We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for its price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Lower East Side to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #268 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place for its price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

A bit outdated but perfectly situated hotel with friendly staff and nice breakfast. Small but clean room including refrigerator and cable TV. Nice place for short-term stay to explore Manhattan and the rest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    215
    62
    20
    18
See reviews for
126
133
83
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a good hotel to choose if you want to spend as much time as possible exploring NYC -- because you will not want to spend any time in your hotel room.

I stayed here because the location and price were right. Everything else, sadly, was wrong.

My room had strong musty smell. Nothing I could so would alleviate the odor (other than leaving the room for fresher air.) The carpets were dingy. The bathroom floor tiles were cracked and the door was warped by water.

The hallways and common areas were in similarly poor shape.

The two positive notes are -- the sheets appeared to be clean and the front desk staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very small rooms, outdated, smells like mold. Whoever rated as excellent does not stay in many hotels. Bathroom door warped and deteriorated. Rooms not clean. Carpet needs to be replaced. Breakfast was not very good. Ran out of coffee for a while.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Although it is not plush or luxurious, this hotel has much to commend.

It is located Lower East side.There are many restaurants within a short walking distance. It is very reasonably priced indeed. The staff at check-in are courteous, bright and helpful. Mr Dan is a very positive and friendly host. Since we reached the hotel very early in the morning they managed to clean the room and gave us quickly as promised.

Rooms are very tiny. pantry and common toilets are very tiny but clean though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I really thought I had found the perfect hotel, Lower East Side (LES) near good restaurants & bars; and not far from the subway. I got a great price and thought I had hit the jackpot. I was wrong.

Before discussing the hotel itself, if you are going on a first time visit to New York, you should know that LES appears to be a little rough around the edges, but we had no problems. Despite that, if I was in my 20s or 30s I probably would stay on this side of town again. This area is perfect for the younger crowd, it reminds me a little of a college town, or maybe 6th street in Austin Texas, or Montrose in Houston. As two 50somethings, it was fine but we may have been the oldest people we saw there all week. Nevertheless, there are plenty of places to eat here, inside or out (some good, some just OK), and lots of places to stop and have a drink (both with or without alcohol). The subway is about a two block walk, done in about 5 minutes or less. But, if you are not comfortable with walking at night in a little bit of a riskier side of town, you might want to look elsewhere.

1. The elevator was broken for several days, we were on the 4th floor and the ice on the 8th. Nobody acknowledged the inconvenience or apologized.
2. The room smelled odd (bad), but that was made worse by number 6 below - they turned off the AC the moment we left the hotel. (Not sure how they knew when we left each time).
3. The noise at night from the street is LOUD. Ask for a room on the other side of the hotel if you can.
4. I requested a pillow several times, and was told someone would bring it to me. (remember the elevator was down) After the 3rd request and after SEVERAL hours, I had to go back downstairs to get it myself so I can have it to sleep with.
5. Breakfast food was very limited, but OK. They had egg patties (yes patties), sausage, bagels and cream cheese, coffee, a few assorted pastries (a little stale), and you can make a waffle.
6. Someone came in our room EVERYTIME we left and turned off the AC, no matter how long we were gone. In addition, someone picked up my tablet and unplugged it. I had plugged it in as we were leaving for breakfast, so it would be charged upon our return. (There is no question this occurred, since I stopped and walked back in for the purpose of plugging it in before we walked out of the door and it was moved when we returned).
6. The little refrigerator did not work, although the freezer did.
7. The bed was a little hard, but we were able to sleep OK; not great, but OK.
8. The internet was good most of the time, although the last night and last day it kept dropping.
9. They said they had cable TV, but it did not appear to actually be anything more than regular TV. We did not even have the basic NBC and CBS channels.
10. The room was TINY, the queen size bed left little room to move around.

Had there been just one or two of these things wrong, we may have rated the hotel higher. However, there were too many issues in one stay to make the visit a good one. With that said, the room was clean, the staff was polite, just not overly concerned with making the hotel worth returning to in the future. Consequently, we would not return to this hotel or recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask NOT to stay on the street side; request the other side of the hotel. Nightlife noise is greater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

First, I need to talk about the neighborhood this hotel is located in. Rather than taking a very expensive taxi ride to arrive at the hotel, we opted for the more budget friendly metro system that had us taking a bus ride and subway to the Delancey/Essex station. It was unseasonably hot and our bags were getting heavier with each step we took. After making it up the 40 or 50 steps from the subway to surface, my love and I emerged into sunlight that revealed more grafitti than I had ever seen in my life - EVERYTHING had spray paint grafitti on it. Upon closer inspection the grafitti had grafitti sprayed on top of it. Mounds and piles of trashbags and loose garbage lined the narrow streets. The unusual high temperatures enhanced the smells as we weaved our way to the 136 Ludlow address.
We paid for the week in advance and carried our own bags to the 12 X 12 foot hotel room on the 4th floor (Room 404). The 11 story hotel has 4 rooms per floor with a single elevator and stairway. The queen-size bed and dresser in our room takes up the entire room with a 6 X 6 foot bathroom attached. The bed was comfortable, pillows soft and tiny, shower passable, and toilet flushed with no issues.
Now the ELEVATOR... Damn thing stopped working day 1 and did not work again until day 4. There are only 3 flights of stairs to get to the 4th floor, but the only ice machine is on the 8th floor and I NEED ice. We walk ALOT in NYC, so coming home to stairs in unusual heat and humidity was no fun. The day they finally got the elevator working, a cool front came through. My love said she thought this was a good stay - I wouldn't stay here again if it was half price - location, nearby food, bars, and price were top plusses - nasty neighborhood, room size, and the damn elevator being broken were my minuses. I could well imagine being mugged in this location, so I cannot give this hotel anything but a "poor" recommendation.

Room Tip: Keep looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you want to explore a great little neighborhood, stay in the Lower East Side. There are many restaurants, coffee shops, bars, etc. to explore here. This hotel is close to the Delancey St. subway stop; you can easily walk it even with luggage, (It's a big trek to Times Square if that is your goal; it's definitely a subway or cab ride to get there. The cost of the cab is probably worth it because you will pay a lower hotel rate here). The room was tiny but did have a coffee maker, mini fridge and a couple of complimentary bottles of water, which was appreciated. It was clean but simple. There was also a free breakfast which had a pretty good selection including some hot foods.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator which can be frustrating if you are on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Address: 136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lower East Side 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lower East Side Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.