We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #42 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mandeville, Louisiana
1 review
“Exceptional.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Chatwal provides excellent and personalized service second to none.

From the concierge desk to the butler service to the front desk to the room service, everything was outstanding. My wife and I were celebrating my 40th birthday as a weekend in New York City, and the staff made our experience truly special and memorable. The hotel itself has the perfect ambiance for its great location in the Theater District.

Upon arrival, our room was decorated for my birthday. The concierge, Mr. Juan Espinal, did a thoroughly superior and professional job in arranging our dining requests, providing general guidance and facilitating transportation. The butler service provided by Mr. Brandon Short was exceptional and courteous. The front desk was also professional, courteous and prompt. Our room service was expedient with superb offerings from the Lambs Club menu. The spa provides excellent service and was able to accommodate us on short notice for an unscheduled appointment. Our room was also kept continuously in good order by the housekeeping staff as well.

I give my highest recommendation to The Chatwal. It is truly a phenomenal hotel to stay in while visiting New York City.

Room Tip: The outstanding room 706. It is a large room, with a balcony overlooking W 44th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    120
    44
    19
    19
See reviews for
119
397
46
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and we decided to see a play in NYC. I surprised her with a overnight stay, she thought we were leaving that evening and staying in NJ on our way back to DC. The surprise was on me when we checked into the Chatwal! The staff greeted us by name when we arrived, not sure how they knew, and the Director of Operations, George, came out from his office to greet us. All of the staff at this great property were friendly and courteous, it seemed everyone there knew our name, very impressive. Our room was very spacious for Manhattan standards,. The bellman offered to provide an overview of our room which took nearly 15 minutes to describe all of the luxuries and beautiful appointments. Everything in the room could be controlled from a large screen phone next to the bed. The bathroom was magnificent, bidet, heated toilet seat, large Jacuzzi tub, rain shower, TV behind the mirror and it was beautifully decorated with plenty of extras. Waiting for us was a bottle of Champagne from the staff congratulating us on our special occasion. I would highly recommend this property for its location, close enough but far enough from Times Square and for the great staff. My wife and I have traveled all over the world and this was one of the finest properties we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Make sure you check out the restaurant, the Lambs Club, Geoffrey Zakarian is an Iron Chef and the food was incredible (make sure you try the burger!). We will make a return trip to NYC next year and our hotel choice has already been made. I am sure you will enjoy this fine property as much as we have. Happy Holidays to all and the wonderful staff at the Chatwal!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel! The rooms are fantastic with lots of mod cons which make it extra special. Hotel staff fabulous too. It's like a luxurious hideaway from the mayhem of times square . Perfectly located too. Definitely recommend it as a hotel rooms spacious

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Chatwal for six nights and I had a good time here. The Hotel is small and very cozy, it is well located right in Times Square (I don´t really enjoy too much Times Square). The service is very personal, and professional, the hotel facilities are good, and you feel quite good staying here. Maybe I was a bit unlucky with the room orientation since at 4-5 am I would hear all the noise from the street every day, either trucks or people screaming to each other.

I booked this hotel through Amex Travel Services and in that kind of rate breakfast is always included. The breakfast takes place at the Lambs Club, lovely room with a fire place, service is very good, just the way they make you present every morning some old school papers in order to be able to have your breakfast is kind of weird.

The best of the best was my room, a super spacious Junior Suite with amazing details, three tv´s (including one in the bathroom). and very very high quality finishes and interior design details. Loved every bit of it.

Overall the hotel is great and if you have to stay in Midtown and don´t mind not staying in a big hotel this would probably be the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

There are many things good about this luxury hotel, although the overall experience is that it feels that they are trying too hard / overdone. The beds are excellent, and the bathrooms fun (dramatic lighting, heated toilets, excellent toiletries). The breakfast is fabulous. If one gets a reasonable price for the room, it can be a great value. At full price, there may be better locations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We travelled to New York for a 4 night sightseeing and Christmas shopping spree on December 5th 2013 and were absolutely buzzing when we were checked into our special suite. After reading all the previous reviews we opted to pay the upgrade and get room 706 the suite with terrace and were very very happy with our choice. The room had so many extras which just made it extra special including; a heated toilet seat, a built in tv in the vanity mirror in the bathroom, the biggest terrace with massive table and chairs on, a very spacious dressing table, slippers, robes, a shower that could fit 10 people in, an amazingly big and well stocked mini bar, a large comfy bed, massive plasma tv on the wall, I could go on but it was honestly amazing, the best thing was we had butler service so when we pressed the butler button he answered straight away and honestly couldn't do enough for us. Ali was also amazing in the concierge and even carried our shopping bags up to our room whilst we went off shopping again!!!!!! You absolutely get what you pay for and if you can afford it I highly recommend you staying in room 706 - it really is one to remember and we are very well travelled. The last day we were shattered and decided to have a trip to the spa, treating ourselves with a facial and a massage - perfect ending to a perfect trip!!!!!!!!! Highly highly recommend the Chatwal! 2 minutes walk from toys r us on Times Square - you honestly couldn't get a better hotel in a better location!!!!!!! We will be back again :)

Room Tip: If you can splash out and want luxury - definitely stay in room 706 - suite with terrace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were absolutely blown away by the beautiful oversized deluxe room we had when we went into the city for my, significant others birthday. It was gorgeous, spacious and the most relaxing automated room we have ever seen. We arrived early in the morning and had brunch in the hotel restaurant, the Lambs club. After having a relaxing brunch we went to see the play Betrayal on 47th St and Broadway which was wonderful. We had great seats, center front in the mezzanine section and really enjoyed the play. We then headed back to the Chatwal to relax and so she could freshen up in our beautiful room and terrace before dinner. The room was so comfortable we we tempted to have dinner served in our room but we had made a reservation in the Lambs Club for dinner so we decided to have our dinner in their beautiful restaurant with wonderful people. Great place to stay while in NYC….

Room Tip: Just work with their wonderful staff and describe what your looking for and they will accommodate yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#53 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,479 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#59 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#13 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at The New York Palace
The Towers at The New York Palac...
#12 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#32 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.