We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chatwal is completely decadent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #39 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Chatwal is completely decadent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Chatwal for two nights over New Years Eve for our 10-year anniversary and will most certainly be back. The hotel has every amenity you can think of (and tons you wouldn't have). It is situated perfectly off of Times Square taking away all travel worries. The entire staff was proactive in attending to every need. Dining at the Lamb's Club was superlative. The entire experience was beyond amazing. It was THE perfect getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Brian L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

It was a true pleasure to host you for your 10 year wedding anniversary. We are delighted to know it proved to be an unforgettable experience.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Chatwal NY in the future. If there is anything I may be able to assist with, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    90
    37
    17
    17
See reviews for
90
327
36
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for one night on Starwood Points. This is a pricey property, but worth every penny (or point). The hotel is an amazing, stylish, retro property in absolute mint condition- Suede walls in the room, Leather 'trunk' storage spaces, fantastic sound insulation and bed comfort. Wife loved the heated toilet seat. I loved the enormous rain head shower.

Jazz in the lounge was top notch, with 'Dandy Wellington and His Band' playing the one night we stayed. They sounded great. Unique cocktails are pricey but well made. Staff was great. Only annoyance was that we fell asleep after renting a $13 movie on LodgeNet and staff advised that there was no way to replay the next morning without purchasing again. (I am really starting to hate LodgeNet).

This is a hotel to save for special occasions- you and your date will not be disappointed. Location is perfect for theatres and Times Square area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear DWtravelsalot,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed various aspects of your stay including the live jazz with some speak easy cocktails.

Should we ever have the opportunity to host you again for a return visit, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

i stayed there for 10 nights in march the service was superb , rooms was clean and the bathrooms are the best part...times square was only 1 min walk also 5th ave was nearby 15 min walk , rockefeller center was only 5 min walk

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
DearNonowa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

It was a true pleasure to host you for a 10 night visit. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the amenities offered in your accommodation and the location of The Chatwal NY.

Should we ever have the opportunity to host you again for a return visit, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chatwal Dec. 22-26. The staff was excellent. After a quick check-in, the bellman took us to our room and explained everything about the room and services. The room was beautiful and large. It was a junior suite with a terrace but because of the cold weather we didn't use the terrace. The bed was very comfortable and nice sheets. The bathroom was gorgeous with double sinks and as my husband said the best shower ever! Housekeeping was very efficient with turn down every night. The concierge was helpful and the doormen were always there to greet you. We only had breakfast once which was good, not great. The location is just off of Times Square and within walking distance to many attractions. This hotel is pricey but worth it. We will stay here again for our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear carmenpell,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We very much appreciate your kind words regarding our team. We pride ourselves on the intimate level of service our guests receive and I am delighted to know you appreciated this.

We would be honored to host you for another return visit. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My Fiance and I stayed at the Chatwal Hotel on Sept 2, 2012 (I'm just lazy and kept forgetting to write the review). My fiance had just proposed the night before and this was our "engagement" trip. Upon arrival it was clear that the service levels were going to be amazing. The hotel is beautiful and the people are friendly. While checking in we told the receptionist that we had just gotten engaged. She seemed very excited for us and offered to upgrade to a suite--Which we didn't take as that room wasn't going to be ready for a few hours. Our butler was very helpful and friendly. He brought us up to the room and gave us a full explination of all the features as well as how to take advantage of them (the room had a lot of technology and if it wasn't for him we wouldn't have known how to use it probably!). The Butler offered to help us pack/unpack suitcases and also help us get a taxi, make reservations, etc. He would have helped with anything we asked.

Overall, we had a fantastic and enjoyable stay at the Chatwal. I wish it could have been a longer stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Arynn F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable visit with us and experienced the distinguished level of intimate service we pride ourselves on. We appreciate your kind words about our staff.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I've lived and worked in the times square area and have never seen or noticed this hotel. I found it for the first time searching for hotels on SPG.com

The hotel feels more like an condo building than a hotel.

The room - was extremely interesting, modern, and comfortable. The furniture is in the shape of giant luggage. Open the suitcase and you have a desk or closet. There's a high tech bathroom with a TV hidden into the mirror, a jacuzzi tub, and a toilet that I didnt quite have the time to figure out. The view wasnt much to write home about - just the backside of another building.

Location - very good depending on what you are looking to do. As a local, I wasnt very interested in Times Square but all the subways are just down the street to take you anywhere in Manhattan.

Breakfast - in the restaurant serves up a nice breakfast, like a high end restaurant. Times square doesnt have many good options for food but there are a couple cafes if you want to grab something quick.

The price - yes, the price. Its not Holiday Inn so be ready to pay up for this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at The Chatwal for two evenings. Despite the city being in the throes of the holiday traffic, our stay at the hotel felt intimate and no detail was overlooked. The amenities and quality of fixtures in the rooms are second to none. Clearly, careful thought was given to the room appointments (e.g.,ample storage, plenty of luxurious towels and bed linens, high-end toiletries, etc.). The staff were professional, thoughtful, and responsive. Food from room service was expensive, but delicious. We felt pampered from start to finish. Thankfully, we were given adjourning rooms, which worked out perfectly for our family. Our kids loved the room amenities so much, they didn't want to leave (especially TV in the bathroom!). The only potential shortcoming that comes to mind is that you can hear the neighbors quite clearly through the ventilation system. Perhaps that was unique to our room configuration. Regardless, we'll definitely stay there again for our next visit to NYC. High quality hotel and memorable experience all around.

Room Tip: Can request adjourning rooms if traveling as a family (not guaranteed, but they'll try...).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#20 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.