We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views like no other.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings
Ranked #50 of 451 hotels in New York City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Views like no other.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Manhattan for the third time and after staying in Midtown on previous occasions, were wanting a more local area to stay in. The Nolitan seemed an ideal location in the heart of the surrounding areas of Soho, Little Italy, Greenwich Village and the Lower East Side.

Upon arrival the staff were immediately friendly and accommodating offering extras such as bike hire, 'happy hour' (complimentary cheese and wine of an evening) and even down to what time we preferred our room to be serviced. The reception area was cosy with modern decoration but ample seating for guests to enjoy their wine of an evening.The room itself (a Neighbourhood room) was compact but very contemporary with great attention to detail. The 5th floor room had a great view onto Kenmare Street, and noise was minimum of an evening taking into account you are staying in Manhattan.

What makes the Nolitan a unique hotel within the area is the rooftop, located on the eleventh floor. We were taken aback with the unspoilt views Uptown (of Empire State), the Williamsburg Bridge and the Financial District. I cannot stress enough how much more special it makes the trip and because of its locations you see so much more than you would in a top floor hotel within Midtown.

We stayed for ten days so although we were busy exploring we also wanted a comfortable hotel we could unwind in and recharge our batteries. The Nolitan is perfect for this and the rooftop was ideal for relaxing (you can take your complimentary wine up there, or order a drink from the adjacent restaurant earlier/later in the day).

One thing that surprised us was the lack of facilities to be able to make a cup of coffee or tea in the room. The mini bar was full with alcoholic beverages, snacks etc. but when you want a coffee to wake you up, you have to get dressed and head down to the restaurant. It was mentioned on check in that we would be able to phone down and request coffee to our home, but when we did this on the third day we were advised we needed to come down ourselves. It was a minor thing and did not tarnish our stay, but were surprised it was not available in the room.

As all the other reviews on here testify, the Nolitan is a hotel like no other in Manhattan. It was a pleasure staying there and we will definitely be selecting it on our visits on the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    133
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
269
49
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned from our stay at the Nolitan, and absolutely loved it! The location was perfect, in walking distance from the best shopping over in Soho and the cutest cafes, bars and restaurants. It's very easy to settle in around this area and have it feel like home really quickly. Such a cool vibe!
Sure the rooms are pretty tiny - but waking up each morning to a stunning view of upper Manhattan was well worth the space sacrifice! Small rooms are pretty standard in these boutique NYC hotels, so we knew what we were expecting. There was still more than enough room for the two of us and ALL our shopping!
There were some great little touches, we loved the bicycles that were free to take out. This is honestly the BEST way to see the city, and the Nolitan provided cute little bikes and locks for free! Also loved the daily wine and cheese happy hour from 5-7.
The staff were lovely and always super friendly and accommodating. If you want a hotel that has a nice vibe and is in an amazing location - this is the one!
We did find the shower turned off and on again during showers, but this wasn't anything hard to deal with or get used to. The air con in our first room (we changed rooms due to extending our trip) was pretty noisy on and off as well. But it's nothing we found to be too stressful.
We will be back for sure! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and on a higher level to really enjoy that view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a fab little hotel in a great area of the city. Rooms were funky and clean, staff were ever so helpful. The drinks and nibbles provided each night in the lobby was a great little extra.
The area felt safe to walk around alone and the shops were great. When we ventured to tourist attractions we were awfully glad to come back to the peace of the Nolitan.
Would stay here again - simply loved it!

Room Tip: The city corner suite is well worth the money. You can sit in the armchair and look over the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the gracious feedback; I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

good location (walk to chinatown, little italy and SoHo)
located on a main road (this could be a little loud depending on where the room is located, mine was facing the street)
room size: tiny rooms, mine hardly fit a queen size bed
clean and nice room
helpful staff
really nice breakfast place across the road
Also a cheaper laundromat nearby

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed Sept 21-28 2013 and could not fault the Hotel. We had a balcony room which I know can be a bit noisy but after a very full packed day sightseeing in new York a evening meal in little Italy our heads hit the pillow and the next thing it was Morning. Please if you do visit, the roof top is a real jewel with stunning views across the NY sky line. Me and my wife sat up there one afternoon with a couple of drinks from the bar and had a real chill out time (the wifi works up there too). We had a couple of requests while we were there and the hotel handled them all in their stride. All of the staff were helpfull and couldn't do enough for us. The Houskeeping was excelent. They must use house elfs to do it because it just magic.
Again A great Hotel great location and great people.
Look forward to coming again.

Room Tip: The Beds/ Pillows are excellent but if noise disturbs you the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Nolitan is a modern and comfortable boutique hotel. Located near to good shopping streets and restaurants, allows you to forget the terrible traffic of NYC. Staff is very friendly and professional. Good sheets, towels and a quality bed, allied to a minimalist design, makes the room a nice place to rest. However, the air conditioned and bathroom hoods of our room was very noisy. We stayed 4 nights in August in the room 94. In the last two nights we decided to turn off the air conditioned. Although warmer, we had a quieter and better night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

took a two day trip from DC to NYC - wanted to stay in SOHO. Hotel was great. clean and staff was very friendly. Great location - places to eat and shop. can walk everywhere. not as touristy as Manhattan. Would stay again. No gym at the hotel - but we got comp at a local gym. Wine tasting at the hotel. Great lobby area.

Room Tip: choose a corner room, more light if that's what you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;