We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appropriately Decked Out for $548/Night: A new, unique boutique hotel w/gadgets, creativity, good service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York to your Saves list
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #31 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Appropriately Decked Out for $548/Night: A new, unique boutique hotel w/gadgets, creativity, good service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I had high expectations of The Chatwal after reading all of the enthusiastic reviews, none of which are false, but a bit overly-glowing in my opinion. Yes, this is a very nice, new, unique Starwood participating hotel (use your points here, don't pay $548). Location=A steps to Times Square; Service=A; Room: A- Avg/a tad small even for NYC standards, but having a patio adds space. Bed=A; Bathroom overall=B (huge shower steals all of the space) W/your stuff, it gets cluttered and space-less quickly. Bidet fans will be thrilled. Shower=A+. Desk=C- Only 2 electrical outlets available? If you got gadgets, you can only charge 2 at a time. Business travel beware...desk more like a makeup stand. Minor detail they can fix, Little table space. As you'll see from my pix, and I know I'm not a very tidy person, but room got very cluttered very fast due to last of table/place to put stuff. No where to hang garment bag due to overly thick leather clad doors. Service=A- Kudos to Brad at front desk and the butler. Room Service=A- (a bit pricey, but a neat presentation of what would typically be scrambled eggs, toast and bacon.) Based on room service, I wish I had tried the Lamb Club restaurant. Other: touchscreen master control for everything: lights, AC, and even the drapes. Sure to delight gadget lovers. Leather clad closet units will thrill closet lovers. This brown, masculine "superior room" had a nice walk-out balcony w/table and chairs. Overall, despite the double doors, a dark room, even w/all of the lights on. Chatwal is what all four star hotels should strive to achieve. Overall, thumbs up, w/few flaws. If you're sick of the typical major chain hotel w/same boring rooms, then check Chatwal out. It's great, but not the best hotel in NYC by far.

Room Tip: Upgrade to
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    115
    44
    17
    18
See reviews for
112
391
41
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed there for the first time after someone recommended it to me and I have to say that (despite the rather strange location close to Time Square) it was one of the best hotel experiences I ever had in the US. The Staf was very efficient, the rooms just amazing (however I wonder how the housekeeping will keep them up) and even met the Manager of the hotel while in the lobby. I can highly recommend this property to any other traveller.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

From check-in to check-out everything was perfect. Outstanding staff. Brendon, the butler, handled every request with a smile. The room, a deluxe King, was beautiful, bathroom roomy and the shower with the overhead shower head was a welcome treat after a day walking around the city. Location was great. We were just a couple blocks from many of the major subway stations and though a half block away from Time Square, 44th St was very quiet. We've stayed in mnay of the finest hotels in NYC, but this is now our favorite property Definitely book The Chatwal. What a class act!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

For my wedding weekend, my wife to be and I wanted a special hotel for her to stay at for our wedding weekend. The great reviews on this site prompted me to select the Chatwal over other outstanding hotels in the city. As a frequent traveler (100+ nights per year) and someone who often stays at luxury hotels (St. Regis, Four Seasons, SPG Luxury Collection), this hotel exceeds expectations.

The staff are special at this hotel. From the concierge to the support staff, employees such as Graziano and Brandon went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure the weekend went smoothly. The spa staff were excellent and did a fantastic job preparing my wife for the wedding. Deliveries of wedding flowers and other items such as food and champagne were all handled with a breeze and without issue. The staff seemed to really care about our satisfaction on all levels and take great pride in their work. They were so friendly and came across as very genuine.

As for the hotel itself, it is immaculate. As others have stated, the rooms are small and they are somewhat dark. That being said, this is NYC and rooms are always on the smaller side. The subdued lighting in the rooms was quite nice and just seemed to go with the style of the hotel. The spa is beautiful and provided excellent services.

Overall, the best hotel that we've stayed at in NYC with an absolutely fantastic staff. We are definitely planning on staying again at this hotel. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here with my wife for one evening for my birthday. Great location...right in the theater district. Amazing customer service...great rooms...elegant but high tech. The bathrooms are not to be believed...great showers! Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed in a Grand Deluxe room which was a very quiet comfortable high tech room with superb bed and great bathroom. Location is excellent - 3 mins to Time Square where most of the theatres and "hop on - hop off" tours start. All staff are fabulous and service brilliant. This is a quality establishment. The only negative with this upper priced room is one small window with no view so there is virtually no natural light. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed on for a few days after a business trip this spring, and got a special rate through Leaders Club ( no longer available now that it is SPG)...Rack rate a little beyond my reach. Great location for shopping and shows. The place feels like a movie set, and indeed, there are golden age movies running in the elevator . The contrast between the calm elegance of the hotel and the cacophony of Times Square just down the block makes this an almost otherworldly experience. I screwed up our dinner reservation, but we were graciously accommodated even though the Lambs Club was very busy. Our room, third floor overlooking the street, was a bit of a squeeze, but thoughtfully designed with interesting and rich finishes. Decadent bathroom! Only drawback is that you may feel like the least attractive person in the place, staff included.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#24 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.