We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chatwal exceeds our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #42 of 452 hotels in New York City
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chatwal exceeds our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have been fortunate to stay in many of the 5-star properties in New York City - and try to enjoy new hotels whenever possible. The Chatwal may be an exception . . . since we want to go back as soon as possible. The staff is SO very pleasant and professional - and went out of their way to help us (and to anticipate our needs). Their warm smiles and gracious manners won us over from the very beginning. We enjoyed the shorts walks for "Wicked", shopping on 5th Avenue, to attend mass at St. Patrick's, to play in Central Park and to dine at a wide variety of restaurants. Thank you, Chatwal, for an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Joel P, nothing makes us prouder than praise for our staff. Thank you for sharing. We hope to welcome you back soon! With best regards - AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    86
    36
    16
    15
See reviews for
86
309
33
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our stay at the Chatwal was very short but very comfortable. My husband and I flew in the for the night to see two broadway shows (and have our first kid-free night since having twins). All staff we encountered seemed to try and go above and beyond. We got there very early in the morning but we were able to be given a room within 20 minutes or so, which was unexpected. The location can't be beat. Has a small and intimate vibe which is rare in New York, expecially in Times Square. The decor was fantasic. Our room was comfortable and good sized for the city. I'm sure we were in one of their smaller accommodations since we booked on hotwire, but it was definitely bigger than other places I have stayed. Also ate dinner at the Lamb's Club on site which was excellent as well. I will stay there again for our next quick trip down for a show!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear CaseyMD - we are so glad you found us! Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience. It means a lot to us, especially coming from a seasoned luxury traveler. We look forward to having you back one day. With best regards - Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Wonderful stay at this top class boutique hotel. From the time we arrived till we left, the staff made us feel special. The décor was modern and yet had a nostalgic feel (see photos). We had a “studio” room which was like having 2 adjoining rooms, one was a bedroom and the other a small lounge. Our rooms were modern and spacious and the amenities were beautifully presented.
Often Western hotels find it hard to match the 5 star hotels found in Asian countries but this little gem in New York city matches if not exceeds those Asian hotels. This was a surprise find that was not part of a huge “hotel chain”.
It was conveniently located to Times Square and also close to 5th Avenue Shopping.
Again, cannot rave about the staff enough. Well done to the manager and team for staff training. Nothing seem too difficult for them.
Overall an excellent hotel, attentive and fantastic staff. This is one hotel that we will return to and happily recommend.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a patio room that everyone seems to talk about
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear BunburyTim - 10 out of 10 for your review as well. Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experience. More than anything we are thrilled about your kind words for our staff. This makes us extremely proud. We hope to see you back some time! With best regards - AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Met my daughter from Scottsdale for NYC and NYY-Red Sox night game. Our stay at The Chatwal lives up to the SPG Luxury Resort Standards. All the Staff were very professional and pleasant. The hotel location is great, so near the hustle and bustle of Times Square, but so quiet on the side street. We loved our patio and enjoyed eating breakfast there before checking out. Great deli just couple doors down on 44th street too. The Jazz Brunch at The Lamb on Sunday was extra bonus. Will definitely stay there again when visit NYC. Only down side was a Bridal Party in room next door, but very quiet after they left. And oh yes,,,NYY beat the Sox.

Room Tip: Second Level with outside patio great for spring or fall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

So glad to have found this place!!! Every detail perfect!! Staff attentive, friendly and so helpful. I would give 10 stars if possible. Beds perfect for me. Loved the roomy closets and bath. I would stay a month!!! Is it possible to find a small, safe comfy base with wonderful little eats across the street , next to the Belasco AND Hedwig?

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

So much good about this property that I will now only share where they could improve upon: Room temperature control is not the best (seems to blow cool air all the time-somewhat annoying); Restaurant prices are high for breakfast - even in NYC (although the Sunday Jazz Brunch seems to be worth the price).

The good stuff includes a very attentive and capable staff, clean and generally well designed bathrooms and a very comfortable bed (for me, at least). It rained, and there were umbrellas available at no charge for guests; the lobby is very inviting - including a well stocked bar.

Reminder: Tip the doorman as those doors are enormous and heavy!

The location is in the theater district, and the Hotel was home to many of the famous actors of the past - if history is your thing, this should impress (although the hotel has been seriously updated).

Room Tip: Ask for "the back" as that is the quiet area of the hotel (seems like those are all the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

On arrival the very cheerful doorman helped us with our bags to reception where the staff were also very friendly and most helpful. We were introduced to our butler who then showed us to our room. We stayed on the 3rd floor and considering we looked out onto the Main Street it was really quiet for New York! The room was huge and had everything you could imagine and more all the latest gadgets for a comfortable stay. The bed was so so comfy and everything perfectly clean. If I could have given this hotel 6 out of 5 I would its truly 5* plus! We will definitely recommend to all our friends and family. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite room 309 it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#17 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.