We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where "At Your Service" Does Begin at the Curb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Kingston, RI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Where "At Your Service" Does Begin at the Curb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Reading reviews of Starwoods Luxury Hotels is always a challenge for me when I travel. I love the hotels, but they are mostly expensive because they are historic hotels in major metropolitan areas around the world. As a business woman, mom and grandmother who has flown more than 4 million miles teaching, I always try to spend my downtime dollars well. When I booked a night at the Chatwal last week it was at the end of a business meeting when my husband could join me to belatedly celebrate his 73rd birthday. The reviews ranged from perfect to problematic. Because I am a Lifetime Starwoods Platinum Member, I always receive great service at SPG hotels. This time the great service started even before I entered the hotel, before they even knew "my status," which is the reason for this review. It shouldn't matter who you are and how often you stay, although those of use who've slept over 700 nights in hotels expect some extras. I exited my cab, exhausted, and left my expensive leather satchel with my passport, iPad and other valuables in the back seat--totally my fault!. I realized it when the doorman welcomed my husband and me to the hotel. Johan, a valet, immediately raced at top speed a long block down the street where the cab was waiting at a red light and retrieved it. Bystanders along the street clapped as he raced back and delivered it to me.

So here's the point about the Chatwal for other world travelers. This is a boutique hotel that has a great staff, luxury amenities and an outstanding restaurant, The Lamb's Club, where we dined that night. John, our head waiter, served a truly memorable meal and I, like many travelers who eat abroad and in great US restaurants, am choosey!

In my opinion, the hotel's marketing challenge is the number of rooms and their size. I booked a junior suite. The hotel was booked full, so no upgrade, although I asked. My room was expensive, of course. (It is New York City and in walking distance of Broadway.) For frequent business travelers accustomed to booking large rooms in modern luxury hotels around the world, the comfort is here, ensuite bathrooms are the best, but the size of the room may be smaller, from another century actually, when renowned architect Stanford White designed the structure. When you choose this hotel, choose it for the staff, the restaurant, and the location. I needed a spa treatment, but had no time. The luxurious Red Door Spa is highly touted by my colleagues and fellow travelers. Next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Thinkalot,

Thank you for sharing such a thoughtful review of your recent stay at The Chatwal. We take great pride in making each and every guest feel special, and it's wonderful to know you received exceptional service from the moment you arrived. We will be sure to pass along compliments to Johan, John, and the rest of our staff.

As a Platinum Member and frequent traveler, you can always expect to be treated to the very best at a Luxury Collection Hotel. We look forward to serving you again next time you're in New York. Until then, please let us know if there is anything we can do, such as planning a relaxing visit to the spa.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    109
    42
    17
    18
See reviews for
102
372
38
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Chatwal NY for a week with my 12 year old son. We've just returned home today. The experience has been excellent. A superb location, spacious and clean room, fine swimming pool and a modern gym. By the size of it, its art deco style is very appropriate, they take care of every detail and all staff are exquisite and friendful (thanks Michael!). Absolutely recommended for anyone looking for "something more" in a hotel and do not like the huge, impersonal hotels NY.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The staff is incredible. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The staff is well trained, seasoned, and accommodating. The beds are a bit hard, the rooms a bit to small for the 5 star rating (even though it is however, NYC) Superior service, make this hotel what it is. The senior butler was professional, Michael the bell man very polite and thorough. Front desk very helpful. Can't say enough about the device.

Room Tip: Face 44th street and above the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear rbtvwestfall,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Chatwal. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed superior service throughout your time with us. You can expect to receive the same friendly, accommodating service with each return visit. We are confident that a true five-star experience awaits you in our hotel, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Chatwal provides well appointed rooms, with numerous amenities, between 6th and 7th Avenues and close to the diamond shopping district and Times Square. The beds are comfortable and rooms quiet, unique for New York. The hotel is a member of the Starwood program. They have a Red Door spa and provide a range of quality services there. They also have an exercise room and a small pool. Missing is a business centre but the concierge will print docuemnts for you and the hotel will loan you a laptop to use with the wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great SPG Hotel with a boutique feel. The staff is very polite and helpful and checking in is surprisingly easy even though it is in the heart of mid-town. Nice gym and the steam shower is perfect after a workout. The rooms are modern and beautiful. The bathroom is 5 Star. To boot the managers really care about ensuring your stay is nothing short of perfect !

Room Tip: Book early as this Hotel is in high demand due to its location and books up quickly - this way you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Nick S,

We appreciate you taking the time to share a few thoughts. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed a comfortable, relaxing stay from check-in to checkout. Like all Starwood hotels and resorts, we take great pride in providing exceptional service and look forward to serving you again soon. Thanks again, and take care.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've stayed at many hotels in NYC, and this is one of the best. The room was the quietest I have ever stayed in in Midtown. In fact, we pleasantly ended up sleeping well past when we intended due to the comfort and quietness of the room. The rooms are well appointed with electronic room controls for the drapes, lights, etc. Bathroom is large with a nice rain shower and fancy Toto toilet seat.

The service from the staff is also great. They all went out of their way to help us.

I would definitely go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Chatwal is the classiest hotel I have stayed in in New York. The location was around the corner from Times Square and the subway was close. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was incredible. I loved the shower and the heated toilet seat was great. Even though we were steps from the chaos of Times Square, our room was extremely quiet. The service was topnotch each and every time we encountered an employee. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.