We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lower East Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 451 hotels in New York City
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is great value for the money. The rooms are small of course, this is New York!! The Lower East Side is not as touristy as mid-town, which we liked. Make sure you visit nearby Katz's deli for the experience as well as the great food. There are lots of great bars and galleries in the neighbourhood. The staff were very pleasant, courteous and helpful. A nice selection of food for the complimentary breakfast. Subways are close by.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    202
    53
    15
    17
See reviews for
114
121
74
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blooming Grove, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Clean and comfortable LES gem, with morning coffee and fresh breakfast at reasonable rates .
Centrally located to all transportation, Whole Foods, and legendary bars and music clubs.
Friendly staff and housekeeping 24 hours.

Room Tip: All rooms have there own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

As musicians we were recently in NY to Play at a couple of Clubs in the Village.
We chose the Hotel with costs and location as a major determining factor.
Not knowing New York City we took a flyer on the Comfort Inn Ludlow Location.
The Rooms and Hotel amenities were nothing special but served our 3 day stay just fine.
The location and Hotel staff were what made our stay both interesting and enjoyable.
The neighbourhood had everything you might want from Clubs to great food.
Subway links were close at hand but walking and Cabs were our mode of transportation.
No Matter the time of day we felt safe as we navigated this Neighbourhood
A special shout out to "Angel" whose exuberance and genuine concern really formed our opinion on the positive side.
Shafeer on the front dest went out of his way to assure we enjoyed our stay as well.
If you want a genuine New York City Experience do not hesitate to stay at this location.
We will be back
Scott Riddell
Ottawa ,Ont
Canada

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a great little place in the middle of a very happening part of NYC. The staff is smart, quick, helpful, and eager to please. The rooms are average for NYC, always clean, and very comfy. I life the rooms overlooking the back especially, since there's less noise and lots of light. If you want to be downtown I can't imagine a better place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor overlooking the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

As a native New Yorker (who had previously lived just down the street from this hotel) I know how bad many of the hotels here are. I booked at Full-Sized bed room the Comfort Inn for only $89.00, and it turned out to be fantastic! The staff were very friendly, the hotel was very clean and new, and the rooms (small to most people, but very normal and typical size for those of us from NYC) were very clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and came with a selection of pillow choices. We also had a flat screen HD tv with cable, a coffee maker, a mini-fridge and complimentary water bottles. The bathroom was clean and new. Also, this is in a GREAT area of town (my personal favorite)...you're within walking distance of hundreds of amazing restaurants and bars, and you can easily walk to Chinatown, Little Italy, West Village, East Village, SOHO, and even downtown. This hotel was nicer, newer, cleaner, and cheaper than I could have ever imagined, and I was very happily surprised. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnLES, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Lower East Side, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi NickChicago123 ! We really appreciate your review. Coming from such a New Yorker as yourself, your feedback is invaluable. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. This property is located in the center of Lower Manhattan and it's a great experience all year round.

We welcome you with open arms and we hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards,

Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Exciting location with restaurants, shops, clubs in neighborhood and subway nearby. Rooms are clean and quiet (very quiet above 7th floor). The standard Comfort Inn breakfast is kept fresh and replenished--a good start for a typical exhausting NYC day. Plus, you can often meet interesting people in the breakfast room. WiFi always works. I have stayed here a dozen times in past two years as my son has a SMALL studio apartment nearby. Thanks, Jasmine, front desk agent, for finding me an upper room when possible. And thanks to Ashok and all the personnel have always been so helpful and friendly. See you soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnLES, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Lower East Side, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hey Kay w! Thank so much for the 5 Circle Review. It really warms our hearts to know that you enjoyed your experience here at the Comfort Inn. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff. We truly do care and want all of our guests to have a comfortable stay and a pleasantly memorable experience.

We welcome you back with open arms, and next time remember to give us a call directly in advanced for your next booking! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I've walked by this Comfort Inn many a time over the years and now that I live out of state and return for business, I look for cheap places to stay. This Comfort Inn is an incredible value, has amazing, friendly service AND is clean. I had the good fortune of staying on a higher floor and seeing the sun rise each day. I would come back for sure. It is not perfect by any means--imperfect detailing on the wallpaper and a little boo-boo with some caulk in the shower. Also, if you need space, this is not the place for you. The TV quality wasn't great on all the channels, but they had a lot of channels--and free breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnLES, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Lower East Side, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi Flixbix! Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. All reviews from our guest are important to our Comfort Inn Team as well as myself! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Comfort Inn family is committed to delivering the best customer service possible and I'm happy that you got to meet them.

We will have your room ready for you on a higher floor on your next booking!
We welcome you back with open arms. Hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Address: 136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lower East Side 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lower East Side Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.