We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should get better when museum opens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The National September 11 Memorial & Museum

The National September 11 Memorial & Museum
200 Liberty Street, World Trade Center, New York City, NY 10281 (Financial District)
+1 212-312-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The National September 11 Memorial & Museum like an insider
VIP Tour
$109*
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of...
Ranked #6 of 1,632 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National September 11 Memorial & Museum is a place of remembrance honoring those who perished in the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 and February 26, 1993. The 9/11 Memorial consists of two massive pools set within the original footprints of the Twin Towers with 30-foot waterfalls cascading down their sides. The nearly 3,000 names of the men, women, and children killed in the attacks are inscribed into bronze parapets surrounding the twin Memorial pools. The 9/11 Memorial is open daily from 7:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. and is free to the public. The 9/11 Memorial Museum displays monumental artifacts linked to the events of 9/11, while presenting intimate stories of loss, compassion, reckoning and recovery that are central to telling the story of the 2001 and 1993 attacks and the aftermath. It also explores the global impact of 9/11 and its continuing significance. The 9/11 Memorial Museum is open Sun - Thu, 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., last entry at 6:00 p.m. and Fri and Sat, 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m., last entry at 7:00 p.m. Tickets are required. Open Daily.
Lousiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Should get better when museum opens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A visitor needs to understand that at this time all you will see and do is look at the two fountains which are where the two towers were (which is highly impressive and a great monument) and read the names of the victims, very moving and somber. There is also the "survivor tree", a tree from the original site. And then there are the grounds which have benches and new landscape.

I agree with others that this is highly disorganized and noisy. We walked straight to the memorial site from the subway, following the signs we saw all along the streets which directed us to the site. Once we got to the site we were told we needed to go about 8 blocks to get the free tickets (what?). The streets are very crowded and there are obnoxious people who try to sell "programs" all over. After getting the tickets we went back to the line. Our tickets were scanned and we got in line for security. In that line our tickets were once more checked. After security you walk outside along concrete barricades almost through a maze. Right before you enter that your ticket is marked with a red marker. WHy you have to have your pass checked three times is ridiculous. WHen you get the tickets (8 blocks away) you don't show an ID so it is not like the ticket identifies you.

Many of the security personnel and employees were rude as well (I'm originally from New Jersey and am well aware of New York and its perception that all are rude, but this was ridiculous. These people were the rudest people I have encountered this entire trip). It is really sad what attitude these people had.

Once inside the memorial it is fairly solemn, I did not encounter loud or inappropriate behavior. Due to all the construction it is loud though.

If you will be back in New York once the museum is open and all the entrances are settled, I would wait. If this is your only chance to see the Memorial and it is truly something you want to do then do it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,628
    3,903
    1,150
    251
    126
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Recreates the experience of 911”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Uniformed, unsmiling, intrusive airport-style security guards on the way in reminded me of the changes 911 produced in our country. Water falling into the holes where the towers stood brings to mind images of the towers falling. The museum under construction between the towers actually looks like a building that has fallen onto its side. I would definitely recommend a visit for a first hand experience of the event and the place. New buildings all around show a strength and confidence that is reassuring. Hopefully, when construction is completed, they will get rid of all the security guards that make a visit to this memorial so edgy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Humbling experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited here in the pouring, freezing rain. This couldn't detract however from the moving experience, walking around the beautiful pools and reading name after name left us in awe as to what actually happened on that space where we stood. It's a fitting and beautiful tribute to all who lost their lives on that day, we have no doubt that as the oak trees grow and fill the space surrounding the pools it will be a place of remembrance and to sit and contemplate for many generations to come.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsgate
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“strangely silent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

considering everywhere in New York is busy, bustling and most of all, loud it was strangely quiet in the memorial. I think what they have done is BEAUTIFUL, whoever designed it needs a medal. For those who haven't been, it is two fountains that go into the ground, that are exactly where the twin towers were and they are approximately of the same square footage. One of the fountains was either not working because of the weather or due to the fact they are building around it, one of the two. The outside of the fountain has each man, woman and child's names engraved into it, even the people who were not in the towers but on other flights such as flight 93. they have also engraved the names of the six people who died in the terrorist attack in Feb 1993, which is lovely. We couldn't find the musuem/memorial wall which was a shame because i'd have liked to have seen that. we didnt do a guided tour either beecause we were not informed that it was actually an option. the shop just off of the memorial fountains has some really lovely stuff in it, well worth a look even if you're not buying anything.
OF COURSE security is high, how can you blame them. DO NOT forget your ID as they will more than likely ask to see it. You do have to prebook your time slot online too, but if it is quiet they will let you in anyway. Your ticket will be checked about 4/5 times and you will have to take all coats/jacket/bags off and put them through a scanner and go through a metal detector yourself - it was quiet and this took about 20 mins for us so be sure to leave yourself enough time. security is a drag, of course, but how can you blame them.
The new buildings from what is there at the moment and the blueprints look like they're going to be fantastic too, will definitely be paying another visit when it's all done.

well worth a visit, truly beautiful and peaceful place. It really hits home what actually happened when you're standing there. It isn't gory or anything but younger children should of course be informed about what happened.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A time for reflection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although not a tourist attraction as such, the 9/11 memorial is something that everyone should visit to pay their respects and also remember what happened in 2001. The scale of the place is daunting and people roam around in respectful contemplation. It is somewhere which fills you with sadness and hope and makes you hope that such a tragedy doesn't occur again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National September 11 Memorial & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National September 11 Memorial & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National September 11 Memorial & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.