We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller European style property near Soho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Long Beach, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Smaller European style property near Soho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed one night while in NYC on business. Location is great, wonderful lobby, great customer service, rooms were awesome with floor to ceiling windows and black out shades if you want to sleep in. excellent bed and linens plus a soaking tub. I was upgraded to a corner room and so very pleased. Includes breakfast in the lobby. There are bikes and skateboards for rent. It was very cold when i was there. The staff asked a number of times if I wanted additional blankets

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    149
    29
    16
    8
See reviews for
82
308
54
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From phone res to final check-out, Nolitan did everything right. Courteous, accommodating, professional. Our room was more than clean; it was immaculate. You see a tasteful combination of raw concrete and finished, austere white wall. It's cool. Bathroom is spacious, bed and bedding crisp. And what, a heated closet? At checkout, I ask, Can we leave stuff in the room until, oh, 11:30? Man at the desk, answers, a gleam in his eye, I love that question. Because you're good until 1:00 at the Nolitan. In the adjoining restaurant, we had great coffee, oatmeal, brioche. All fine. We know where to stay now.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The Nolitan is one of the best hotels ice stayed in; I'm no novice, so let me explain why:

1) location. Walking distance to soho, little Italy, Chinatown and Williamsburg. Quality locally-run restaurants, bars, delis, shops aplenty

2) hotel finish. The lobby is homely, cool. Not gigantic nor impersonal. The rooms are high quality with excellent touches such as personalised truffles upon arrival, great hotel bar at reasonable prices, great touch with shower that has a glass wall - shower whilst looking at the Empire State! Or draw the curtain... Bed great quality with memory foam topper and cashmere blanket. Roof terrace with great views and bar to come soon. Private room balcony overlooking williamsburg bridge and empire state. No rooms looking directly in. Finally, free wine, sparkling wine and snacks for two hours every day. Given NYC is about £8 a glass, a welcome saver.

3) staff. Courteous and helpful throughout and not because they were fishing or insistent on tips. Very welcome. Went extra mile sorting welcome packages out to make the weekend that bit more special. Not sure what the hullabaloo with going through another entrance is about. Plenty of venues in the area do this to keep out the cold.

4) cost. For what we got, very reasonable pricing versus many others in NYC

Special thanks to Mark (barman), Sire and Jennifer. Am sure will be back sooner than I expected prior to the trip.

Gordon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, excellent location for lower manhattan with easy access to up town. Would quite happily stay again.
Staff were found to be more than helpful. Rooms are not enormous, but very practical with all the facilities. Beds even came with above average linen.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Upon arrival we erroneously attempted to make our entrance using the side (restaurant) door; I asked the waitress whether we could go through to the main reception thence, the restaurant being empty - she directed us back out onto the Street, and through the main entrance, where we did struggle with the wind-flaps, useful as it was sub-zero temperatures.
It was easy to access the restaurant for breakfast the next day...
(apart from the arguement with a check-in lad, who informed that the Hotel had changed it's breakfast 'Policy'/broke it's Contract with us, and that we would graciously be given vouchers daily - we had paid for everything in advance !)
The room was good, great views, quiet enough, but the heating system was not working, so I called their service dept., and promptly arrived the engineer; he changed the a/c. filter, but the contact pins on the wall-mounted control unit on the wall were also faulty, so we were given a room a couple of floors up - an even better view !
Unfortunately, this room's heating unit was so noisy, we couldn't use it at night, and didn't even want to whilst in the room...
Some great staff (thank you Joy, George, Wilson ) and also some less memorable...
Hopefully the various technical and staffing problems can be resolved.

Room Tip: Check that the a/c. (heating in Winter !) works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss this gem in Nolita. Amazing rooms and style. See my pics. My only comments are related to the bellman who 2x I asked for items which were not delivered. But not a big deal. There is a brand new French restaurant attached and it was very good. Ill be staying here often.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at The Nolitan for a few reasons; it was recommended by someone who has great taste, it was in the perfect neighborhood, it looked cool and it had bikes for guests (husband is a big fan of biking through cities).

We stayed in a room with a balcony which some people have commented that it makes the room smaller and you don't go out on it very much, but I loved having access to fresh air and a place to view the street.

Our bed was amazingly comfortable and the mini-fridge allowed us to remove items so we could put our own beverages and snacks in it. We did not get yelled at for doing this (some hotels hate this). Out first night had lovely turn down service with homemade macrons instead of the usual chocolate piece.

The shower is unique and may be uncomfortable for some guests; it is in the room (not separated as the toilet is). There is a curtain on the side that faces out, but if you are in a room that is this cozy, I can't imagine that you would be shy about the shower. The toiletries are by Red Flower and if you know the brand...they are quite yummy.

