We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Garden in Chelsea
A Garden in Chelsea
A Garden in Chelsea
Garden
King-size bed set-up option
Twin beds set-up option
Kitchen
New York City
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
WMouton
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally met our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Having read the reviews for A Garden in Chelsea on Tripadvisor, we arrived with the expectation of an excellent stay! We were not disappointed - Paul sat waiting for us on the steps when we arrived and helped with the luggage. Our apartment was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Karen was very helpful with printing theatre tickets and arranging taxi transport to JFK. The Chelsea area has many very good restaurants and close proximity to the subway makes for reaching any destination in New York with ease. I can highly recommend A Garden in Chelsea for people wanting a home from home experience

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Lucky Buckeye
OH
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Sweden
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful
3 of 5 stars Value 3 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JaneAndBr...
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thoughtfully equipped welcoming place to stay in a great area of Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Karen met us when we arrived & provided advice about getting around the area. She also booked a car to the airport for us when we were leaving. During our stay, we also met Paul a couple of times. They were both very friendly & welcoming.
The location is great - buses & trains, laundry services, grocery stores, restaurants, art galleries & the High Line are in easy walking distance. The area is full of beautiful old brownstones & amazing new buildings & street art - it has a relaxed & friendly community feeling.
The room (in the basement) was easy to access, with a secure entrance, separate from the main house. It was very quiet & comfortable, & had everything we needed, as well as thoughtful inclusions (such as bath robes, note paper & pen, shampoo & conditioner) that we didn't expect. There was a list of suggestions about local restaurants, grocery stores, etc, which was very helpful. The bed was really comfortable & the bathroom was luxurious! The view out to the garden was lovely, although we didn't go out there.
Staying at A Garden in Chelsea was a very enjoyable experience - we would recommend it to friends & would definitely stay there again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2013
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ignacio P
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great stay in A Garden in Chelsea. The appartment Karen offered us was just perfect for a family of four with two teenagers. It was great to go back to a quiet neighbourhood after a day of walking up and down in Manhattan. The area is full of bars, restaurants and shops (one of my favourites, 192 Books just around the corner). The appartment is cosy, very comfortable and well furnished. Karen is a great host and was there to greet us when we arrived and also there to say farewell (she even called a taxi for us). We will certainly go there when we go back. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The comfort of the appartment and its location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2013
Many many thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Travellin...
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home from home in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My partner and I stayed at A garden in Chelsea with our baby for a couple of days in September. The apartment was fabulous, very clean and comfortable - we felt very much at home very quickly. The apartment is very close to the Highline which is an added perk.
Karen is a charming and friendly host, full of hints and tips about the neighbourhood.
We had a great time and would highly recommend

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Feeling at home
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2012
Thanks. Reading this is a bright spot in our very dark house. We are still without power from the storm.
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Annie B
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After 30 years of visiting NYC this is the best place I have stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I have lived in NYC and have returned most years for a holiday since the 1980s. From now on both my mum and I will always stay at the Garden In Chelsea. As a treat for my Mum I arranged a stay in New York in which the first few days were spent at the Wardorf and the rest of the trip downtown in Chelsea. The Wardorf was a disaster and I would NOT recommend but A Garden in Chelsea was a slice of heaven. The internet, TV and list of local amenities etc were all easy to access on arrival and the gift of a fresh pint of milk in the fridge on arrival was SO welcome. The location is great and offers some of the best of NYC. We rented the Studio with garden and the B & B on the first floor. The studio was so cosy and quiet and a real treat to return to after a busy day in a noisy city. Looking out the window on Christmas day to a snow sprinkled garden was lovely. When we first arrived just before Christmas day my Mum already had food poisoning which she got from a museum restaurant. The owners could not have been more helpful, supportive or kind. I am so grateful to them. The relaxing and welcoming ambience of the studio made my mum's experience so much better than it could have been. She said, 'If I could not be in my own bed this is the only other place I would like to be.' The B & B room upstairs I equally recommend. Artistically decorated and very homely.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Garden and relaxing atmosphere.
Liked least: The steps are a little difficult for older people.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2012
Annie, thanks so much for writing this. I hope you and you mum are doing well and we hope to see you again in the future. Good luck with the Olympics.

All the best,
Karne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$250
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Karen J
1 2122438621
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Jan 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 7 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing