We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Times Square

Save Saved
You added InterContinental New York Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #117 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. We were located on the 4th floor facing the street. I asked for a higher floor but there was nothing available. The room itself was ok with two double beds. The noise level was not as bad as I expected considering the room location. It is located in a good area very close to the theater district and restaurant alley. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant. The rooms were clean however, our room was not refreshed the second day. They said there was a sign posted on our door stating do not disturb. I find this quite confusing since we made sure that sign was not on our door. When we returned that evening to find no new towels, cups, or made beds we called housekeeping directly. It took two calls and then someone came up but only with towels. He had to return with cups etc. Then later that evening another person came to see what we needed. Obviously the housekeeping area needs better communication. Overall, a good hotel in NYC.

Room Tip: I suggest a room above floor 7 for a better view. Also I joined the hotels' own reward club and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Chopin77:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay! We are so glad you enjoyed our central location. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with our housekeeping department. We will review your comments with our management so that we can improve our services. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    839
    206
    61
    44
See reviews for
766
754
110
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Another great visit to this lovely hotel close to Times Square. A bowl of fresh seasonal fruit was waiting for me in the room when I arrived. Staff are always courteous, rooms are clean and I felt safe in the neighbourhood. Had a room without the walk-in shower this time, but it was still lovely. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear V B:

Thank you for your great review! We are delighted to hear that you have made the InterContinental New York Times Square your "home away from home". We welcome you to reach out to us at the email below, so that we can update your profile to ensure you get a walk-in shower when you stay! We appreciate your taking time to post about your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The pros are that this hotel is very nicely furnished, has comfortable beds, modern walk-in showers with rain heads, very spacious rooms by NY standards, very quiet hallways and rooms, free wifi (for Plat Ambassador) and pretty good service from the bell hops to the check-in staff. We got an upgrade to the 28th floor, which had a great view uptown and over the Hudson.

The cons are that there seem to be issues with the room keys. We stayed 3 nights and I think we ended up with 4 sets of keys at least and had to call security up to the room twice to open the room for us. Not ideal IMO. The restaurant downstairs is also way overpriced for breakfast, so go to Trattoria Daniella across the way on 8th Ave for an outstanding and much better breakfast. Last but not least, the location will not be for everyone...because this is right by Times Square, getting to and fro this hotel via car can be a bear.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Steffen P:

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! We are so glad you enjoyed our friendly service and modern decor. We apologize for the issues with the room keys, and we be taking steps to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York City.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Location is great but nothing special! It was suprised to me that there is no bath tub in the room. The size of the room is as small as expected. I stayed @ 6th floor and can hear the noise from subway from 5 am untl midnight.

Room Tip: You can get some cheaper and botique hotels in Time Square area. Spending some time on hotel searchi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your candid feedback. We apologize that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations. We welcome you to reach out to us anytime that we may be of service.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
executiveoffice@icnyts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights via Hotwire. The rate was fantastic ($210) for the hotel, especially since it was 2 blocks from Time Square, in the heart of the Theater District.

Hotwire booked us in a handicap room and there were no other rooms when we arrived so we couldn't get a different room. However, the hotel moved us the next morning - and upgraded is for our "troubles". This was amazing since many hotels treat us less of we buy the room at a discount. The service was amazing.

One suggestion - use the parking lot across the street - it's only $25/night.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Tim_Viking:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We believe our dedicated staff are our greatest asset, and we are delighted that you agree. We'll be sure to share your kind words with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 night with my mum for my 21st birthday recently. The hotel is in a great location if you're looking to be close to Times Square and is about a 15/20 minute walk from 5th avenue for shopping!
The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the facilities in the room are just what you need during your stay, a coffee machine etc. But most of all, the beds are the comfiest beds I've ever encountered in a hotel!
We had a room on the 4th floor and the view was quite nice, just enough for me because I am quite scared of heights.
We never ate an evening meal in the hotel however we had breakfast every morning, and everything was so delicious and well cooked.
The main thing about this hotel that I loved was how friendly, polite and helpful all the staff were. Nothing is too much trouble to them and they really care about making your stay amazing! And my stay was brilliant. I'm so sad to be home, but I know when I go back to New York this is the place I will stay time and time again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear JadeBennett93:

Happy belated birthday! We are thrilled to hear that our team made your special day a memorable one! We really appreciate your taking time to post about your experience, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here on numerous occasions dating back to when it first opened. There was a slight delay in readying our room when we arrived today. David, who was working the Ambassador desk, immediately gave us free drinks for my wife and I at the bar while we waited. Then when we arrived in our room after 20 minutes, we received a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries. On top of that, our room is on the top (36th) floor, quiet, with a gorgeous view of the city. The only check-in experience at an Intercontinental that rivaled this one was when we checked into the Amsterdam Intercontinental a few months ago and were treated like royalty.
In general, this is a quiet, classy hotel with a fantastic midtown location. All of your requests are met expeditiously. The bellman are extremely friendly and helpful. Only suggestion would be a bit more ambitious and creative room service selection and it would be wonderful if they had a concierge floor.
This is my go-to hotel in NYC and people like David Posadas help make it so.

Room Tip: Corner rooms afford even more fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Scott:

Thank you for your 5-star review! David is a gem, and we are thrilled to hear that he made your recent stay a memorable one. We appreciate your taking time to post about your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#82 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening July 2010, InterContinental New York hotel ~ a new landmark in Times Square, stands 36 stories offering panoramic views of Manhattan's skyline, Hudson River and Broadway. At 44th Street and Eighth Avenue, it’s convenient to 39 theatres in the Broadway Theater District. Enjoy the onsite French inspired brasserie, from Celebrity Chef Todd English. The InterContinental New York is the place to meet with more than 10,000 square-feet of flexible New York meeting & event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.