We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view and comfy rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New York Times Square to your Saves list
InterContinental New York Times Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #126 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely view and comfy rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is very elegant, comfortable and well located (if you're into touristy stuff). NOT in the heart of Times Square but a couple of blocks away, giving room for a less crazy environment... but close enough. For burger lovers, Shake Shak is in the same corner if you don't mind the LONG lines.

The room and the bathroom were very spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. The view form the 30th floor was gorgeous!

The only thing I'd recommend of for the bell boys to smile once in a while. We spoke to several of them and none were smiling or too eager to help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Katiuska15:

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and views. Shake Shack is a must-visit. If you are just looking for a shake, go to their "C Line"- it moves much faster! We are sorry to hear that your experience with our bellstaff was not up to standard. We appreciate your feedback and will act accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    991
    258
    85
    51
See reviews for
886
955
144
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I'm an Intercontinental Platinum Royal Ambassador I can say this hotel falls way short compared to others in the group. The location is brilliant. However guests pay for the convenience. Pricey and basic. The "suite" is probably 1/6th of the size of most other suites in Johannesburg, Dubai, Sydney and Nairobi. Yet double ot triple the price in comparison in some cases. Yes great view of Times Square area from the too floors but again one pays for it. There aren't too many extras given to top Anbassador members at all.

Pockets of excellent service from the desk staff who are very efficient, bar staff are fantastic too as are some of the concierge an bellhops.

Quite frankly, I was expecting this to be a flagship hotel given it is in NYC!!!! It was a massive disappointment comparatively.

My room also smelt of stale cigarettes. The hotel doesn't even have an ionizer to eliminate the odours. Their solution was room spray which was a temporary fix.

Laundry prices are akin to highway robbery and excessive as is the wifi if you had to pay for it!

After I left NYC I checked into the Intercontinental Festival City in Dubai. There simply is no comparison and it makes the Times Square ICH look like the country cousin. Surprised there was no club intercontinental facility. No additional perks or freebies of any kind.

Need to lift their game substantially.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear AdamL1972:

Thank you for being a loyal InterContinental Ambassador, and for your candid review of your recent stay. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and service, we do apologize that your stay did not live up to expectations. As with many of our American properties, our hotel does not offer a club lounge, as many of our counterparts in Europe and the Middle East to. We regret if you were not informed of this before your stay. We believe that our prices are competitive with other hotels of our calibur in Midtown Manhattan. We are glad to hear that our counterparts in Dubai are providing you with a memorable stay, and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a truly InterContinental experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The staff here seems like they can not do enough for a Guest! From the minutes you walk in to when you are leaving they go out of their way to help, They got me a ticket to one of the hottest musicals on Broadway. I ask a bell hop when I should call to have my bags brought down and he said , "he would go and get them and bring them to the baggage room right away," One of them even said, no thank you to a tip. "he said you already gave me a tip" Looking forward to my return visit in two weeks. only one bad thing, breakfast buffet only the day I had breakfast there, but many other place very close to hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Theoriginalsuz:

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are delighted that our team made your recent stay memorable. We do apologize that you did not find our breakfast buffet to be as excellent as the rest of your visit. We do hope you give our restaurant another chance on your next visit, as we do vary the breakfast entrees daily. We look forward to seeing you in two weeks!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I went to New York over the 4th of July weekend to visit our son. We wanted to stay at a hotel near his apartment on 42nd street. The Intercontinental was conveniently located between his apartment and Time Square. It is about 2 blocks from Time Square. There is a subway located near the front door of the hotel. Everything was clean and nicely decorated. The staff were all welcoming and helpful. The rooms were large with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mrkmpayne:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that we made your recent stay memorable. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is fine if you are just looking to stay someplace in close proximity to theater and Times Square. The rooms are very small, but the hotel is clean and service is great. The hotel runs specials so check for best deals online.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Beachcity1:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, cleanliness, and service. If you are looking for a bit more room on your next visit, we suggest booking one of our Studio Suites- they average around 550 square feet. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern U.S
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very nice stay. Modern hip hotel very close to Times Square. Very safe and as added bonus...close to Shake Shack and Johns Pizza and Juniors Cheesecake. Extra amenities are costly so be aware of that. Elevators are super fast for higher floors. Staff nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Southerntraveler2:

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel was perfect. We booked it on priceline the morning of the day we got to NYC. Bidding $171, our offer was accepted.

The location could not be any better. We loved being in Times Square and close to everything. When we arrived, our room was ready, and they had us on a very high floor at a corner room. No yucky treatment because we booked on priceline, no tricks to get more money out of us because we got a deal- just amazing amazing amazing service, fast and courteous.

The room was absolutely stunning, with wonderful views- perfectly insulated from the outside sounds. Everything looks new, bed was very comfortable. They also offered discount parking across the street at $30 per day.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and corner room- great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Ragdolls69:

Thank you for your great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. With so much to see and do nearby, we hope that you are able to stay a bit longer on your next visit!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#68 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening July 2010, InterContinental New York hotel ~ a new landmark in Times Square, stands 36 stories offering panoramic views of Manhattan's skyline, Hudson River and Broadway. At 44th Street and Eighth Avenue, it’s convenient to 39 theatres in the Broadway Theater District. Enjoy the onsite French inspired brasserie, from Celebrity Chef Todd English. The InterContinental New York is the place to meet with more than 10,000 square-feet of flexible New York meeting & event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.