We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Times Square!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #39 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Times Square!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pricey but you definitely get what you pay for. The rooms are impeccable, updated, and spacious. You are in the heart of Times Square, yet without the noise and crowds. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear I_DOC_STL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your visit with us in the heart of Manhattan’s Theater District.
If we ever have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    89
    36
    17
    15
See reviews for
89
317
36
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Chatwal. The staff were amazing and extremely helpful in getting show tickets and reservations at our favourite restaurants. The Lambs Club was fantastic...we felt really spoiled by the staff and the food was outstanding. An excellent bar in the hotel really finished off an amazing day. We could not have found a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear nashorn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We very much appreciate your kind words about our team and are thrilled to know you enjoyed your visit with us.

If we ever have the pleasure to host you for a return visit, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have been in New York City many, many times, over the past 50 years and was a guest at several hotels, all in the 5 star line. Some of them did deserve to be called 5 star hotels. Others, unfortunately, should better be in a 3 star category. In the past years, I have been mostly at hotels in the 53rd.-59th street area. This time, I have decided to stay closer to the Theatre area, as my husband and I like very much to go to the Broadway plays and musicals. After a careful selection,we picked up the Chatwal. No regrets at all. The address is fantastic if you wish to be in the theater area. We stayed in a Junior Suite on the 8th floor which was great. The hotel is rather a "boutique" hotel with a small number of rooms. I like this, because , among other reasons, you are not just a number, as everyone knows who your are and call you by your name at all times. There is a fascinating art nouveau atmosphere all over. The suite was perfect, full of "virtual" gimmicks and the bathroom was great, with many extra attractions,like a built in bidê, which was quite useful. The shower was one of the best I've seen in hotels. Everything quite easy to handle. The cleaning service was perfect and the maids were all quite efficient and pleasant. When we left, after a long stay, I requested a late check out for 3 pm which was promptly granted. The one and only problem that we found, unfortunately, was the very slow service at breakfast. Sometimes, there was a 10 minute delay in bringing just an orange juice. Fortunately, 2 or 3 days after our arrival, we were lucky to be served by a waiter who was quite smart and, knew exactly what we wanted. His name was Ray. Nonetheless, I made the terrible mistake of ordering grape fruit slices instead of orange juice one morning and it took 25 minutes to arrive. So, my advice, is not to make a deal including breakfast. You can eat breakfast in one of the many restaurants around the hotel. However, the interesting thing wast that, being in NY on the day of the Nemo snow storm, we decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant. The service was great and the food quite good. So, it must be a problem at breakfast. In short, I definitively suggest the hotel to other travelers and, for sure, we shall return, but we'll not include breakfast in our daily rate . Prices are acceptable mainly if your are a Starwood member and, thus, get a special rate Last but not least, the Concierge people are very efficient and always had the care not to suggest expensive places to go.






























































































.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Victor B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We very much appreciate your feedback regarding the type of experience you had during Breakfast Service in The Lambs Club. We have brought your comments to the attention of their management team to ensure other guests do not have similar experiences.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay overall with us and that you appreciated the amenities throughout your Junior Suite. Should we ever have the opportunity to host you for a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The Chatwal is part of the luxury collection of Starwood! Close to Time Square and very spacious, clean and modern. The restaurant had many nice offerings with reasonable prices. Service was excellent from all angles. Fitness center is small but functional. Will look to stay again next trip!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear MsLATam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your visit with us. We do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back for a return visit.

If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was my first time at the Chatwal. Very luxe, great little touches. I've never experienced a Japanese toilet before - I think I may need to buy one. The TV is huge, the bed is super comfortable, the loaner IPad is a great touch. Excellent bar in the hotel. Very good value for mid-town Manhattan - less expensive than lesser hotels like the W. Little critiques: windows are not as soundproof as they could be. Some of the employees aren't super friendly, others are solicitous, but in a grating way. These are minor, though - this is my new midtown hotel.

Room Tip: I'd advise taking a room facing south, which would probably be quieter than those fronting w. 44...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I took my parents to NYC for their first ever visit. I have been many times. I had some points/reward stays to use. So, we stayed a few different properties for our 6 day trip. I had read about the Chatwal before arriving and communicated with them prior to our arrival. They were definitely on top of their game. Pierre, a concierge, helped make arrangements for us to dine at The Lambs Club and offered suggestions about transportation. Also, Lance Miller, the front desk supervisor was extremely helpful. He arranged for my parents and I to have connecting rooms. His correspondence with me prior to and after arrival was above and beyond. I like above and beyond. Brandon, our butler, was so very hospitable and did a great job taking care of some pressing we needed. The bell man was incredible at explaining all the amazing features of our rooms (remote controlled drapes and toilet, $18,000 mattresses, tv in mirror, rain shower, etc.). I was also allowed to check out an iPad while in residence. The service was some of the best I've ever received. The food was wonderful. The rooms were so beautiful with incredible touches of detail (i.e. suede walls). We loved the location near the theater district and times square but still quiet. During our visit, we also stayed at the St. Regis, W Times Square, and Carlton. The Chatwal was by far the best because of impeccable rooms and service. I look forward to going back as often as I can. Oh, and I must not forget the awesome Asprey products in the bathroom. Wow!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear KEEPTAHOEBLU,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences from The Chatwal NY.

It was my great pleasure to coordinate with you prior to your arrival, in order to ensure the experience for you and your parents was nothing short of perfection.

We are thrilled to know that you spent your time well in New York City and that your parents had a great experience for their first visit. We are very appreciative for your thoughtful comments about our team.

It would again be my pleasure to assist you for any future visits you spend with us. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at lmiller@thechatwalny.com

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at the Chatwal. The hotel is beautiful, staff friendly and attentive. Decor was gorgeous and I felt we were in an episode of Mad Men. The rooms were exquisite with modern fixtures and all was perfect except for the BED - not the mattress I am looking for in an SPG property - hard and uncomfortable and pillows had no structure. The shower was great with more spouts than needed but the water would not rise in temperature past lukewarm.

We would stay again but would check to see these two things are fixed before we commit.

Room Tip: Junior suite was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.