We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, authentic, delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccola Cucina

Piccola Cucina
184 Prince St, Neighborhood: SoHo, New York City, NY 10012
212-625-3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Piccola Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #453 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Romantic, authentic, delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this quaint restaurant while strolling through Soho on a Date Night. After beginning our day with a Broadway Show in Midtown, we headed downtown to our favorite neighborhood for dinner. This quaint, little restaurant is located on the equally-as-quaint Prince Street. We were greeted at the door as if we were family by very kind and inviting Italian host. The ambience was warm and romantic, while not over-the-top in the least. We felt as though we were in a charming little restaurant in Italy! Our rice ball appetizer was delicious and the lasagna was incredible. I am still dreaming of it! Overall, this is a wonderful, tiny spot that embodies authentic Italian charm, while being delightfully cozy and intimate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    38
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Save Your Money - Place Is Like A Shoe Box Too Small”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is too SMALL inside. Not enough room to stretch out - tables are too close together. Don't go there if you want a romantic place to eat.

There is nothing charming about this place, it is over-rated.

Now my meal I had Eggplant Lasagna and not what I expected the Eggplant was putrefied not sliced in very strange but a bit salty. The bread on the table was the only good thing about this place.

The service was good.

All and all, save you $$$ and go somewhere else there are so many other places to eat in that area.

It is a TOURIST TRAP.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The food was terrible, good service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We had the scallop carpacio and the raddish salad. Carpacio was ok. Salad was impossible to eat - intensly bitter. We returned it and still felt that bad taste for an hour later.
Good service, nice atmosphere, but unfortunately bad food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sweden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely starter, grilled squid and homemad meatballs.
Good wine recomendations fro the waiter/owner of the resturant.
Genuine homecocked italian food in a small noisy resturant with friendly service.
Try it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Tonight is our last night in NYC and we wanted to have a good dinner to celebrate our finishing honey moon trip. We could not dream of a better place! A warm welcome from who we think is the owner, excellent service, some explanations on the types of pasta. We were not sure about getting an appetizer or not and she recommended we taste the typical Sicilian "Arancino Catanese" (rice ball filled with lamb ragout and then deep fried) - to roll on the floor for! I ordered the Cavatelli funghi e agnello and my husband had the ravioli spinaci e ricotta. Both of us were amazed by the flavour, the original taste of our meals. We finished with a perfect espresso.
Reasonable prices for the neighbourhood and definitely a great value for the money.
Thanks so much all of you at Piccola Cucina, we had a wonderful time and dinner and will most certainly recommend your charming restaurant to whomever will ask us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccola Cucina also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Piccola Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccola Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.