We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location for New Years Times Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New York Times Square to your Saves list
InterContinental New York Times Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #123 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Location for New Years Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We found the location in midtown very convenient and good value considering we were in town for New Year. The relatively short walk up to Times Square, good access to South Central Park and 5th Avenue makes it very well located if thats what you are up for. It is not a quiet location and does not have the more colloquial atmosphere of the village or other downtown spots but as new year was our main event we found the location perfect. The location makes up for the relatively average business like hotel with small (NY) rooms. We did not expect more but were a little disappointed with the shower water pressure and sensitivity of the fluctuations in water temperature. Breakfasts were expensive but very good. As usual the hair dryer was very ineffectual and a waste of time. Thumbs up to the concierge's who made the stay so much more efficient.

Room Tip: Pay more and get more space and a room higher up ! I think its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear James 3337337:

Thank you for spending the New Year with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our location and breakfast. I would like to apologize that the water temperature and pressure were not up to par. We do hope that you will visit us again whenever your travels bring you to the midtown area.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    912
    229
    75
    46
See reviews for
817
845
130
417
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

just spent 5 nights in the intercontinental times sq we arrived an hour early but they gave us our room straight away.before we went out on new years eve the hotel sent up a bottle of champane when they found out it was our 31st anniversary. nice touch.the bed was unbelivable,as was the shower.the doorstaff greeted us whenever we left or arrived at the hotel which made us feel very special.had a problem with the door key but the front desk sorted it in minutes,i found all the staff very profesional.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Mlong61:

Thank you so much for the great posting! We are thrilled to be a part of your special day. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Service and very pleasant staff. Even though it was the busiest time of the year this hotel was an excellent stay. The room was spacious and really well appointed. They even left a treat in our room which was lovely touch. Perfect location. thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear HarveyK:

Thank you for spending the holiday with us, as well as for your great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again this year.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for just one night so wanted something central. Can't get much more central than this hotel just a couple of blocks from Times Square.

The hotel appears to be very modern. Our room was quite small but very well furnished with a small bathroom (shower only), but what a shower! My wife really liked the bathroom, so that is a compliment. We were given a late checkout which was great as we could go directly to the airport without any complications. Price was very reasonable as well.

We will definitely stay there again when required.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear BarryC2010:

Thank you for the great review! Our rainforest shower heads have quite a following. We hope that you can stay with us a bit longer next time!

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family stayed here for a week over Christmas 2013 and found the location excellent. The hotel is clean and modern updated rooms. The rooms are small and without a view but I suspect this the case for most hotels in NYC.
The hotel had everything we needed and times square was only one block away. The hotel is close to a Duane Reed and hell's kitchen area. It is also close to the starting point of the hop on hop off bus which we found a wonderful way find out about NYC history.
Most of the theatres are within a few minutes walk. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear lryland:

Thank you for ringing in 2013 with us! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our guestrooms, location, and services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugwash, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I say this if you are planning on your (Paid For) Ambassador membership kicking in with "it's" Guaranteed Room Upgrade. Suffice it to say, we were extremely disappointed in that we had faith in the Ambassador program and more-so when the front desk tried to suggest a 16 foot (2 floor) elevation (over our last stay) constituted a room upgrade.
As a business owner, we are customer service driven people. Suffice it to say we will make more informed choices on our next trip to NYC and other cities around the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear 8baller:

Thank you for being a loyal InterContinental Ambassador, and for taking time to write about your recent stay. I am not in the habit of offering excuses, but I do offer a heartfelt apology that your upgrade did not live up to your standards. I will send you an email offline, and I do hope to have the chance to reaffirm your faith in our hotel and our brand.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After spending approximately 4 months travelling around Europe, England and USA I feel I am qualified to state that this is the best hotel that I have every stayed in.
The staff were amazing - courteous, kind, nothing a problem.
The room was clean and the beds were amazingl. I would love to put one in my bag and bring it home. The best sleep ever in hotel bed. Sonya, one of the concierges, was brilliant. Want something? She'll arrange it for you. Her knowledge of NY is great.
I loved this hotel so much that I rebooked there again and have just completed my second visit which was just a great as the first.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear JillElizSel:

Thank you so much for your great review! We know discerning travellers such as yourself have a myriad of choices, and we are honored to be your "home away from home". We eagerly anticipate your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening July 2010, InterContinental New York hotel ~ a new landmark in Times Square, stands 36 stories offering panoramic views of Manhattan's skyline, Hudson River and Broadway. At 44th Street and Eighth Avenue, it’s convenient to 39 theatres in the Broadway Theater District. Enjoy the onsite French inspired brasserie, from Celebrity Chef Todd English. The InterContinental New York is the place to meet with more than 10,000 square-feet of flexible New York meeting & event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.