We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dendermonde, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very good hotel, excellent bathroom, domotica... and at walking distance from Times Square, central park, Empire state building, boat trip on the Hudson yo visit "Libery Island", "ground zero"... Close to Macy's, the famous "oyster bar" in the 42nd Grand Central

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at The Chatwal. As you noted, our fantastic Theatre District location allows our guests to easily visit many of New York's most popular attractions. We're happy to hear that you so thoroughly experienced NYC and enjoyed The Chatwal's accommodations and amenities in between sightseeing. We hope you will join us again next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    109
    42
    17
    18
See reviews for
102
371
38
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

What makes this hotel wonderful is the art deco beauty with modern touches of the public and private spaces. It is convenient to the hustle and bustle of theater district and Times Square yet very tranquil inside. Finally what sets this property apart and makes it so special is the wonderful staff, Michael and Johan the doormen, Brandon and Manpreet our butlers, Tammy at the desk, and the concierge staff that took care of all of our requests. They make you feel like it is your home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location for broadway and shopping. Upon arrival we were upgraded into room 709 that has a great patio with large table couch flowers. Hard to believe we were in NYC. Our personal butler Brandon went out of his way to see we had everything and was always correct and was interested on our show reviews. The front desk and room service was 6 star. We had dinner at the Lambs Club and I highly recommend the Lamb dish. Service was prompt and attentive and the music was great. The concierge was great with a small restaurant after the theater. MARIA PI was a great selection and the owner brought us Champaign for our anniversary. We saw Wicked. Kinky Boots and Beautiful!! If you have not seen them you are missing great theater. We look forward to a return to NYC and another stay at the Chatwal

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Happy anniversary! Thank you for choosing The Chatwal to celebrate your special occasion. We take great pride in our attentive and personalized service, and are happy to hear that Brandon made your stay so comfortable. As you noted, our location is perfect for Broadway lovers, and it's fantastic to hear you were able to enjoy several productions. Between dinner at The Lambs Club and the fabulous shopping, it sounds like you had the perfect New York City getaway. We hope you will join us again soon.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I took my niece to New York as a college graduation gift. We went to see Broadway shows and the Chatwal was in the perfect location--walking distance to all the theaters and the subway in Times Square. All the staff was friendly and helpful starting from when we arrived at 2AM to holding our bags after we checked out but before we left for the airport four days later. The room was lovely and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor in the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is an amazing hotel! Positioned close to the hubub of Times Square...literally yards away...this place is a haven of tranquility. It is a stylish building, with equally stylish rooms and bathrooms. The quality of the fixtures and fittings is beyond reproach, and the whole place is extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant is of equally high quality, and the breakfasts have to be seen (Eaten??) to be believed! The staff in the hotel are always willing to go the extra yard to ensure the comfort of guests...in our case we were particularly impressed with the concierge, Juan, and the Director of Butler Services, Brandon Short.
The ability of this hotel to provide us with a quiet, comfortable, and stylish place to call home during our stay in New York City has really enhanced our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking a moment to share your thoughtful review of your recent stay. It was a delight to read all of your positive words about your visit, from our luxurious guest rooms to the fabulous service from our staff. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Juan, Brandon, and the whole team. If we may be of service on your next New York visit, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manger
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Wonderful location - extremely close to Times Square. The staff is extremely accommodating, especially Brandon Short (butler). The room decor was quite trendy and the shower was amazing. Only wished the room had been ready earlier than the 4:00 check-in time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind review of your recent stay. We're glad to hear that you found everything so enjoyable, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Brandon! We do apologize that you were not able to check in earlier. As a future reference, guests are always welcome to call ahead and request an earlier check in time; we're happy to make accommodations whenever possible. We certainly hope you'll keep us in mind on your next visit to New York.

Sincerely,
Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a most disappointing experience. That said, I will say that the staff are all very friendly and do their utmost...to an extent. The hotel now has a policy that they put a hold on $200/day to cover incidentals. This tripped my fraud control on my VISA account, which was shut down, and it took an hour to resolve it. I have never been to a hotel where they anticipate you are going to spend money on incidentals and therefore prepare for that. I guess they have gotten burned, but it cost me a lot of time and grief.

The bathtub drain did not work, the shower was quite inferior; among other things there is no shower door so water gets all over the floor. The sink was bizarre, it has a ledge and the water spattered all over (I'm sure it was supposed to look modern and hip, but it did not function well) and there was no counter space.

This is considered a luxury hotel and was expensive. I chose it because my girlfriend (platonic) and I were going to celebrate many years of friendship, and we needed a two-bedded room in the heart of the theater district. The location was fabulous.

But I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Ms. H.,

Thank you for your review and for starting out on such a kind note. Our staff is out biggest asset and I am proud that they handled your concerns in such professional and caring fashion.

Please know that the policy of authorizing a certain amount of funds on your credit card to allow for charges to your room is absolutely customary in domestic luxury hotels and certainly standard in all full service hotels in New York City. What is unusual is that this authorization (similar to when renting a car), triggered a fraud alert by your bank. We were quick to assist in resolving this matter and even connected your bank representative to you to clarify the technical aspect of this authorization. For the vast majority of our guests this common authorization, which is released upon departure if not used, goes mostly unnoticed.

With that said we are very sorry that this tainted your stay so much.

Thank you also for your feedback about certain design aspects of our bathrooms. Being created by famed architect Thierry Despont – there may have been an occasional deviation from “form follows function”.

We hope there will be an opportunity for us to impress on another visit to New York City. I have emailed you directly and look forward to being able to speak to you personally.

With best regards

AXEL FISCHER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.