We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in the Heart of Harlem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 710 Guest Suites

710 Guest Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
710 Guest Suites
Save Saved
You added 710 Guest Suites to your Saves list
710 St Nicholas Ave, at 145th St, New York City, NY 10031 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home in the Heart of Harlem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our host Michael was just wonderful, as was Tracy his housekeeper- her friendly smiling face and welcome “Hello, this is home” was enough to feel the stresses of travelling leave my body and that is where I left them for the rest of the week, on the steps of a beautiful brownstone building!

One of my most everlasting memories will be how friendly, welcoming and genuine people are in New York and in Harlem in particular.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

710 is a great place to call home in NYC. Convenient to the subway, close to lots of good places to eat and drink locally. Having done the tourist thing, this was more like living in NYC which was a welcome change. As others have noted, Michael is amazing and makes you feel at home and part of the neighborhood. It is so much more comfortable than a hotel, and a great price-performer too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for one week and , as stated in previous reviews , Michael made this a positive experience with easy of booking , flexibility on entry and leaving times and general advice about the local area including restaurant and café suggestions.
Apartment was ideal for a family of 4 . Well equipped and spacious and well situated for public transport . We were so busy we didn't spend too much " down time " in the apartment but would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

"our stay at 710 was fantastic. The apartment is as described, large, bright and clean. The beds were very comfortable and at home nothing was missing. Michael was really nice and helpful with us. If we go back to New York, certainly will stay again at 710. Thanks again Michael and thaks Tracy."
Maria Sole and family - Italy

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Me and 5 of my friends stayed 9 nights in the apartment number 2. The apartment was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We were very happy with the owner, he gave us good advice and tips regarding the area and apartment, and told us that we could contact him for advise later as well.

Apartment number 2 had 2.5 bathrooms which was nice, since our group consisted from 6 guys. The area itself was very secure and we didn't have any problems with anything. We also rented a car for the last part of our trip and the 24h supermarket that was a few blocks away also had a garage which was very useful.

The apartment had cable-tv and very good kitchen appliances.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you're wondering whether 710 Guest Suites are really as good as the reviews here on TripAdvisor - in our experience, most definitely!!

Our family of 4 stayed in Apartment 4 for 10 nights over Christmas 2013 and found this a great 'home away from home' in Manhattan. The apartment itself is as wonderful as it appears in the photos, and we loved the decor and generous space and light. It was also perfect to have a fully functional kitchen and washer/dryer.

710 Guest Suites are located in a lovely area of Harlem - we found people very friendly and never felt unsafe. We also found it a great respite from the craziness of mid town at the end of a long day. As many other reviews mention, the subway is just outside the front door and has you at Columbus Circle in 10 mins on the express line. There are also supermarkets, pharmacies and cafes within easy walk from the apartment.

However, as many others have also mentioned, it is Michael that truly makes this place special. He is so passionate about what he does and the surrounding area, and filled with great tips/advice without overwhelming or crowding you. A special mention also to Tracey, Joy and Sammi, who were also wonderful to deal with.

I cannot recommend 710 Guest Suites more highly - we would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to NYC and Harlem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

New York is quite an intimidating city to visit for non Americans, and it is so huge and interesting that it is necessary to stay at least a week, particularly if you travel from far away.

It is therefore a great idea to move into an apartment to create a peaceful 'home' to come back to each day after touring.

710 Guest Suites are absolutely perfect for this. They are in a wonderful old Brownstone in a residential part of Manhattan. Everything you need is on your doorstep: stores, cafes, restaurants and the express train to downtown Manhattan. The apartment is very well equipped with everything you could need. The beds are supremely comfortable with perfect mattresses and lovely duvets. My only suggestion would be a 'Nespresso' machine or similar, as drip coffee is so last Millenium!

As everybody has mentioned, it is Michael that really makes this place home. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble. We were there during the record chill, and when the heating was playing up a phone call to Michael resulted in somebody knocking on our door within 10 minutes to fix it. You wouldn't get service that good in a hotel!


I would unreservedly recommend this place, and will return if we ever get back to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 710 Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 710 Guest Suites

Address: 710 St Nicholas Ave, at 145th St, New York City, NY 10031
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 184 Specialty Lodging in New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 710 Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.