We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our trip to Harlam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison d'Art

Save Saved
You added La Maison d'Art to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison d'Art
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   259 W. 132nd Street, New York City, NY 10027   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Napa
1 review
“our trip to Harlam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

the room was very nice, the ladies did a nice job of welcoming us.
my only two concerns were: 1) there is only 1 mirror,high above the bathroom sink it was very difficult to use.and no mirror to check the outfit before going out for the evening.
2. i would have appreciated a rug beside my bed,

aside from that our stay was quite
enjoyable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    28
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
48
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for 7 days while taking in the sights of New York. The room was perfect, clean, large with a kitchen and lounge area. It's near 3 subway stops so getting downtown is easy. And the people we meet here and in Harlem were so so soooo friendly! We've had a great time and would definitely come back and stay again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virserum, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

It must be one of the best, very good room equipped with everyting you need. Close to subway and restaurants. 15 minutes from downtown. We arrive in middle of night and was welcomed by a nice girl who help us with our luggage an show us

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Me and my two friends spent a week here and really enjoyed our stay. When we told people we were staying in Harlem they were a bit worried but we felt extremely safe. Also, we got to explore an area we would not normally. The hotel is so lovely, it is in an art gallery, which is nice to look around. The rooms are also very boutique, which added an individual touch. The amenities were really good, including kettle, coffee maker, toaster and microwave. It is a good location, walking distance to subway, which will only take about 20 mins to get to times square. I recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at La Maison. It was sparkling clean and very comfortable. The room was peaceful and quiet and the bed was amazingly soft and exactly the way I like it. The receptionist was so friendly I really felt at home here. They helped with all my needs and gave me so much information about the surrounding area I didn't feel lost or worried about exploring the area. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaT22
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at La Maison d’ Art in November 2013 (4th – 13th). We stayed in the Victorian room and it was perfect for our needs. We are a couple in our late twenties and wanted a base so that we could explore NYC at our own pace. By choosing to stay in Harlem we were able to extend our stay to 9 nights as it was much cheaper. The Subway was a 10 minute walk away and we found Harlem to be a lovely area to stay in even when walking back to our B&B late in the evening. I didn’t feel any less safe than what I would do walking around London at a similar time of day. I highly recommend purchasing an unlimited metro card as it is extremely good value – we made so many trips on the subway that we would’ve spent far more if we had paid for trips separately.

La Maison d’ Art is a true gem. Our room was small but it was all we needed and I loved the bathroom - if I could’ve packed it in my suitcase to take home with me I would have! I loved the décor of the room so feminine and quirky and the bed was extremely comfy. The room had a fridge, cups/plates/utensils etc and hot drink making facilities so it was nice to be able to keep some milk and bits and bobs in the fridge. There is limited storage space for clothes in the room but myself and my Husband didn’t mind living out of a suitcase and there is a small amount of hanging space which we used to hang up coats/shirts etc. There was a small TV in the room which was nice to stick on whilst getting ready in the mornings.
The rooms are cleaned upon request which suited us perfectly. We didn’t make use of the shared facilities as we were out and about most of the time but we did use the phone to make a couple of free calls to the UK which was a great perk. Even though our room was situated above the art gallery we didn’t experience any noise and had a pleasant night’s sleep every night.

What I liked about La Maison d’ Art was that you felt like you were staying in ‘real’ New York rather than a chain hotel. So many friends of mine have visited New York but have all stayed in the main chain hotels which although nice don’t have much character. La Maison d’ Art felt like a home from home.

The staff at La Maison d’ Art are brilliant. We had an in-depth overview of NYC upon arrival and whenever we had a query or needed anything (e.g. we needed to print out some tickets so they let us use their printer free of charge) they would do everything and more to help. They even called a cab for us when we left and made sure that the correct rate was agreed with our driver. We felt like we were leaving friends rather than a hotel and were seen off with a hug each.

La Maison d’ Art helped to make our holiday a completely unique and memorable experience so much so that a month after our return from our holiday we found out we took home the ultimate souvenir – we’re expecting our first baby. So all I can say is La Maison d’ Art will certainly hold a special place in our hearts and we hope to return one day with our little one! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waregem, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

-> hosts (Stephanie & Sofie) : really friendly and helpful with local information (restaurants, gospel, subway,...)
-> rooms beautiful designed, comfortable, lovely style (you feel at home)
-> perfect to explore the city (subway is nearby) and find some quietness at night
-> nice athmosphere in the neighbourhood (veterans pub), friendly people
-> value for money, good service, free use of the phone, good facilities (coffee, ...)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison d'Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Art

Address: 259 W. 132nd Street, New York City, NY 10027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison d'Art 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison d'Art is a unique way to spend your vacation in NY like a true New Yorker! In the eclectic neighborhood of Harlem, you will have the key to a suite in a typical NY Brownstone house and access to your personal art gallery and garden. The house a 4-story building, uniquely decorated by original pieces by resident and visiting artists. Each Suite has its own style. The gallery/Lounge and garden is accessible to everyone. Free Breakfast will be served starting Sept 2013 in the lounge.We also have monthly music events such as Jazz, blues, ethnical music private concerts from 6-9pm Fridays as well as bi-monthly art exhibit in the gallery. Experience Harlem and NY the real way by enjoying the thrill and fast drive of midtown and relaxing uptown after a long day, in front of our fire pit in the winter or in the art garden in the summer. We have staff in-house at all time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Maison d'Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Art Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison d'Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.