We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe From the Maddening Crowd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccola Cucina

Piccola Cucina
184 Prince St, Neighborhood: SoHo, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)
212-625-3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Piccola Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #191 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Safe From the Maddening Crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Was trying to escape the crowds on Boxing Day looking for a quiet sanctuary for a bowl of pasta and a Pinot noir. Found by chance and the restaurant was having a $10 lunch special. Thought why not. The restaurant was small but very attractive. The service was really good given it was fully occupied.
The smoked salmon bruschetta.was to die for. The risotto tasted a little pre-prepared and the Gorgonzola sauce a little runny. The lasagne was really good and the fish fresh.
We came away well satisfied. Great little restaurant, not perfect but pretty good

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    72
    33
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved both of them!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went to both locations a few streets apart.Food and service were great. Small space but nice and cozy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We randomly chose to have a late lunch at La Piccola Cucina.
It was a lovely surprise with tasty Italian delicatessen and friendly service by original Romans.
The restaurant is small and cosy, perfect for a private event or a romantic dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tiny Slice of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were exploring NYC after a New England cruise and wanted to explore SOHO. Just stumbled onto this tiny indoor/outdoor spot, which is the small-plate version of it's bigger brother of the same name, down the street. We decided to try their Sicilian pizza, a special of the day, with a glass of wine, while we rested our feet. We did sit inside, only because the tables outside were all in use. Inside we were greeted by a happy young Italian who oversaw all the activity and made everyone smile as they came in. Folks raved about their lasagna and all the plates were removed quite empty, so the reviews were good at other tables too.

It IS tiny, 15 or so small tables inside that can be pulled together for 4/6/8 diners. The chef sent out a sample of the soup of the day -carrot- to another table. The bread was good, and the dipping sauce of dried tomato and red peppers was mild and addictive. Our pizza was a big dinne-plate sized appetizer that suited both of us. It appeared that most of the patrons were locals, unlike us. If I lived in the neighborhood, we'd be there once a week, for the food and the people watching!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Romantic, authentic, delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this quaint restaurant while strolling through Soho on a Date Night. After beginning our day with a Broadway Show in Midtown, we headed downtown to our favorite neighborhood for dinner. This quaint, little restaurant is located on the equally-as-quaint Prince Street. We were greeted at the door as if we were family by very kind and inviting Italian host. The ambience was warm and romantic, while not over-the-top in the least. We felt as though we were in a charming little restaurant in Italy! Our rice ball appetizer was delicious and the lasagna was incredible. I am still dreaming of it! Overall, this is a wonderful, tiny spot that embodies authentic Italian charm, while being delightfully cozy and intimate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccola Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Piccola Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccola Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.