We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #38 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best choice in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've stayed at the Chatwal NY for a week with my 12 year old son. We've just returned home today. The experience has been excellent. A superb location, spacious and clean room, fine swimming pool and a modern gym. By the size of it, its art deco style is very appropriate, they take care of every detail and all staff are exquisite and friendful (thanks Michael!). Absolutely recommended for anyone looking for "something more" in a hotel and do not like the huge, impersonal hotels NY.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    89
    36
    17
    15
See reviews for
89
316
36
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The staff is incredible. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The staff is well trained, seasoned, and accommodating. The beds are a bit hard, the rooms a bit to small for the 5 star rating (even though it is however, NYC) Superior service, make this hotel what it is. The senior butler was professional, Michael the bell man very polite and thorough. Front desk very helpful. Can't say enough about the device.

Room Tip: Face 44th street and above the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear rbtvwestfall,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Chatwal. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed superior service throughout your time with us. You can expect to receive the same friendly, accommodating service with each return visit. We are confident that a true five-star experience awaits you in our hotel, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Chatwal provides well appointed rooms, with numerous amenities, between 6th and 7th Avenues and close to the diamond shopping district and Times Square. The beds are comfortable and rooms quiet, unique for New York. The hotel is a member of the Starwood program. They have a Red Door spa and provide a range of quality services there. They also have an exercise room and a small pool. Missing is a business centre but the concierge will print docuemnts for you and the hotel will loan you a laptop to use with the wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great SPG Hotel with a boutique feel. The staff is very polite and helpful and checking in is surprisingly easy even though it is in the heart of mid-town. Nice gym and the steam shower is perfect after a workout. The rooms are modern and beautiful. The bathroom is 5 Star. To boot the managers really care about ensuring your stay is nothing short of perfect !

Room Tip: Book early as this Hotel is in high demand due to its location and books up quickly - this way you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Nick S,

We appreciate you taking the time to share a few thoughts. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed a comfortable, relaxing stay from check-in to checkout. Like all Starwood hotels and resorts, we take great pride in providing exceptional service and look forward to serving you again soon. Thanks again, and take care.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've stayed at many hotels in NYC, and this is one of the best. The room was the quietest I have ever stayed in in Midtown. In fact, we pleasantly ended up sleeping well past when we intended due to the comfort and quietness of the room. The rooms are well appointed with electronic room controls for the drapes, lights, etc. Bathroom is large with a nice rain shower and fancy Toto toilet seat.

The service from the staff is also great. They all went out of their way to help us.

I would definitely go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Chatwal is the classiest hotel I have stayed in in New York. The location was around the corner from Times Square and the subway was close. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was incredible. I loved the shower and the heated toilet seat was great. Even though we were steps from the chaos of Times Square, our room was extremely quiet. The service was topnotch each and every time we encountered an employee. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights a fantastic location just a stones throw from Times Square. Couldn't fault the staff impeccable in every way and the room was fantastic (especially the bathroom) though i did find the room a little dark and had to resort to using the torch on my iphone at times to find things in my suitcase!

Room Tip: One with bigger windows and/or one that doesn't overlook a wall to maximise daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Tenkster,

Thank you for reviewing your recent six-night stay at The Chatwal. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us an received impeccable service to go with fantastic accommodations. We hope to welcome you back next time you're in New York and feel confident that you'll find improved lighting upon your return. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you need anything at all.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;