We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have 6 stars..Its that Nice..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #39 of 453 Hotels in New York City
NapTown
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Should have 6 stars..Its that Nice..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Where to begin..I booked the room using a Priceline name your own price. I do this all the time and when I check in at majority of the hotels they seem to stick the nose up at the idea I used Priceline. Not at The Chatwal they were very nice and courteous and real as opposed to nice because they have to be. James at the front desk addressed me by my last name for the entire week. Most places you are room number xxx. I am very picky about hotels I stay in. Most the time its the little things that mean the most. A month before my stay I called the Hotel and requested to have a Mini Fridge. Within 5 min of getting to my room it was brought up. I didn't have to remind anyone or beg. I was having a tie issue and Ali one of the bell men helped me for 20min walking me thru tying my tie. My first room was a Superior Queen ( Room 908 ). I never felt the room was small. If you have stayed anywhere else in NYC this wasn't small. A day later I was asked if I would like a free upgrade to a King superior room ( Room 610 ). It to was very,very nice. I had a inside view.
The room faced the Hotel AKA. Views are not important to me. Its New York if you want a view step outside. The bathroom was beautiful. Black marble everywhere. I have never understood peoples fascination with rain shower showers until now. The toilet was neat but it will be a down side to some. I could go on about this pace forever I loved my stay there that much. But I digress

Positives.
+++ Luxury beyond belief.
+++ The staff. I have never listed staff as a +. Each room gets a butler although I never used the service the fact they you are offered a personal butler is cool. One night I needed a little more ice. I called down to the desk and in less than 5 min I had a huge pail of ice. I am very unaccustomed to this level of pampering.
+++ Free WIFI. If anyone has read any of my other reviews this is my pet peeve. I have stayed in a lot of places in NYC and have been charged anywhere from 9.99 a night to 14.95 a night.
+++ At no time did I ever feel like The Chatwal was nickel and diming me.
+++ Location. It is half a block from Toys R Us in times square and is on the same street the shoot Good Morning America..
+++ Within 2 blocks of any of the subway lines.
+++ The Bidet with remote. At first my thoughts were that It will not clean the area very good. I was wrong. It did a wonderful job of cleaning and it has a remote..
+++ The bathrooms are remarkable. This is what I imagine the bathrooms on the deathstar look like. There is a TV behind the mirror so while getting ready in the morning you can watch the weather.
+++ This was shockingly a very quite hotel. I though being so close to Times Square it would be loud and it was not. There was construction going on in Times Square and I only heard them once or twice.
The few negatives some people might have.
--- The construction happens at night. The entire 7 days I was there I heard them once or twice.
--- Although the toilets are top of the line and super cool there is one big concern that people should be aware of. The hole where you sit is very small. I am not a huge guy and I found it to be a tight fit. If I was taller than 6ft. or larger in weight I am not sure I would have fit on the Toilet seat.
This has been the best hotel I have ever stayed at. This is also now my hotel of choice when I come to NYC. I had the lowest grade room and con not fathom what the more expensive room could have.

Room Tip: Check the fit of the toilet seat before it is to late..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear RebelKnight,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us. We very much appreciate all of the lovely comments you have made about our team, and the hotel overall. We take a tremendous amount of pride in the hotel and truly want our guests to have the most exceptional, and unique experience one can have in a New York City Hotel.

We will look forward to your return visit in the future. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,

Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    89
    36
    17
    15
See reviews for
89
316
36
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and booked 2 Grand Deluxe rooms whilst we were getting married in the city. From when we arrived to when we left the staff were warm friendly and provided exemplary service through out. Nothing was too much trouble. The Rooms were well decorated, bed comfortable and bathroom well stocked, if a little compact. Brandon, the head butler, pressed our wedding shirts and jackets and sent out friends clothes for dry cleaning without issue and took care and interest in our trip as did the other reception staff. Breakfast and dinner in the adjoining Lambs Club restaurant were very good. Wednesday Jazz night in the mezzanine bar was great and staff could not be nicer. Would stay again if we return to NYC.

Room Tip: stayed in Grand Deluxe - well equipped but a little snug - maybe opt for Junior Suite if you want mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I can't believe this hotel is so close to Times Square. The was no noise from the street. The bathrooms are amazing, the beds are very comfortable & the terrace is great. The entire hotel is gorgeous!! It felt walking in to an episode of Mad Men. It's in the perfect location to see a play.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very useful location as it is literally next to Times square and next to the theatre district (less than 10 min walk). If you are here for the shows and want a bit of luxury, Chatwal is a pretty reasonable choice. It is of course convenient to the metro and literally most of the lines run about a block from the hotel. Totally walkable to just about anywhere, central park, shopping (Macy's), Madison square, 5th avenue, Rockefeller, Empire state, Union square. The metro to Soho and downtown is a breeze. The hotel service is generally good, but really not the Mandarin Oriental excellent. The room is very well appointed and really makes an attempt to make one feel at home with the amenities, yet it is clearly luxurious. We were on the 10th floor so noise was not an issue. If there was any complain, that would be the maximum settings on their rain shower was really not quite hot enough to really satisfy. We did not formally complain hence I cannot comment on how they would have responded. Just a couple of degrees of warmer water would have made all the difference :). Overall, if we were to return to NY, we would consider staying here again. Downstair is of course the quite able restaurant The Lambs Club, run in conjunction with the new Iron chef Geoffrey Zakarian, which is a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Chatwal for a week early in April. After a long flight from Australia we arrived, via the limo service that the hotel arranged for us, and were made to feel special right from the word go. The foyer is tiny, and adjoining the bar, so was very noisy and was a bit distracting when we were being checked in. We had a Junior Suite booked and it was very impressive - very classy. Small yes - but we are a block from Time Square. All the staff we interacted with were great especially the guys on the front door. Had breakfast in the Lambs Club one morning which was fantastic.
Only issue is that it was quite noisy at night - not the hotels fault.
There is a great little Italian restaurant just down the road toward Time Square and we ate at a 'french bistro' style place across the road from The Chatwal a few times - it was terrific.

However, all of this comes at a price and it ain't cheap!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Directors Suite and loved everything about it. The decor, the incredible bathrooms with fantastic showers,the great service of the hotel staff.

We have stayed in Times Square at The W and would not return because of the mobs in Times Square. This location is only a block away that makes a world of difference. It is not crazy busy as is The W location.

The concierge staff including Juan and Bryan gave us great advice on restaurants and the front desk staff are wonderful including Elizabeth and Catalina.

Unlike some othe comments we found that this was the first time we never heard a siren or street noise in our NYC stays. This is our new favorite NYC hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear piatty73,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your visit with us in our Director’s Suite and are delighted to know you found the location to be convenient. We very much appreciate the lovely comments about our team who will be very proud to read them.

We will look forward to your next visit at The Chatwal NY. If there is anything I can accommodate for you, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Although we have stayed in several hotels around Times Square this boutique hotel was a surprise.
Very comfortable and spacious rooms and it all looked very new .A small hotel which means personal treatment by staff.The only critical point is that the design of the hotel sometimes conflicts with the efficiency.All in all we know that when we return to New York this will be the hotel to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.