We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in NYC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #44 of 451 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful hotel in NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A real Art Deco gem of a hotel in New York. The rooms are fantastic and very quiet even though the hotel is next to Times Square. We stayed in a terraced suite and it was truly fantastic. They have really thought of everything in the room from Asprey toiletries to a power adaptor.

All the staff were very helpful and made a point of talking to you. A big thank you to Elina, Brandon and the reception team.

I will be rebooking, it's the only hotel for me in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Barabara_H11 - Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back. With best regards - Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    85
    34
    16
    15
See reviews for
84
301
33
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I had high hopes for this place as it comes with a butler service. That's why I chose it for a special occasion - my bachelorette party. A total of six of us flew in from San Francisco.

However, things took a nose dive as soon as we arrived. I got there first, handed over gifts to the front desk staff, and asked that they give one each to my girlfriends upon check-in, as a "welcome to my bachelorette party" favor.

They did that alright - but, they failed to mention that the gift came from ME. So my friends all thought it was a complimentary gift from the hotel itself...and I had to explain. So yes, frustration, from the very first moment.

And it got worse from there. As the rooms weren't ready for check in, they had to hold our luggage as we went shopping for the day. When we returned in the late afternoon, they had placed the suitcases in our suites, but managed to LOSE ONE OF THE GIFTS already. They made an effort to locate it but never succeeded. Two days later, after I checked out, one of the hotel managers did email me to follow up and offer to buy a replacement gift - but she NEVER DID until I reminded her again a week later, even though I was away in Europe. Seriously, I despise having to babysit when *I'm* the one paying for a service.

Now let's talk about the "butler" service. Let's just say among other things, our butlers told us they couldn't get us cupcakes even though later on we discovered there's a Magnolia's Cupcakes literally two blocks away from the hotel. Simply put, I don't understand how their butler service was any better than a typical hotel concierge...in fact, it seemed worse.

In all fairness, they did do a few things right as well, such as 1. steaming my evening gown and 2. working out a kink with the spa downstairs (which, by the way, you should skip all together. It didn't feel "lux" at ALL). But then again, at the prices I paid, I EXPECTED excellent, professional service - and what we received was anything but.

I really don't mind places charging $$$$ as long as the service can match it, but the Chatwal utterly failed at that. It felt like I paid for good champagne but got beer instead. A word to the management team - train your staff! Or pay top dollars to get the professionals who already know what they're doing. As you know, it's much easier to get a repeat customer than win a new one, so it's in your interest to make every stay pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Miss Kristen,

We extend our sincere apologies for your experience here at The Chatwal. You had been in touch with senior management throughout your stay and expressed gratitude for our follow up.

We were glad to have at least one of your rooms ready for early check-in and of course the additional rooms were available at regular check-in time.

Your thoughtful gifts to your friends were passed on as requested upon check-in, and I apologize that we did not verify with you what specific verbiage to use, given that it the gifts did not contain a card from you. Unfortunately it appears that we were short one of the gifts and must have lost it. We are embarrassed about this incident and are reviewing our procedures to ensure this does not occur again. As you mentioned we offered to compensate you and replaced and express delivered the item to your home.

Lastly it was disappointing that our butlers failed to provide you with the personalized service that they generally so successfully and gracefully provide. I will surely look into while your simple requests for Cup Cakes was not fulfilled, while other services were swiftly expedited.

Clearly your stay did not meet yours and our own high expectations. Your review on TripAdvisor as well as on other platforms helps us to better ourselves and we thank you for your time.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

With best regards

Axel Fischer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I work in the entertainment business and when only the best will do for my clients, The Chatwal is the only hotel I trust. The rooms are beautiful, the bathrooms are spectacular and I've never had a request that was unmet. The management team goes above and beyond to ensure their guests are more than happy. It's one of my favorite places in the city and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Tammiwspg - we like the sound of your header! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are excited about your return visit ! With best regards - Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have been fortunate to stay in many of the 5-star properties in New York City - and try to enjoy new hotels whenever possible. The Chatwal may be an exception . . . since we want to go back as soon as possible. The staff is SO very pleasant and professional - and went out of their way to help us (and to anticipate our needs). Their warm smiles and gracious manners won us over from the very beginning. We enjoyed the shorts walks for "Wicked", shopping on 5th Avenue, to attend mass at St. Patrick's, to play in Central Park and to dine at a wide variety of restaurants. Thank you, Chatwal, for an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Joel P, nothing makes us prouder than praise for our staff. Thank you for sharing. We hope to welcome you back soon! With best regards - AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our stay at the Chatwal was very short but very comfortable. My husband and I flew in the for the night to see two broadway shows (and have our first kid-free night since having twins). All staff we encountered seemed to try and go above and beyond. We got there very early in the morning but we were able to be given a room within 20 minutes or so, which was unexpected. The location can't be beat. Has a small and intimate vibe which is rare in New York, expecially in Times Square. The decor was fantasic. Our room was comfortable and good sized for the city. I'm sure we were in one of their smaller accommodations since we booked on hotwire, but it was definitely bigger than other places I have stayed. Also ate dinner at the Lamb's Club on site which was excellent as well. I will stay there again for our next quick trip down for a show!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear CaseyMD - we are so glad you found us! Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience. It means a lot to us, especially coming from a seasoned luxury traveler. We look forward to having you back one day. With best regards - Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Wonderful stay at this top class boutique hotel. From the time we arrived till we left, the staff made us feel special. The décor was modern and yet had a nostalgic feel (see photos). We had a “studio” room which was like having 2 adjoining rooms, one was a bedroom and the other a small lounge. Our rooms were modern and spacious and the amenities were beautifully presented.
Often Western hotels find it hard to match the 5 star hotels found in Asian countries but this little gem in New York city matches if not exceeds those Asian hotels. This was a surprise find that was not part of a huge “hotel chain”.
It was conveniently located to Times Square and also close to 5th Avenue Shopping.
Again, cannot rave about the staff enough. Well done to the manager and team for staff training. Nothing seem too difficult for them.
Overall an excellent hotel, attentive and fantastic staff. This is one hotel that we will return to and happily recommend.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a patio room that everyone seems to talk about
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear BunburyTim - 10 out of 10 for your review as well. Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experience. More than anything we are thrilled about your kind words for our staff. This makes us extremely proud. We hope to see you back some time! With best regards - AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Met my daughter from Scottsdale for NYC and NYY-Red Sox night game. Our stay at The Chatwal lives up to the SPG Luxury Resort Standards. All the Staff were very professional and pleasant. The hotel location is great, so near the hustle and bustle of Times Square, but so quiet on the side street. We loved our patio and enjoyed eating breakfast there before checking out. Great deli just couple doors down on 44th street too. The Jazz Brunch at The Lamb on Sunday was extra bonus. Will definitely stay there again when visit NYC. Only down side was a Bridal Party in room next door, but very quiet after they left. And oh yes,,,NYY beat the Sox.

Room Tip: Second Level with outside patio great for spring or fall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#17 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.