We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab fab fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #39 of 454 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab fab fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Spent three fantastic nights at this fab hotel. Location great. Room amazing. Attention to detail in our room was superb: curtains, lighting, etc controlled from bed; ultra cool TV part of bathroom mirror; great shower; fab toiletries. Staff friendly and ultra courteous. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    90
    37
    17
    17
See reviews for
90
327
36
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had the most fantastic stay, had read a number of the reviews on here and noted that the service was meant to be not the greatest. But all I can say is that every single employee that we spoke to or had contact with was exceptionally professional and went out of there way to accommodate our needs. We have stayed in the hotel over the road for an number of years, but will defiantly will stay here again. the level of service was excellent from the butler, who's name escapes me but was the most pleasant and professional person i have ever met in a hotel.

The room, which was actually two rooms was excellent, everything that you need and all the gadgets that a gadget lover would ever want! It was all excellent and every detail was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Timothy T,

Thanks for your kind words. We appreciate you choosing The Chatwal, and we're pleased to know you had a "fantastic stay" complete with exceptional service. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff. It's always an inspiration to know a first-time guest had an exceedingly positive experience. We hope to see you again soon. Until then, please don't hesitate to let us know if there's anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just got back from a long weekend in NYC. As they say....location, location, location, The Chatwal was recommended to us by a friend and we were certainly not disappointed. Right smack in the middle of the theatre district, we were so close to everything. We were upgraded to a suite with a terrace by the helpful and engaging front desk staff, only to then be met by the GM to let us know that "whatever we can do to make you want to come back and stay with us again, don't hesitate to ask". The room was beautiful! Every convenience imaginable to make the stay extra special.A little pricey so if you are looking for a bargain hotel this would not be for you. If you want to experience NYC and be treated like this was not our first visit, we highly recommend The Chatwal. We will certainly stay here again on our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 44th street side. If available, ask for a upper floor room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

As I'm a Starwood member, we tried the Chatwal as it's a Luxury Collection hotel. The stay was to celebrate my birthday and we wanted an intimate hotel that was a bit of a splurge. The Chatwal delivered and was a real treat!

This smaller hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the theatre district and steps from Bryant Park. The rooms are excellently appointed and designed with much thought to its guests. The closets are the largest I've ever had in a hotel! The bathroom included double sinks, a Japanese heated toilet (I'm now a big fan!), and bath products from Asprey of London. At first my husband was disappointed I hadn't requested a room with a bathtub. But he was quickly a convert to the huge shower with a rain shower head bigger than a dinner plate. We both wished we could take the shower home.

We enjoyed the bar/lounge on the second floor. We went for a drink after seeing some theatre. We were especially pleased to see a well known actor, who we had just seen perform on Broadway, dining in a booth in the lounge. There was a jazz trio playing and a great whiskey list. The bar frequently has music guests so check with the front desk if it interests you.

We didn't have the chance to eat at The Lamb's Club. But perhaps next time as I hope to return to The Chatwal.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear temple15,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are honored that you chose to spend such a special occasion here at The Chatwal. It sounds as though you found a lot to love during your birthday celebration, including spacious accommodations and a spa-quality bathroom. As you noted, our Theatre District location offers convenient access to some of the city's finest entertainment. New shows are always opening, and we would love to welcome you back for another stay soon---with dinner at The Lambs Club to complete the experience.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good hotel in a great location. The hotel was clean and the service was very good. There was a butler service available to us but he did not follow through and follow up as we are accustom. Still overall a good stay and would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for four nights. It is expensive, but worth it. The rooms were larger than I expected for NYC, bathroom was large - two sinks, great shower. The bar was very cool - lights hanging over the bar were in the shape of the Empire State Bldg. Concierges were terrific - made great recommendations. Although just off Time Square, we were not at all bothered by noise or crowds, so the location was just great.
We would definitely stay here again.
My only "complaint" was that the coffee was awful - at least for our taste. Too strong and bitter. Picky, huh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I recently returned to stay at the Chatwal after a two year absence. I had high expectations as I had stayed there twice before. To my absolute delight everything was again wonderful. I was given superlative service from the moment I arrived. The hotel has an unbeatable location for the theatre, shopping and sight seeing. My room was beautiful and quiet. I am already looking forward to my next stay.Thank you particularly to Elizabeth, and the great concierge team.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Felicia35,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Chatwal. It was our pleasure to welcome you back after two years and provide another "wonderful" experience. We always love to see a familiar face, and we hope to continue to be your hotel of choice in New York. Until we meet again, please let us know if there is anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New york
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#20 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.