We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C-” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New York Fashion District

Save Saved
You added Hilton New York Fashion District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton New York Fashion District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off Rooms!
Ranked #162 of 446 hotels in New York City
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“C-”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

There is nothing really awful about this hotel, but nothing great either. The room was clean, but small and dark, especially when first entered. It looks to be fairly recently refurbished, but it isn't inviting. The bed was comfortable and pillows were ample, but the pillows were on the hard side. Little details seemed cheap : no fan in bathroom, no notepads to write on, just tiny squares of paper. When I checked out, there was a minibar charge for a minibar that I hadn't even opened. For the money, there are other hotels in this area of NYC that are a better value, and I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonNYFashion, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton New York Fashion District, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback and experience at Hilton New York Fashion District! I apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations during your most recent stay with us. We know you have many choices when staying in New York City so we thank you for choosing Hilton New York Fashion District. Please let me know the next time you are planning a visit to NYC so that I can ensure an exceptional stay. I hope for a chance to regain your confidence in us.

Ahram Suh
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    748
    214
    57
    30
See reviews for
252
620
167
376
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Right after Hurricane Sandy -- my husband and I were forced out of our NYC apartment and spent one night at this hotel. We were really pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms. We got a queen-sized room but the rest of the room and bathroom was quite large.

It was comfortable and the Kerig coffee maker was a nice touch. WiFi, in my opinion, should always be included. It wasn't at this hotel. But I was only there for one night so it was fine.

If you are coming from out of town -- I don't know if this is the best area to stay in just because it's not that central. You aren't in walking distance to a lot of attractions.

I didn't think the staff was particularly nice because when we came in the girl at the front desk acted like we were bothering her when we tried to check in. She didn't greet us with a smile or anything. But at least the rooms are really nice to make up for it.

Room Tip: We had a room near the front and it was a bit noisy. See if you can get a room facing the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonNYFashion, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton New York Fashion District, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for this review and feedback on Hilton New York Fashion District. I regret to hear that the service you received by the Front Desk staff did not meet your expectations. The Front Desk Staff often get compliments on how friendly and helpful they are so I apologize that the same quality service was not extended to you during your stay. I have passed on your comment to our Director of Front Office so that further training may take place and so that consistent, top-notch service is provided.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton New York Fashion District during your visit to New York City and I hope for a chance to regain your confidence in us.

Ahram Suh
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in two different hotels this trip to NYC, so interesting to compare. Location of this one is not bad, in the middle of a mixed business/residential area of New York but close enough to 42nd or Canal St. that walking is not a big problem (plus pretty close to two subway lines). Not much in the way of restaurants nearby, a fair number of delis, etc. Will probably stay further north or south on our next visit to NYC. Rooms are as expected, comfortable but small. Price maybe a bit high (the whole "fashion district" thing"?) but you get what you pay for, and certainly no complaints to share.

A few quirks - guests must use room key to access elevators but do not have direct access to the roof-top bar, must use lobby - no reason why, just because. Elevator girl was kind enough to drop us off at our floor on the way down but said not really supposed to do that (staff were very friendly and helpful). Bathroom lights are on a motion sensor to save energy but both mornings I ended up having part of my shower in the dark because the sensor thought the bathroom was empty.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side look out onto alleyway until about 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonNYFashion, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton New York Fashion District, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback and experience at Hilton New York Fashion District! There is an option for bathroom light censor on/off and I do apologize it was not explained to you when you were staying with us. We know you have many choices when staying in New York City so we thank you for choosing Hilton New York Fashion District. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance!

Ahram Suh
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Central location in walking / short taxi ride to everything. Close to metro. Staff were very helpful -arranged for us to have 2 rooms beside each other and a late check out even though we booked with a last minute rate. The room size was ok considering it was NYC. Not on the best looking street but safe. Excellent roof top bar with views of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

When I had a problem with the heating in the room the manager Eliza did a fantastic job sorting it out. He was helpful and courteous - beyond expectations. Overall prompt service made me feel welcome. Well-located for midtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Definitely a very good location in Manhattan, a few blocks away from the tourist areas.
The rooms are small but quite comfortable as long as you are in a high enough floor and not on the street side (very noisy, as everywhere in New York).
Service is not always nice but generally helpful enough (not at the level you would expect from a Hilton, though !)
The card entry system is fairly inconvenient and the "security" explanation that was given to us is a joke, since you can take the stairs. The gym is quite small and not very well equipped.
The bar downstairs is good and friendly, but the rooftop one is a total "miss": although the view is great, the decor is terrible, the service barely OK and the menu really discouraging.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a higher floor and not on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonNYFashion, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton New York Fashion District, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your response. We know you have many choices when staying in New York City so we thank you for choosing Hilton New York Fashion District. I apologize that your stay was less than perfect and we wish we would have had the chance to correct the noise and service issue that was affecting your experience with us. We highly value and respect each and every one of our guests so we do appreciate your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me the next time you are planning a visit to New York City so that I may ensure the quietest room in house.

Ahram Suh
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed over the weekend the marathon was to occur. We were disappointed they would not allow cancellation given the exceptional circumstances. The stay was fine although the rooms are small given the costs. Service was nice and helpful. Position of the hotel is handy - walk able from penn station and close to times square the meat packing district etc. it's far enough from times square to be relaxing. Overall the hotel is solid but below average value for mOney.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonNYFashion, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton New York Fashion District, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback and experience at Hilton New York Fashion District! I apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations during your most recent stay with us. We know you have many choices when staying in New York City so we thank you for choosing Hilton New York Fashion District.

Ahram Suh
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton New York Fashion District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Fashion District

Also Known As:
Hilton New York Fashion District Hotel
Hilton New York Fashion District Hotel New York City
Address: 152 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Fashion District 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be fashionable. One of New York City's newest hotels, Hilton New York Fashion District offers stunning design, exemplary service and four-star amenities in the heart of the fashion capital of the world. Located on West 26th Street in one of Manhattan's most remarkable neighborhoods, Hilton New York Fashion District is steps away from the Fashion Institute of Technology, The Empire State Building, Herald Square and the renowned Macy's flagship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton New York Fashion District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New York Fashion District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.