We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colicchio & Sons

Colicchio & Sons
85 Tenth Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly Colicchio & Sons Main Dining Room)
212.400.6699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Colicchio & Sons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $135
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: W. 15th Street
Transit: A, C, E & L at 14th Street and 8th Avenue
Description: Guests who dine in the Main Dining Room at Colicchio & Sons can enjoy a menu focused on Seasonal Contemporary American Cuisine. Mr. Colicchio will improvise and explore with small-batch ingredients from the micro-producers and family farmers with whom he has forged decades-long relationships. In the Tap Room guests can enjoy a menu of specialties from the wood-burning oven. An extensive selection of artisan beers, as well as a distinctive wine list by the glass and bottle, will round out the experience. Colicchio & Sons is an excellent option to gather after a brisk walk on the High Line or a long day of work! Colicchio & Sons accepts Brunch, Lunch and Dinner Reservations in the Tap Room and Dinner Reservations only in the Main Dining Room. Colicchio & Sons will not be participating in NYC Summer Restaurant Week 2013. The Tap Room now has it's very own OpenTable page for online reservations- http://www.opentable.com/colicchio-and-sons-tap-room
Kyoto, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went here to celebrate our last night in NYC, and we certainly left THE BEST for last, the food was phenomenal. I had the duck for my third course and it was sublime, it melted in my mouth. My boyfriend had the sirloin and it was unbelievably tender. We shared the octopus for our first course (magical) and the wild bore pasta for our second course (delectable). For dessert we shared the doughnuts filled with coconut, which was divine and then a palette cleansing lychee and rose sorbet. The staff were wonderful, from the bar staff (the lovely Ms Phillips made the most wonderful cocktail I've ever had with coconut cream finish) to our table waitress who was friendly, helpful and warm who even gave us a lovely treat (two muffins) for us to take on the plane. The whole night was perfection, couldn't recommend this highly enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    172
    65
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Agree, one of NYC best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The old building which use to be a factory, was modified to be one of the nicest restaurants in NYC, never the less, the food and service are in the top of NYC , so all together it is a great place

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Special Occasion Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We dined here for our 24th wedding anniversary. It was superb as was the attentive wait staff. This restaurant is fit for foodies! We typically dine at Danny Meyer restaurants, Daniel, Telepan or David Burke restaurants. This year, we decided to try something different and Colicchio & Sons did not disappoint. The staff made us feel as though we were the most important people in the room. Everyone -- and I do mean everyone -- was on point and I loved the service and level of professionalism. Our servers were phenomenal -- engaging, attentive and professional. The food was an exploration --- I loved the Chef's Tasting Menu -- well worth every penny. To top it off – the décor is sexy and sophisticated. Fantastic experience and definitely worthy of a special occasion. We will be returning!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sublime Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner following our wedding on 27th April with two friends.

From the moment we walked in I can say it was one of the best experiences of my life.

We went for the chefs 7 course tasting menu which was simply unbelievable. I have never tasted food like it. Every time a new course came out I thought it was the best thing I'd ever eaten. The soup with coddled egg sounded bizarre but looked and tasted stunning. The desert in particular was fantastic.

The service is again like nothing ive ever experienced. Quiet, unobtrusive but the wait staff seemed to anticipate anything that might be required. Water glasses were constantly topped up as were our wine glasses.

It was the extra touches that really made this something special. Complimentary amuse bouche, personalised menus, complimentary champagne and cake. Plus a card from all the staff.

We could not have asked for more - this truly made ouf day more special. Thanks to all at Colicchio & Sons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service with many waitstaff to assist with questions about wine and dinner choices. Tables well spaced which is actually difficult to find in NYC. Atmosphere is buzzing but not too loud because of the table spacing. Food was delicious and the complimentary plates from the chef were great, we even received muffins and dog treats when we left! Wine menu was extensive and wine choices were made easy by knowledgeable staff. Great location for bar hopping after dinner if you have any energy. Overall we had a fantastic experience at Colicchio and Sons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colicchio & Sons also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Colicchio & Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colicchio & Sons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.