We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay here...didn't enjoy as much as previous visits” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Lower East Side to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #301 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Third stay here...didn't enjoy as much as previous visits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Not sure why but I feel bad writing a mediocre review of this place. This was my third stay here and I didn't like it as much as previous stays.

I had booked a king room, but when I checked in they didn't have any kings available, so I got a queen.

I visit NYC often and I know rooms can be small but the rooms here are perhaps the tiniest I've ever stayed in. The room felt dark and claustrophobic to me this time. There's a tiny dining room chair crammed into a corner, so there's really no where else to sit except the bed.

The bedspreads are dirty-looking (I think from people putting their suitcases on them to unpack/pack) and need to be replaced.

The 7th floor where I stayed only had two rooms. I could often hear my neighbors conversations and television. The other side of the floor was a patio which was filled with cigarette butts (because the ashtrays were full) and was in dire need of a cleaning.

Housekeeping came way to early in the morning (like 10:15am), while I was still sleeping or getting ready. My requests to the front desk, while I was leaving, for housekeeping to visit my room went unheeded (two days).

Front desk staff - with the exception of the woman whose name I forget - seemed kind of surly/unfriendly/uninterested.

On the plus side: it's nice having a fridge in the room, and I really do like the Lower East Side neighborhood. Cute, trendy little neighborhood with lots of little shops, restaurants and bars. A coffeeshop around the corner called Espresso is great. As is Sugar Cafe for breakfast on Houston & Allen.

Definitely go see "Book of Mormon" when you visit NYC!

I have booked another trip to New York, and am staying somewhere else this time. Perhaps I will stay at Comfort Inn Lower East Side again - as the price compared to other NYC hotels is pretty good, and I do like the location - but I think the rooms, and the hotel in general, need a little TLC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn L, Manager at Comfort Inn Lower East Side, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hi Mr. keith,
I am the Manager at Comfort Inn Lower east and am sorry to hear that your third stay with us was not so pleasant. We are always on top of all reviews be it positive or not so positive, I personally will look into it and I can assure you that your next stay with us will be to your satisfaction. Please try to get in touch with me either by email or by phone and I have a very special offer for your next stay with us in the near future.

Management,
212-260-4141
comfortinn.ny@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    225
    66
    21
    21
See reviews for
132
141
86
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Friendly staff, clean but very small rooms, the parking garage that hotel suggest will not take SUV or Full size VAN. Aria around hotel not very good, at night time. typical NY setup. close to Williamsburgh bridge, and Chinatown

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I agree with kkemom that this is a real find. My daughter and i had to plan a quick trip to New York. The Comfort Inn is the first place i called. The initial conversation with Kumar was just like talking with my brother; no intimidation whatsoever. He was so very warm and pleasant, not to mention accommodating. I was also dealing with a personal problem (which i why we had an emergency trip to NY) and he immediately assisted me with that. Upon arrival and check-in, we thought very quickly that we did not make a mistake choosing this hotel. The real fun began when we met the rest of the Comfort Inn family - Ashok (delightful), Rohit (quiet and thoughtful, Jasmine (sweet and attentive), Angel (all over the place fun), Jay (wonderful). The room for me was great, even though "small" is New York. If you want family attention, treat yourself to a "stay" at this hotel. My whole family will be staying there during NYU graduation week.

Room Tip: Speak with a hotel representative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightstown, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms small but clean and attractively decorated. It is a great value for a New York City Hotels. Breakfast was free...no frills but good choices and something for everyone. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great staff. Rooms are small but is expected in NYC. Also my room was second floor street side so lots of noise. Beds were so close together for my double room. The breakfast was good but crowded as it was in the basement - again NYC. I'm used to larger hotels but last minute and cost effective hotel where I needed to be for a rehearsal on stanton

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was a real find. Affordable, clean, very friendly staff, and steps from where we needed to be. The breakfast was surprisingly full of choices--nothing fancy, but filling and tasty--and free. I saw other reviews that said there were noise issues, but we didn't have that--maybe because we were in the back, away from the street. Rooms are tight, but this is NYC!

Room Tip: As for a room in the back if you worry about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located, Ludlow street/Houston street, 2 metro stations are less than 200 meters far. The staff is very kind, the beds are very comfortable, the breakfast is ok. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a trip to new york,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#281 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Near Financial District
Comfort Inn Near Financial Distr...
#284 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#136 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#314 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Manhattan
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#397 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#244 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Address: 136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lower East Side 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lower East Side Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.