We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty - Overpriced - Unfriendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fit Hotel to your Saves list
Fit Hotel
201 West 87th St, Upper West Side, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly Jazz on Amsterdam Avenue Hostel) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Dirty - Overpriced - Unfriendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The rooms were dirty, the facilyties too.
Staff is unfriendly and the make you from 40 up to 75 dollars a night. The money wasn´t worth the stay in this place at all.
As a special topping I found som strangers hairs on my pillow

Room Tip: Look for another hostel! theres better ones in NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    32
    9
    27
See reviews for
1
7
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spend only one night here. The location is fantastic. Easy access to the subway and bus stops. The staff seemed a bit standoff-ish. The people who stay there are friendly, improves the ambiance. Breakfast is pretty sketchy - and the bagels were hard as rock :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The web page says, "Small lockers for valuables in every room."
My room had none.
You can't say you provide it, and then not do so.

Other than that, it was fine, and clean. I can't confirm that there was hot water, though, which seems to be a frequent complaint.

The "“VACATE notice posted:Do not Enter building-Conditions Perilous to Life” from January 25, 2013 is WAY off-base. The only thing in it that rings true with me after staying there is "Location is convenient."

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was freak out before I came to this hostel as i read a lot of negative reviews about the hostel. I arrived the hostel at night and have 2 guys helped me with my super duper heavy luggage. They are quite helpful during the 10 nights I stayed there. They only have bagels for breakfast, and you have to pay for the wi-fi(not so happy with this). For me, this hostel is ok. I got what I paid for. After all this is New York, who would spend a lot of time in the room?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

it was perfectly fine, just dont think they should let guys sleep in the same rooms as girls no matter what.. everything was clean, no towels and no clean blankets.. they charge for everything.there isnt privacy but thats to be expected....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I reserved two nights but wrote v. early in the morning of my arrival to say due to travel problems I was unlikely to make that evening but would still be arriving the next morning. Was expecting them to charge for the missed night but wanted to warn I would still be wanting the second night. Arrived the next morning to be told by the reception that he wasn't on duty the day before and emails weren't checked so I was a "no show" and they had cancelled my entire booking! AND THEN CHARGED ME FOR BOTH NIGHTS! So I was left homeless in New York - and they charged me for the room which they had then rented out to someone else - not just the "no show" evening. They were altogether extremely rude and unhelpful - refused to even help suggest another nearby hostel/hotel - and wanted to charge me for using their internet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We tried Jazz on Amsterdam because we'd stayed at other Jazz hostels and had been pleased with their accommodations. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for Jazz on Amsterdam. The place was run down and bare bones, to say the least. The beds were hideously uncomfortable IKEA affairs with mattresses so thin I hesitate to even call them that. The showerhead was held together with duct tape and barely dribbled water out. There were loose and missing tiles in the bathroom and shower. The floor was dirty. They claim to have maid service but the trash was never emptied and the hallways and stairwells were absolutely disgusting. The "breakfast" was a few stale bagels for those early risers who could get down to the kitchen before everything was gone. They might be near Central Park but they're also down the block from a few government housing high rises, which made me feel less than safe when walking around at night. For the prices they're charging, I sure expected better and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fit Hotel

Address: 201 West 87th St, Upper West Side, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly Jazz on Amsterdam Avenue Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Fit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jazz On Amsterdam Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.