We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time had by all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Save Saved
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #39 of 452 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good time had by all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We wanted a hotel in the centre of the action for my daughters and I for our NY 3 day shopping trip, with a bit of culture thrown in. Couldn't decide between this area and SOHO, in the end settled on the Chatwal and very pleased with the choice. We arrived at around 2pm, unfortunately our rooms were not ready, so we dumped the bags and headed off to "American Doll", what a nightmare, though my youngest loved it. Returned to the hotel after more retail therapy and fortunately now the room was available and we had been upgraded to a 2 room suite on the 9th floor. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathroom amenities are "Aspreys". The rooms are slightly lacking ceiling height, but the lighting is excellent and the windows large. They have a "Spa" and pool, actually lap pool and to be completely frank, a complete waste of time and space. The gym though small was ok and kept my eldest daughter happy for her early morning run. Re Gym/Spa, my only complaint was that the front desk and Spa desk didn't seem to know when the pool opening times were, so I wasted 1/2 hour for the place to open in the morning. Other than that, the other area that needs improving was the concierge, one was great, the other useless and all the recommendations were poor, especially the breakfast one down the street (db Bistro Moderne), just awful and very overpriced. 7th floor have terrace rooms, though you pay an additioanl price for the hotel to open the doors onto the terrace, most odd!!!

Room Tip: 7 floor has terraces, though you pay an additional price for the hotel to open the doors onto the te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    86
    36
    16
    15
See reviews for
86
308
33
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
212 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
449 helpful votes 449 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I chose this hotel for a one-night getaway with my wife based on the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. The rooms are indeed quiet even though it is about 2 minutes walk to Times Square. The bathroom was a big hit with nice colors and lighting, toiletries and a rainforest shower. (I hardly ever rave about bathrooms, by the way.) We were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite; I wasn't impressed with the suite -- it is basically an adjoining room with a chair and a couch that didn't look like much and the lighting was so dim that on the couch I couldn't read a newspaper, and the TV wasn't mounted straight on the wall, and the window shades didn't respond to the remote control that was in the room. But aside from that, the actual bedroom part of the suite was fine and the room was plenty dark overnight. Food in the restaurant for breakfast was fine, the dinner menu was very enticing (but we had reservations at DB -- Daniel Boloud's Bistro down the block) and I'd come back to eat dinner there sometime. The gym was adequate -- free weights and some cardio stuff. Service was friendly and overall we liked the art deco decor of the common spaces and the boutique hotel feeling of the property in an area full of huge hotels where you would otherwise be just another number among a thousand guests. Staff here seem to be trying to earn their reputation at this hotel which just opened a year ago. I don't know if this hotel is among the top 10 in Manhattan but I've had worse experiences in top city hotels such as the Peninsula (reviewed by me on this site), so it's quite possible that this property does deserve its top tier rating on this site. I suppose if I were more impressed with the living room of my suite I would have put it in the top tier unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Gorgeous boutique hôtel. Staff is extremely gracious. Lovely lobby bar. High style. Well designed room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Looking for a fantastic hotel in the theatre district? The Chatwal is on 44th street just off Times Square. Recently renovated, this hotel does not disappoint! Expensive but worth the price.
Rooms are very large and beautifully appointed. Bathroom spacious and covered in granite, chrome and mirrors. And a flat screen built into the mirror! The staff match the elegance of the interiors. Someone always there to assist. One of the best in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I travel to NYC at least yearly, this time was exceptional! The mood was set from the highly personable Christine who greeted us openly. All the staff made us feel genuinely welcome and valued. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in a contemporary art deco style with all the high tech extras. The restaurant located within the hotel, The Lambs Club was a delight to dine in, as was the uber sleek bar on the upper level. The coffee is sublime.
We took advantage of the spa. This offered a wonderful refuge for our tired feet. I can not express how much we enjoyed our stay and we now have a new home in when next we return. Cheers and Good Living Lisa! Nova Scotia Canada

Room Tip: Be thankful if they can accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

For an anniversary celebration weekend in New York, we'd wanted a special hotel. The Chatwal was brilliant. We loved it: warm welcome, cool retro decor and great 44th street location (within easy walking access up to Central Park or down to the Highline). In recognition of our anniversary, Brandon, the terrific head butler had fruit, a lemon tart and lovely roses delivered to our room. Room was very quiet, with elegant masculine decor in leather and suede: Great bathroom, Asprey shampoo and soaps, and lots of high tech features. We'd recommend the hotel, would stay there again and would recommend to friends.

Lissa

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Great location. Top notch service. Very modern rooms. Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.