We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay as good as the first.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Nolita)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second stay as good as the first.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Nolitan is really a gem. The location is central to SoHo, Little Italy, and Chinatown. The decor is modern but unassuming. The staff is honestly friendly and helpful, and the new restaurant was excellent. On my last visit, we arrived early and were allowed to check-in before 9:00. The room had a small terrace that was nice to step out onto even though it was early March, and being on one of the higher floors gave us a great city-view at night. Can't wait to go back this summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    161
    30
    16
    8
See reviews for
90
325
56
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed one night while in NYC on business. Location is great, wonderful lobby, great customer service, rooms were awesome with floor to ceiling windows and black out shades if you want to sleep in. excellent bed and linens plus a soaking tub. I was upgraded to a corner room and so very pleased. Includes breakfast in the lobby. There are bikes and skateboards for rent. It was very cold when i was there. The staff asked a number of times if I wanted additional blankets

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From phone res to final check-out, Nolitan did everything right. Courteous, accommodating, professional. Our room was more than clean; it was immaculate. You see a tasteful combination of raw concrete and finished, austere white wall. It's cool. Bathroom is spacious, bed and bedding crisp. And what, a heated closet? At checkout, I ask, Can we leave stuff in the room until, oh, 11:30? Man at the desk, answers, a gleam in his eye, I love that question. Because you're good until 1:00 at the Nolitan. In the adjoining restaurant, we had great coffee, oatmeal, brioche. All fine. We know where to stay now.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Nolitan is one of the best hotels ice stayed in; I'm no novice, so let me explain why:

1) location. Walking distance to soho, little Italy, Chinatown and Williamsburg. Quality locally-run restaurants, bars, delis, shops aplenty

2) hotel finish. The lobby is homely, cool. Not gigantic nor impersonal. The rooms are high quality with excellent touches such as personalised truffles upon arrival, great hotel bar at reasonable prices, great touch with shower that has a glass wall - shower whilst looking at the Empire State! Or draw the curtain... Bed great quality with memory foam topper and cashmere blanket. Roof terrace with great views and bar to come soon. Private room balcony overlooking williamsburg bridge and empire state. No rooms looking directly in. Finally, free wine, sparkling wine and snacks for two hours every day. Given NYC is about £8 a glass, a welcome saver.

3) staff. Courteous and helpful throughout and not because they were fishing or insistent on tips. Very welcome. Went extra mile sorting welcome packages out to make the weekend that bit more special. Not sure what the hullabaloo with going through another entrance is about. Plenty of venues in the area do this to keep out the cold.

4) cost. For what we got, very reasonable pricing versus many others in NYC

Special thanks to Mark (barman), Sire and Jennifer. Am sure will be back sooner than I expected prior to the trip.

Gordon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, excellent location for lower manhattan with easy access to up town. Would quite happily stay again.
Staff were found to be more than helpful. Rooms are not enormous, but very practical with all the facilities. Beds even came with above average linen.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Upon arrival we erroneously attempted to make our entrance using the side (restaurant) door; I asked the waitress whether we could go through to the main reception thence, the restaurant being empty - she directed us back out onto the Street, and through the main entrance, where we did struggle with the wind-flaps, useful as it was sub-zero temperatures.
It was easy to access the restaurant for breakfast the next day...
(apart from the arguement with a check-in lad, who informed that the Hotel had changed it's breakfast 'Policy'/broke it's Contract with us, and that we would graciously be given vouchers daily - we had paid for everything in advance !)
The room was good, great views, quiet enough, but the heating system was not working, so I called their service dept., and promptly arrived the engineer; he changed the a/c. filter, but the contact pins on the wall-mounted control unit on the wall were also faulty, so we were given a room a couple of floors up - an even better view !
Unfortunately, this room's heating unit was so noisy, we couldn't use it at night, and didn't even want to whilst in the room...
Some great staff (thank you Joy, George, Wilson ) and also some less memorable...
Hopefully the various technical and staffing problems can be resolved.

Room Tip: Check that the a/c. (heating in Winter !) works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss this gem in Nolita. Amazing rooms and style. See my pics. My only comments are related to the bellman who 2x I asked for items which were not delivered. But not a big deal. There is a brand new French restaurant attached and it was very good. Ill be staying here often.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.