods:Little Italy, Soho,& Greenwich. The hotel is a clean, modern boutique hotel and the staff is just terrific; Dilan, Stephanie, Ian & Andy were professional, very helpful & friendly. The restaurant in the hotel was quite good for a quick breakfast, lunch and even a nightcap at night; We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    149
    29
    16
    8
See reviews for
82
309
54
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Nolitan for five nights as a pre-christmas getaway and I really enjoyed the stay. Nolitan is a nice, relatively small boutique hotel with some nice touches (free wine and cheese in the evening, cool concierge services and the rooftop!). The rooms have a modern edge (that I basically loved) to them without losing the comfort needed after a hard day/night out. The neighbourhood was the best part – there is an endless array of interesting spots and small restaurants to be discovered. A serious option for a stylish urban stay in a more interesting milieu than midtown.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are probably quieter – Kenmare street is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Fantastic stay at the Nolitan, Oct. 27-30. We love staying in SoHo/Little Italy/Chinatown and the Nolitan is a great addition to the downtown. Love the contrast of the modern hotel with the older buildings in the neighborhood. The staff were professional and very friendly. The hotel was very clean and welcoming. Loved the rooftop terrace. A great fit to a great neighborhood. The old men across the street at Fung Lam Produce were very friendly as were the brothers at Mott Corner shop. We'll most certainly stay again. Remember, there is much, much more to Manhattan than Midtown!!

Room Tip: The neighborhood balcony room are great if you like watching the "everyday" New York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel 3 times and likely will return. If the boutique hotel concept appeals to you then you will love the Nolitan. The rooms are modern and the beds comfortable. The hotel itself is nicely situated, close to Little Italy, China town, and Soho....NOLITA itself is a great little borough with plenty of shops and restaurants. I hope they finally get a great restaurant to take over the space in the lobby. My only suggestion is that when a guest stays multiple times it should be acknowledged with a "welcome back" and perhaps a complimentary bottle if wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I just completed a wonderful first-time stay at the Nolitan this past weekend (Oct 11-14). Unless you are subway-phobic or believe Manhattan is limited to midtown, I highly recommend this location, sandwiched between Soho and the Lower East Side, just north of Little Italy and Chinatown. The rooftop view is unrestricted by nearby buildings, and provides some of the best views - both uptown and downtown - that I have seen in any hotel.

I was provided a hassle-free, early check-in to a room on the sixth floor. This was much appreciated after coming in on an overnight flight. One of the former reviews suggested that this hotel has all of the ambiance of a hip, boutique hotel, but without a hint of the stuffy attitude that seem to be part of these hotels - and I fully agree.

I'll leave the room descriptions to the other reviewers and oyster.com - other than to say that the room was clean, well appointed and comfortable.

I am giving four stars for the fitness center - even though there is none located in the hotel - because the passes to the 24 Hour Fitness in Soho, while convenient on a rainy day, is a plus.

The only potential negative is that the hotel is close to an intersection that inspires a great deal of horn honking in the late evening. If this bothers you, you should be looking for a hotel in the countryside. For me, a relatively deep sleeper, this was a positive reminder that I was in electrifying NYC, and not on a camping trip.

Thanks to the Nolitan and its staff for a great weekend!

Room Tip: There is no escape from the noise on Friday and Saturday nights, but it's best to be as far abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hotel is very well located in the Soho with good access to the subway: 2m walk. 5m walk to Broadway. 2m walk to Little Italy (or what's left of it). Fantastic views from the rooftop. Free wine and cheese in the evening and popcorn through the day. Staff very nice, polite and helpful. I stayed there for 5 nights with my wife and will come back.

Rooms are small as in the rest of NY. Within walking distance you have free access to a fitness club open 24h. Lots of nice restaurants, coffe shops around and small shops of all sorts.

Room Tip: Stay in a upper floor because of the traffic noise. Corner rooms are legendary and more expensive. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Nolitan hotel for my honeymoon late September.

After a very long day of travelling, I arrived at the Nolitan hotel late in the evening. I was met by a very nice lady at the front desk who was very polite, professional and informative. The hotel lobby itself is very welcoming, warm and has a great atmosphere when there are people there.

We were given our two room keys and we went to our room (601). The room was immaculately clean, the furnishing very trendy and the bed was very inviting. The bathroom was clever, using windows and light to create more space. We were hungry and given a few places to go and even offered room service from one of the many restaurants around Nolita.

The hotel was more of a base as we were exploring NYC for the week but it was always a pleasure being there. The rooftop terrace, the Cantine Parissien, the complimentary wine and nibbles in the evening and the superb staff all led to us having a fantastic time. And to top it all off we were going to go to a plain boring 3* hotel in Times Square for almost £1000 more for the week however we took a chance on this new hotel and ending up striking it lucky.

I genuinely can't recommend this hotel enough for a young couple going to New York. It's not the poshest place, it doesn't pretend to be. It is relaxed, clean, trendy and affordable with good size rooms. Don't be a sheep and go to Times Square, it is gaudy and not much there. Go to the Nolitan.

Room Tip: It wasn't noisy on the 6th floor. Go there :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.