We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling all foodies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colicchio & Sons

Colicchio & Sons
85 Tenth Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly Colicchio & Sons Main Dining Room) (Chelsea)
212.400.6699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Colicchio & Sons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $135
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: W. 15th Street
Transit: A, C, E & L at 14th Street and 8th Avenue
Description: Guests who dine in the Main Dining Room at Colicchio & Sons can enjoy a menu focused on Seasonal Contemporary American Cuisine. Mr. Colicchio will improvise and explore with small-batch ingredients from the micro-producers and family farmers with whom he has forged decades-long relationships. In the Tap Room guests can enjoy a menu of specialties from the wood-burning oven. An extensive selection of artisan beers, as well as a distinctive wine list by the glass and bottle, will round out the experience. Colicchio & Sons is an excellent option to gather after a brisk walk on the High Line or a long day of work! Colicchio & Sons accepts Brunch, Lunch and Dinner Reservations in the Tap Room and Dinner Reservations only in the Main Dining Room. Colicchio & Sons will not be participating in NYC Summer Restaurant Week 2013. The Tap Room now has it's very own OpenTable page for online reservations- http://www.opentable.com/colicchio-and-sons-tap-room
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Calling all foodies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were just at Colicchio and Sons for dinner. We all had the tasting menu which was not cheap but with 9 courses it was unbelievable. Each course was perfection. It was so fun seeing what came next. They were all small portions so it was no problem having the dessert course. We even got a cookie to take back to the Hotel. The restaurant was a little generic but the food was the star. If you go here, be sure to have a cocktail at the Standard which is near by. Very fun!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    196
    70
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“expensive - too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Nice Dining Area, Very Nice staff, Nice menu. Very Nice food
even the beer was nice. However my word did you pay for it.
I don't think I would come back here again, simply because they are realy having a laugh with the pricing.
However, If you have money to burn and don't mind being charged to the full then you could do a lot worse than this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Colicchio & Sons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

One of the best meals ever! Went for daughter's 30th birthday! They personalized her menu and her dessert. Her dessert had hand written in delicate chocolate sauce Happy 30th Birthday! The service was the best! Sommelier very knowledgable...food beyond compare!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An incredible dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I were in New York for our tenth anniversary and wanted to go to a special restaurant to celebrate. I surprised my husband with reservations at Colicchio and Sons and as I had read in previous Trip Advisor reviews decided to go for the 7 course dinner and chose to have the wine pairings to get the full experience. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Thru out the dinner, the service was so attentive without hovering, waiters just seemed to appear out of nowhere to take away each course as you finished. Then the wine steward would arrive with your wine for the next course and explain all the details about it. The food was so fresh and creatively prepared. We were eating a chorizo stuffed quail and as a joke, my husband said, "They really should serve tequila with this course." Then two tequilas with lime appeared out of nowhere. I don't want to give away all of their surprises but we will never forget this incredible dinner experience. I would say that if you are in NYC on a special trip, you have to visit this restaurant and if you do, "go for it" and have the full experience with the 7 course dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A fantastic evening......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited Colicchio &Sons last Saturday evening when in New York, as a special birthday treat for my fiancée and I. From discussing the reservation via email, the greeting when we arrived and through the service, everything was top notch.

All the waiting staff are incredibly knowledgeable about the food and wine, and spent time talking us through each course of the tasting menu. The food itself was incredible both in the presentation and quality, and could not be faulted in any way.

With the staff knowing it was our birthdays they could not do enough for us, taking our pictures during a busy service and a final touch was personalised copies of our menu.

All in all a fabulous evening and one of the highlights of a fantastic trip. Easily one of the best meals we have ever had - thank you.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colicchio & Sons also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Colicchio & Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colicchio & Sons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.