We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable luxury 1 block from Times Square!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable luxury 1 block from Times Square!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is luxury and comfort, but what makes it so great is how quiet it is being less than 1 block from the madness of Times Square. Very clean and helpful staff. Walking distance to Central Park, MoMA, theater (obviously) make this a convenient location as well. The spa is a little small, it is an Elizabeth Arden satellite and you can schedule treatments. There is a small gym and singles endless pool to swim against current, if so desired. The pre theater crowd fills up the cool lobby bar for the restaurant (Lamb's Club), but clears out when shows start. Dining at the Lamb's Club is a treat, but not cheap. This hotel is a definite find if you want to stay in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    106
    41
    17
    18
See reviews for
100
361
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've stayed in many hotels (mainly for business trips) over the past ten years, but this is the first time I feel compelled to write a recommendation. My stay at the Chatwal (2 nights -- February '15) was simply exceptional. Quick & efficient check-in, quiet room, excellent service. Obviously, this hotel is located in Manhattan -- so one shouldn't expect very large rooms or gyms. But compared to other properties (including SPG hotels), the Chatwal is absolutely top-notch.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Chatwal, located in the heart of the Theater District on 44th Street is a true luxury hotel. We stayed their for 6 nights in February. The staff is top notch and really get to know you from the moment you check in. So accommodating and sincere. The hotel is elegant with a bit of fun mixed in. Lots of music in the background whether it's Frank Sinatra streaming through or whiffs of a live Jazz Trio coming from the Lamb's Club lounge, it's a lively place that you want to come back to after a day of museums or shopping. We will stay at the Chatwal for all of our future visits to NYC. And don't overlook the Lamb's Club. The food was very good and we really enjoyed the lounge on the second floor.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Luxurious hotel in the heart of the theater district. Rooms somewhat small but that's pretty standard in Manhattan. I was surprised at how quiet the room was considering the hotel is just off Times Square. Beautiful bathroom. TV in the mirror. Bedding very luxurious and comfortable. Free shoe shine service. Internet worked well. Everyone was vey friendly and helpful. I had a glass of wine at the bar. Very pricey. The only real downside to this hotel is the fitness center which is extremely small. Two treadmills, an elliptical and a bike. Otherwise a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A very nice property, with an excellent restaurant. Very helpful staff. Extremely clean. Good breakfast nearby, at Saju's, if you don't take it at the hotel. Familiar feeling, not like big, elegant hotels, but rather a small, luxurious one. The lobby was't very cosy and there was no lounge to sit and relax in, which would have been nice. Good wi-fi. A five-star experience, rated 4.5 just because of the price, which isn't cheap, and the lack of a decent lobby.

Room Tip: Very good option to reserve a suite with two bedrooms, ideal for families with older Children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service - all the staff are terrific, rooms are lovely, great bathrooms/shower though the in-mirror TV didnt work. Four star dining - great food, good for before theater, though plan to pay very very high prices. Location is good if you want to be near theater/times square but not in a big loud impersonal hotel, though not for budget travelers

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Chatwall this past January. We stayed in a junior suite.
The room was really nice with a great bathroom but it could not accommodate more than 3 people. This isn't a hotel for families to visit NY unless the kids are older such as my daughter. The staff was really nice and personable especially the concierge desk.

My husband and I had lunch in their restaurant that we soon realized was very upscale and quite delicious. It's very easy to access shopping on 5th avenue and Madison Square garden. There are bunch of cute restaurants all along the street.
It was reasonably priced New York Hotel and we had a great experience. I didn't give a 5 simply because it's smaller and doesn't provide all the amenities of hotel like the Palace but none the less I'd stay there in a heartbeat.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#23 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.