We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings
Ranked #49 of 451 hotels in New York City
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Nolitan in August (2 couples and an infant) and we had a neighborhood balcony room and a neighborhood corner room. We really enjoyed our stay, and would not hesitate to return to this hotel next time we are in NYC.

Since we traveled with an infant, we had different requests to be made upfront (water kettle, pack and play etc.). We also had to pre-arrange other things like some flowers, gifts, etc., and we had some items from on-line shopping shipped to the hotel. This meant a lot of correspondence with the hotel, but everything was handled very well by Joy, thanks again for all the help!

We really liked the rooms, and you could tell that a lot of thought has gone into the design and layout of the rooms. Rooms in NYC are notoriously small, but the small details at the Nolitan, like the drawers under the bed, narrow desks, glass shower cubicle, floor to ceiling windows, slim furniture, and very minimalistic design, gave the rooms an airy feeling and the impression of a room larger than it actually was. Very well done indeed.

The hotel has a fresh, clean and cool ambiance, and it really felt like the design elements of the hotel was embedded in every detail, all the way to staff appearance. Staff was really friendly, relaxed and very accommodating, suggested to take the wine and cheese to the rooftop, picked up pizzas for us one evening, all in all a very "complete" experience.

The location is very good, 5-10 min. to SoHo, Chinatown, Little Italy and Subway stations. There is a 24/7 Duane Reed and a Wholefoods Market close by, and a lot of small quirky shops, cafes, bars and restaurants in the streets surrounding the hotel, very "local and cosy" feeling.

The rooftop is a great asset for this hotel and although it is probably going to be really nice when they get a bar going up there, it was nice to have the rooftop almost like your own private terrace.

As others have mentioned, Kenmare street is not a quiet street, NYC has traffic everywhere and I usually do not mind some street noise, but here we are talking about huge trucks passing by and some of them delivering goods in the early morning for some food whole seller across the street.
That said, I suspect that the main problem is the door to the small balcony, since the corner room we also had (on the same floor) was very quiet.

Once again, thanks to The Nolitan and all the staff for a wonderful stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Kenmare is noise, avoid the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    133
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
269
49
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had fantastic time staying at the nolitan hotel all the staff we spoke with were extremely friendly and helpful, in fact they couldn't do enough for you. Complimentary wine and nibbles whilst sitting on the roof garden was terrific, what a view to look at. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone travelling to NY.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If I could stay at the Nolitan every time i come to NYC, I will. It has everything you could want in a hotel. The decor is minimal and modern, and many of the rooms have balconies. The rooftop is amazing and open to all of the guests. The staff is so friendly and welcoming that you almost do a double take and wonder if you actually are still in NY. They welcomed me back the last time I stayed with them like they missed me. It was really sweet. We brought our niece to NY as a graduation present.Joy, from the Nolitan, called a few days beforehand to ask if there was anything else we needed before we arrived. Its small personal touches like that which really elevate the Nolitan above many other hotels. We stayed in the Nolitan Suite, which was on the 8th floor and had a great floor to ceiling view of the Williamsburg Bridge. The room was very spacious and the couch pulled out into a sofa bed which they set up for our niece that night during turndown while we were out. They have bikes that you can rent for free from them and take a tour of the city. Its located a few blocks from the subway which will take you wherever youd like. The Lower East Side, The East Village and Soho are all right there on your door step. And at the end of the day, you get to come back to The Nolitan, which has one of the most comfortable beds I've ever encountered. I never count down the days until i can sleep on my tempurpedic at home. The bedding itself is luxurious and soft. The rooms are an average size for NYC. I would rent the suite every time i came to NYC but as I am not independently wealthy, I will stick with a cityscape balcony, which is totally affordable. All in all, theres no downside to the Nolitan,
I just wish they had a Nolitan every place I visited.

Room Tip: The Nolitan Suite was gigantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for returning to stay with us again; we're so happy that you had wonderful stay. We appreciate the glowing review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

trust me when i tell you i never write reviews, good,bad,or ugly, don't have time. however i was moved to tell of my experience because they got it right without me asking. yes the room was very comfortable from every angle. i want the pillows the mattress the linens the lighting the hvac vents in the perfect location the faucet in the right place. i want the smell to be just right from the lobby to the elevator, to the room. i don't want to see stains anywhere on the carpet the mirror especially on the glassware or bedspread. they hit a home run with me because they did their job before i arrived not after a complaint. its your business, i should not have to tell you that. see you next time for sure when i'm in nyc. sis rita

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback; it means a lot to us. We pride ourselves on attention to detail so I was thrilled to read that we thoroughly met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here 6/28-6/30, so I am tardy in posting my comments even though we really liked the place. Could not have asked for a more knowledgeable, thoughtful and hospitable staff and front desk.
The wine happy hours were nicely done. Hot nights and hotter days, so going up to the roof w/ a complimentary glass of wine @ about 6p.m. just hit the spot. The roof is "raw" (unimproved) but very appealing- great, perhaps spectacular views, comfortable seating w/ tables, and a great chance to meet other hotel guests...or not depending on your preference. Just a very comfortable space, without being highly designed or decorated.It is a treasure.
Our room itself was very clean-small but fine with a nice design element. We had a balcony. I loved the look but I felt unwilling to venture out on it by the height and narrowness. My companion was fine with it. The roof didn't bother me in the least but that balcony....
The room layout was a bit odd, but it seemed to make sense. In the room the toilet was on one side of the internal hall and the sink and shower on the other. Nice fixtures with good water pressure. A yoga mat reclines in the closet. I didn't use it, but it made me feel virtuous everytime I saw it. With all the tasty food available within a very short walk from the hotel, feeling virtuous was good.
We had no issues w/ the noise level. We had the a/c on, so maybe that masked it sufficiently. The halls could be a bit noisy when people were coming and going.
Location, location, location. Great, in that you can get there from here. Lots of walking adventures, Little Italy, Chinatown and Soho. Shops of all stripes, restaurants galore and the subway is convenient. One downside about the location- for some reason it is really hard to grab a cab right by the hotel.
In sum, we enjoyed our stay, thought it was a decent value for the money, has a great staff, a nice vibe and would go back. A great place to put up your feet at the end of the day and a good place to start from the next day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback; I appreciate it. I was very happy to learn that you had a great stay with us. With respect to the rooftop, if you enjoyed the space,this visit, just wait until next Spring, when we hope to debut the completed rooftop. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Nolitan during our first trip up to New York from Australia. It was recommended to us by friends and I'm so thrilled to confirm that their recommendation was absolutely valid. Our room and view was amazing but to be honest the highlight of the experience was our interaction with the staff. We encountered so many individuals and were left feeling truly valued during our stay. Thanks so much for making such an amazing trip even more worthwhile!!

Room Tip: High floor rooms with balconies are absolutely the way to go. Being able to open your door and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for four days over January, it's a hotel that is not as fancy as some but then it does try to be. It's a modern, comfortable hotel with friendly staff.

Rooms are tight in size but neat and with all the modern stuff you look for - who stays in a room in NYC?

My only quibble is that the complimentary breakfast by non-American standards. However, diagonally across from the hotel is the 'Butcher's Daughter' which has an amazing range of breakfast options.

Was great and would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.