Anything else that was needed or any request made was met with a smile and absolutely no attitude. Pride was taken in making sure that the room was spotless. The robes were cozy and I loved the slippers! A newspaper was at our door every morning.

During our stay, the restaurant was still under construction. This was a bit of a disappointment but not so much so that it made our stay any less special. Mornings had coffee and tea ready in the lobby along with fruit and toast and bagels and sweet rolls.

The lobby in the late afternoon was a time to have a glass of wine with the other guests and some noshes for a casual break before any evening plans.

A note on the lobby; it was so lovely, especially after dark when a beautiful screen projection produced a magical atmosphere. The modernist chandelier was spectacular also. Another plus, if you care about such things; most hotels have a "library" that consists of paperbacks and bad novels left by guests. The Nolitan has an art library! An amazing selection of art and design and architecture books that you are welcome to take to your room.

Oh, and I'm forgetting the roofgarden; an area that has a breathtaking view of downtown, including the yet to be completed Freedom Tower. In warmer months this feature would be a must, although even in October, it was lovely to take in the expansive view.

So the reason for our visit to New York was to attend my 40th high school reunion on Long Island. The reunion was on Saturday, October 27th. We arrived in New York on Thursday, October 25th, and had reservations to return to Florida on Monday, October 29th.

The reunion was terrific and although there was a bit of a concern about a storm called Sandy, no one could predict was exactly was going to happen during the next few days. On Sunday back at the hotel, the weather was not looking so great. A day to rest and listen to the news and make sure friends and family were taking this storm seriously. We had also heard from our airline that we would not be flying on Monday...oh really? So as Monday turned uglier and uglier...Superstorm Sandy had arrived.

But the staff at The Nolitan could not have been more gracious. Most of them had been up all night monitoring the storm. They had brought extra clothes and looked totality professional in the chaos that was downtown. The power went out but the lobby had a generator and the elevators never stopped working. And people were scared and the staff did everything they could to clam every guest. They made phone calls, they had hot water and hot coffee and they always were sympathetic and kind. Due to the construction of the restaurant, part of the lobby was cold and threatened to be wet. So it was closed off (and those lovely art books placed somewhere safe).

What was amazing was that The Nolitan was one of the few businesses that had any power and without any cell service, we were relying on our iPads and computers and the internet access on our smart phones. And every guest had at least three electronic devices that needed charging and the staff charged ever one of those devices without question.

And in speaking to people who were hanging out in the lobby (there was really nowhere else to go) I found out that the staff was charging the phones and computers of their neighbors!!! This truly convinced me of how special all of the staff was! They were helping people who were not staying at the hotel because they were being good neighbors and because it was the right thing to do! And many of those neighbors were hanging out in the lobby just to be with other people as it was very scary to be alone in the dark in New York.

and speaking of...I have never seen New York so dark before. It was almost impossible to go outside; no street lights, no traffic lights, no store lights; just total darkness. And somehow The Nolitan managed to keep us all safe and warm and with some light and with snacks and beverages and a feeling that we were in this together and it could have been so much worse as it was a few blocks below us and in Staten Island and Long Island and New Jersey and Queens...

Our rooms did not have power, but we were given flashlights to move around and we were only in the room to sleep. The lobby became command central. The Nolitan was becoming home. At 3 AM I was in the lobby in my pj's and a sweater trying to contact the airline (JetBlue damn them!) on the hotel's landlines which were operational.

In the morning the staff called at least six pharmacies for me to see if any in the area were open (note to self and those who take daily meds; pack lot's of extras!!!). None were open but they kept trying because by now we were all feeling like family.

Also NYPD came to the neighborhood and began to direct traffic when the streets were finally safe to pass, but the traffic lights were still out. And where did they take breaks to use the facilities and have a nice hot cup of coffee. Well, the lobby of The Nolitan of course!!!

We finally left New York on Friday, and after the most complicated trip I have ever experienced we returned to Florida around November 4th.

But I can't wait to return to The Nolitan! Everyone was so kind and helpful and they put the well-being of their guests above all else. I'm sure the staff had their own personal worries, but they were there for us and always professional and kind.

So I'm hoping for a trip when it is warm enough to enjoy the roofgraden and the new restaurant and take a bike and ride around the city and to say hi to all of the great staff that made what could have been a terrible situation into something where you know you have just seen the very best that people can be.

Thank you Nolitan. I can't wait to see you all again (especially you Carlos :-)

Room Tip: We had a room in the front of the hotel (facing the street) on the forth floor, with a balcony. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.