We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Nolitan Hotel to your Saves list
The Nolitan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Nolita)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartsdale, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overnight in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Second time at the Nolitan. We loved our first stay when it opened over a year ago and enjoyed it even more this time. The staff is professional and very attentive. We tried a corner room this time and were impressed with the layout and the in room tub. Our room was clean and comfortable. We spent some time in the lobby enjoying complimentary wine and cheese. There was complimentary coffee available in the lobby in the morning along with juice and pastries. We love the location of this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. The restaurant was under renovation so we hope to try it the next time we visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    167
    32
    18
    8
See reviews for
93
336
60
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've read a few articles and reviews of the Nolitan over the past year and had wanted to try a hotel in this part of the city. Such a good decision. We've stayed upper east side, midtown east, and upper west side, but we liked this location by far the best.

Things we loved:
The neighborhood was great. Kenmare is a busy and not particularly charming street, but within a block or two in any direction we found fun and funky shops, boutiques, and restaurants. We loved being in easy walking distance to the Lower East Side Tenement Museum, Little Italy bakeries, Chinatown, coffee shops, and several subway lines. Unlike a lot of NY hotels, we felt like we were in a neighborhood with locals, not a commercial district with other tourists.

The rooms were great. Small, yes, but well-designed with good electronics, separate toilet and shower, good mattress/pillows. Very much liked the rough cement elements and the linens were very nice. We were on 5th floor so we heard a good bit of street noise, but on higher floors it probably wouldn't be as much of an issue.

We didn't love:
The work-in-progress status. We were there on a cold December weekend, and the lobby was freezing cold. The work on the restaurant (?) involved a semi-open construction area with a tarp, combined with no vestibule on the main hotel doors meant the lobby was just a cold hallway between the elevator and the street with frigid winds every time the door opened.

The staff. We enountered a few bumps in our customer service road. I was getting us checked in while my husband was unloading luggage from our hired car (hello, bellhop anywhere?) and when he joined me at the check-in desk the staffer asked us a series of confused and confusing questions about if we needed separate rooms (?!). The next day we asked about getting a cab to the Theater District, and if the staff could call one for us later that evening. The bellhop suggested we just walk a few blocks and then try to hail one on the next busy street. Really?!

All in all, we really did enjoy our stay, despite the staff goofs (judging from others' reviews, I gather that better service is the norm). The location is fantastic and the space is lovely. By spring, I expect the lobby and restaurant will be fixed. We'll be back next time we're in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After few days at the Andaz 5th avenue, my boyfriend and i changed location and went to the Nolitan hotel to be at the heart of Soho, Nolita, Little Italy. Overall, this is a nice boutique hotel, pretty expensive though for this period of the year. What are the good things about the hotel? This is a place with a "soul"...complementary little breakfast in the hall, wine and cheese between 6 and 8pm, where you can meet people...This is really nice...As it becomes more and more famous, the hotel will need to keep that spirit going...The rooms are very small but extremely well organized. Bed is very comfy. Bathroom is good. Last the location. Yes the hotel is not located on the most beautiful streets but this is so convenient...you are 2 minutes away from Spring Street...very cool. What needs improvements? Whilst some staff members are really nice (such as the person organizing the wine and cheese gathering), some others are really not nice and you really have this unpleasant feeling that you are bothering someone. Not good. The rooms can turn out to be very cold...and you have then to put the heat on but it makes so much noise that it would be impossible almost to sleep with it. And last, because of some construction happening in the hall (they are rebuilding the restaurant), it was just so cold there and no effort was put in place to reduce this. I would however definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Rooms on Kenmare street can be quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

In all fairness, a very good boutique hotel, great location, happy hour snacks, decent selection of (cold) breakfast, customer care. My biggest complaint was the way I was treated during check-out. I had been quoted a different rate by a different representative during booking (in line with internet rates) but upon check-out discovered that I was due to pay a higher rate. In subsequently explaining and clarifying the situation all the aforementioned good customer care went out the window entirely. There was background snickering, a condescending tone laced with suggestions of customer cheapness. I gave in, preferring to preserve the spirit of the holiday season. This may be specific to one staff rather than the entire hotel as an institution, but a poor experience nonetheless. Hoping this does not occur for anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I was dissapointed to learn about your experience at checkout. I do believe that error was regarding the fact that the rate quoted was net of mandatory taxes and fees. However, so that I may better understand the situation, I welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly, if you are so willing. My email address is jennifer@nolitanhotel.com or you can reach me directly at 212.925.2555. I hope to have the pleasure of hearing from you.
Best,
Jennifer Villanueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you like small boutique hotels with that special touch... look no further! Room sizes are typical of NYC. Very modern and loft feel to the guest rooms! We were welcome with a glass of wine on our arrival during their complimentary happy hour every evening. A little while after we reached our room, a staff member came to check on us with some delicious macaroons and made sure everything was to our satisfaction. There is a pillow to match every persons preference in the room. The mattresses could have been a little bit better. Complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was a nice touch. They were always ready to impress and always looking for ways to serve you better! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were in New York for a week and stayed at the boutique Nolitan Hotel with our families. Given we were booking four rooms for a week we made our booking direct with the hotel.

It was the first time we had stayed in this area of Manhattan and following our visit we would most definitely look to stay in the same area if, and when, we come back to New York. It proved easy to navigate Manhattan with a number of subway stations nearby. In addition there are ample bars, restaurants and shops in the neighbourhood that we made good use of and gave a real community feel that you don’t necessarily get in Times Square.

We booked a Cityscape Corner room and we were allocated room 902 – would recommend. The room was both spacious and clean and from our experience of other NY hotels offered excellent value for money. We both liked the ‘industrial’ feel of the unfinished concrete ceiling. The other finishes in the room were all of high quality.

The bed was both large and very comfortable and neither of us had any issues sleeping. Even the traffic noise from down below didn’t cause us any major issues although it may have been more of an issue if you had been sleeping on one of the lower floors.

Both the shower and free-standing bath in our room were great. The shower was large and powerful which makes such a difference from a weak shower that gives you barely a trickle of water. The free-standing bath was large and provided great views of the Empire State Building as we lay relaxing in the tub. As it is ‘part’ of the room it may be a little strange for those who like to sit in the bath in total privacy but it wasn’t something that bothered us.

As our room was on the top floor, occupied a corner position, and had floor to ceiling windows we had amazing views of the mid-town skyline (Empire State Building, Chrysler Building, etc) and also east towards the Williamburg Bridge. Equally, you could go to the roof-top of the hotel and get fantastic views in the same directions but also towards the financial district.

WiFi was available in rooms (and public areas) free - as it should be! There was good coverage and we never experienced any issues connecting or major issues with speed (iPhone and iPad usage).

There was a continental breakfast included free but it was only fruit juice, tea/coffee and bagels/pastries. A selection of cereals and fruit would have been a nice addition. Hopefully this will improve once the new restaurant opens later this month.

Overall we would highly recommend the Nolitan Hotel. It provided a great base for us for our trip and we loved the style and feel of the hotel. Service from staff was superb and we can’t fault them. All staff from front desk to housekeeping were always happy to help you.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the higher floors. The corner rooms provide for maganificent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I loved this hotel. Small, elegant and trendy. Joy and Kimberly were very kind. I really liked the lobby with fireplace and books. So cozy. Rooms are small but well appointed and I love that everything still seems very fresh and new.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.