We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to stay and acclimatise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sutton Court Hotel Residences

Save Saved
You added Sutton Court Hotel Residences to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   417 East 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 453 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A pleasure to stay and acclimatise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I just moved to NYC and his company put us up at Sutton Court for a month. It was a great way to acclimatise to the city. The building is very close (7 min walk) to the subway, 4 min walk to a Whole Foods, 2 min walk to D'Agistino's grocery, 1 min walk to Duane Reed and a few banks. There's a great neighbourhood feel to the area.
There's a small gym in the basement, Central Park near by if you like to run, and many very good restaurants all in close vicinity.
The apartment was large enough for the two of us (king size bed) and had all the amenities we needed for a short stay (iron, hoover, hair dryer, full kitchen with dishwasher!).
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The laundry is so far the cheapest I have found in the city and IN the building so no need to trapse about town with your intimates.
The only down sides were the slight noise of traffic - oh how the New Yorkers love their horns! and the fact that every time we wanted to cook, I had to dismantle the over excitable fire alarm to stop it going off.
I would definitely recommend Sutton Place for longer stays in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
16
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The 3 of us, my husband, Son and myself stayed in a one bedroom suite.
The rooms were very well maintained and designed well.
The staff was VERY prompt and helpful.
This gave the true feel of Manhattan, located centrally at E 57th Street.
We would walk down to Times Square etc. or just take a cab.
The hotel did not have a pool or a restaurant.
Frankly, NYC is cold and you really wouldn't want to swim. There is SO much to see and do!
There a TON of restaurants just round the corner.
Right opposite there is a very good super market and pharmacy.
The apartment had a well equipped kitchen.
There was a gym too which was very good.
Laundry facilities are also available.
Sadly the minimum stay here is 7 nights!
I felt this was a place where it was all in one package.
We will stay there in the years to come.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Valley, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the ultimate in New York Living! If I am going to be staying longer than 3 nights - an apartment is the way to go. And what better way than staying in a building that is in the heart of "real New York" - This is Sutton Place - my favorite neighborhood in Manhattan. It is close to the subway, great restaurants, the 59th street bridge and BLOOMINGDALES!!!! This is where I spent my youth - in Bloomingdales and Alexanders (which is no longer there). The great thing about the Sutton Court Hotel is that you have a lovely concierge staff that is willing to go above and beyond. The 1 bedrooms are spacious and uncluttered. The small kitchen is perfect. I have stayed here (once for over four weeks as we moved from Switzerland) on four separate occasions. I have very high standards and I think this would suit anyone. Very comfortable and the beds were great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed in a few different apartment-hotels in NYC and this is easily the best. Rooms are well decorated and have plenty of small touches to stop them being too sterile. Very clean, very confrotable and a good front desk staff. There are a couple of bars/restaurants very close to the apartments on 1st. A very short walk to 2nd and you have a whole lot more to choose from. If you are visiting NYC for a week or so this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor so my view was of other apartments, not a panarama of the NYC skyline. Ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is not our first stay at this hotel, and we see an improvement with every stay. There appears to be some positive tweaking going on. If there is a stand-out feature at this property, it is the very pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel in December 2011 and it was just great.The location was very nice even though our apt. was on the lower floors the noise level was not disturbing. The staff are very accomodating. Our heater was not working so even though it was the Xmas weekend someone came and fixed it. These apts have been refurbished and are spacious by NYC standards.Ther is a Duane Reade downstairs and a Food emporium just a couple of blocks away. The apt is fully equipped with stainless steel appliances, pots and pans, crockery and cutlery.
The only negatives were the airconditioning/heating units and the elevators were always busy with service workers

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

After getting excited about our supposed New York city view that we had booked and confirmed we were disappointed with a view of neighbouring apartments. Management were not interested in our complaints. As it was just prior to Christmas we has little option but to stay there.Bathroom was small. The apartment smelled constantly of the neighbours cooking. Location was good. Noise of building works from the upper floors during the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutton Court Hotel Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Court Hotel Residences

Address: 417 East 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sutton Court Hotel Residences 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury apartments with one and two bedrooms, elegantly furnished and thoughtfully planned for every client wishes. 24-hour doorman and concierge. Elegant, beautifully-appointed lobby, Landscaped courtyard, Bath amenity kit by Gilchrist & Soames, Maid and laundry services*, State-of-the-art fitness room, Free local and long distance calling included (US, Canada, and Puerto Rico only), Free in-room Broadband internet included, 66 free HD channels included, Free gas and electric included.* Additional fees apply. The suites leave nothing forgotten: Stone counter tops and stainless steel appliances in kitchen, Full set of dinnerware, glassware, flatware, cookware, and kitchen utensils, Queen pull-out sofa bed. Bedroom linens include 300-thread count cotton sheets. Bathrooms with plush towels, hair dryer, vanity mirror, Waffle kimono robe, Laundry hamper, Iron and ironing board, 42" LG HDTV, Stunning views of the East River and Midtown Manhattan (View Suites). Located in a residential neighborhood, Sutton Court has convenient access to major citywide transportation and fine restaurants, boutiques, attractions, and cultural landmarks. The United Nations and renowned hospitals are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sutton Court Hotel Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutton Court Hotel Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.