We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hero, aka Grinder...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meatball Shop

The Meatball Shop
84 Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)
+1 718-551-0520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Missoula, Montana
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best Hero, aka Grinder...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have had in many years. Small, crowded and very noisy place with limited menu of meatball, sauce and bread/pasta/salad options but first rate food and good service. Not for quiet conversation but fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    190
    50
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not just meatballs but come for the meatballs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I saw this on a map near my hotel and thought I would check it out. What a fabulous place. Not a lot of seating but I beat the lunch crowd and grabbed a spot at the bar. The menu uses erasable markers and you check off what you want to order. You can choose the type of meat for your meatball and sauce as well as sides. Sliders and Hero sandwiches are also available. It was hard to choose with so many options. I ended up getting the special (Shepherd's Pie Meatballs) in a mushroom gravy sauce. You get 4 meatballs, a bit larger than golf balls and they were very filling. I also got a side salad. I wish I had room for the ice cream sandwich dessert....ice cream between two homemade cookies...maybe next time. I would love to go back and try more of their menu. Fantastic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious meatball!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Meatball Shop was recommended to me by a colleague and on a recent trip to New York I went there for lunch while I was in the lower east side. It was everything she said it would be and more. Spicy pork meatballs on a baguette covered in tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese. The portion was so large I ate half and took the other half home. The service was excellent and the waitress chatted to me about South Africa where I live. I would recommend The Meatball Shop to anyone visiting New York.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PADOVA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Decent meatballs noisy place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

In the heart of the lower east side scene this little landmark has all the usual features of the majority of the small restaurants/bars/pubs of the area. Small, overcrowded, all wooden, kitchen in full sight, good beers and a lot of young people to enjoy.
The main difference is...meatballs! Yes the simple and delicious food is served both in small cups for 5/6 pieces with the sauce of your choice or in a bun or panini. Enjoy the variety in the regular bowl although portions are not huge, but stay between the spicy pork and the beef, all other options are a little out of the mainstream. Personally I don’t like the option in the buns but the meatballs are good anyway. Price is reasonable. One pint of beer and two bowls of meatballs are at 20 bucks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Small Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Don't come starving to this place unless you plan on ordering multiple meals! The food was absolutely delicious. My favorite was the special meatball (steak, cheddar, and bacon) and the Risotto of the day (with Asparagus and Zucchini blossom). We came pretty hungry and were a bit disappointed with the portion size. I ordered 3 sliders and had plenty of room for the risotto and dessert, my husband ordered 2 meals of the 4 meatballs with risotto as well. I preferred the beef based meatballs over the chicken based, but that was just personal preference. The ice cream sandwich was to die for- snickerdoodle cookies with Strawberry Balsamic home-made ice cream. The Sangria wasn't anything to write home about - average at any length. Definitely a cool place to go, get there early because it gets crowded pretty quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meatball Shop also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Meatball Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meatball Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.