We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything But The Bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters World Trade Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters World Trade Center to your Saves list
Club Quarters World Trade Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Washington Street, New York City, NY NY 10006 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Everything But The Bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

After having an insane day of losing my I.D. & getting lost in the 59th St subway station, I arrive to my room only to find...a let-out sofabed?

Flat-screen TV? Check
Nice kitchenette? Check
Space-age Thermostat system? Check
Awesome wooden decor & sliding bathroom door? Check

So with everything in the room being from the 21st century, why was my bed from 1983?
The mattress was as hard as the bed of nails ninjas train on, trying to get in and out of it was a task cause of the metal railings. And let's not start with the sofa cushions "hiding" underneath the bed portion.

If you book here do NOT book the City Kitchenette because you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    264
    83
    29
    14
See reviews for
106
204
57
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

I took my 13 year-old daughter on a special long weekend trip. I wanted to stay in Manhattan, but all the other hotels in this price range had shared bathrooms and were in much older buildings. This brand-new. hotel was beautiful, with helpful staff and a great location. It was less than a 5 minute walk to at least 3 subway lines, which made getting uptown super easy. And less than 5 minutes to Battery Park. The rooms are a touch small, but sparkling clean and well suited, with comfy chairs for end-of-the-day lounging. There is free wifi and computers and printers in the lobby as well. There is a top-floor restaurant and sun terrace, which we only discovered on our last night - too bad, as we would have spent our evenings up there! The only drawback is that it's right behind the World Trade Center reconstructions and one morning we heard the machinery very early. I will stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I had a reservation for 4 adults to stay in a non- smoking hotel suite at this hotel in May 2011 for 3nights/a weekend stay. When we arrived we were given a suite on the 19th floor, which apparently was the smoking floor- the front desk rep. attempted to sell the room to us telling us it had a great view and ceiling to floor windows for 2 walls of the room. When we get to the room it was very small, had a little sofa bed couch and 1queen-size bed, and the room smelled like cigarette smoke. I called downstairs and told them I'd requested a non-smoking room. We were switched to another hotel suite, still tight but had a bit more room than the suite we were assigned to previously. Although the reservation was for 4 people, there were only enough coffee cups, and towels for 2 people. There was only 1 extra roll of toilet tissue in the room.
What set me off was that when I called down to the front desk to ask for additional towels I was asked why did I need so many and how many people were in the room! I thought this was rude and inappropriate to ask. We had to keep calling the front desk for toilet tissue and other toiletries b/c it was not being replenished by housekeeping.
This hotel also claims to provide complimentary bottled water- there were no clean empty water bottles available on our floor to use the water machines. It was just a very unaccomodating room for 4 people and the staff were very non-chalant about caring for our requests- they came with towels when they were ready to come.
Then there's the work being done on the old WTC building/Freedom Tower- the construction work kept us awake all night on a Friday night b/c they worked the entire night- this was a HORRENDOUS experience. I was very disappointed with this stay.

Room Tip: A suite is comfortable for only 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

After a pleasant stay at this hotel last year, we booked again in April 2011. THERE WAS NO BED in our room! It was literally an uncomfortable pull-out couch (made up to look like a bed). Terrible! After a very angry phone call, we were transferred to another hotel. Will not be staying here ever again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This hotel was nice. It is right next door to the World Trade Center site.

The only downfalls were that my bathroom had a bad mildew smell to it and that you could loudly hear everyone talking / closing doors in the hallway.

The rooms were tiny.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011 via mobile

I called in at 3:30 the day before my reservation to cancel. I talked to Mike and informed him that I was just informed that I had mandatory pre-deployment training for the next day. He informed me I had to cancel by noon and I was 3 1/2 late. I asked him if he could waive it since I had nothing to do with my plans changing. He informed me that he had to charge me the full nights rate. To me that is horrible customer service. I gave a 26 hour notice and I had no control over this. I will make sure to spread the word about this hotel being non-military friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Checking in is quick and the security is high (you can use elevators with your room card only)
The single rooms are on the small side, but two people have enough space to walk around. Intelligent room organisation and quality technology.
The washroom like the room is on the small side, but perfect !
The location is great: it's FAR from Times Square, but if you're there to discover NYC in 4 days+ than youreally ought to get a weekly pass OR by tickets as you go. Therefore, you're gonna use the metro anyways and there are stations nearby and the ride is quick! So the locations is IDEAL if you don't want to be in the middle of it all and want a GREAT deal and clean one too!

What made me happy as a customer is the fact that we had access to bottled water and coffee at all times on each floor! IT's the little things that hotels can do that show 'thought' was put in towards customer care.

We also had a view of ground zero and it was bitter sweet ...

I also recommend going and having the All American buffet breakfast (but it will cost 36$ with the 18% included gratuity). But do it once and enjoy the view and the good food (meat, eggs, coffee, juice (e.g. orange with pulp! :D, ceareal, yogurt, fruits, pancakes, American syrup, potatoes, continental pastries).

Visit St-Paul's chapel, it was dedicated to help the volunteer workers working on ground zero.

You can also walk to the ferry that brings you to the statue of liberty :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters World Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters World Trade Center

Address: 140 Washington Street, New York City, NY NY 10006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#87 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters World Trade Center 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 252 rooms located on the south side of the World Trade Center with unfettered views of what will become the United States’ most famous landmark. In the heart of downtown Manhattan, nearby neighborhoods include Tribeca, Soho, Battery Park, South Street Seaport, Wall Street and Chinatown and close to dining, shopping and entertainment. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Club Quarters World Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters World Trade Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters World Trade Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.