We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value / Bom custo-benefício” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lower East Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 452 hotels in New York City
Belo Horizonte, Brasil
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value / Bom custo-benefício”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was a pleasant stay. We got early for the check-in, but they accommodated our luggage till the time the room was ready. We booked the queen room, but be sure to get a king one (it's bigger and more comfortable). Front desk guys are very polite and are always willing to help. The breakfast girl is very sweet too. Breakfast area is little and depending on the time of the morning it will be crowded. You can have coffee, milk, tea, yogurt, waffle (a machine that you use), apples, bananas, bagels, butter, cream cheese, etc. It's very simple but enough to save you some bucks. The neighborhood is interesting, sleepy mornings and lively nights. Spitzer's on the corner has great food and a huge assortment of beers. Don't miss the Il Laboratorio del Gelato, they have great ice cream flavours and stay open late. The bed is comfortable, there's a minibar at the room (empty), the shower is ok, they offer amenities and let you know if you forget something to ask for it at the front desk. It's 3 blocks away from the Essex / Delancey station, what's great if you intend going to upper Manhattan. One bad thing is that there's no safe, at least I haven't seen one. If you are going to a shopping tour, remember to keep your things locked. There's a sign at the front desk that says more or less that they have no responsibility regarding the guests assets. My friend had her new perfume and lipstick used by the maids, at my room we couldn't think of anything different but we started to lock all the things, specially make-up. We didn't complain at the time she realized that happened because we were afraid that other things could happen. When we were leaving they let us stay after the checkout time, and upgraded our friend so she could stay at the same room. It was a really nice surprise. If you want to be in Manhattan, to pay less and yet have comfort, that's the place.

Room Tip: If you can afford an upgrade, get the King room instead of the Double one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    204
    54
    15
    17
See reviews for
116
125
75
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfkeld, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was a little oasis in a very busy neighborhood. Lots of people and noise on the street but the Comfort Inn LES was quiet and clean when you walked in the door. All of the staff from the manager to the cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. Very small room but while in New York, one should not be in their hotel room much. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I expected a so-so hotel for the price in Manhattan -- but I was pleasantly surprised by this Comfort Inn. The staff was amazingly friendly and so helpful. The young woman at the desk bent over backwards to help me figure out exactly where I was going (somewhere in East River Park for a dance performance with no specific address). She was so patient.
The room was spotless, the bathroom spotless. Everything worked, everything was in perfect order. The room wasn't big -- but it's New York City! There's no space for sprawling rooms unless you want to pay tons of money. I will definitely stay here again -- safe neighborhood, clean, friendly, and reasonably priced for New York.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I'm a downtown girl, my favorite parts of New York are between the Village and Soho. The Lower East Side is now almost too hip, chock full of bars and restaurants. Awesome alternative to the "typical" tourist areas in midtown, but if you want Times Sq. then stay there...this is NOT "that" Manhattan. But if you want to be in this neighborhood then this hotel is a reasonable choice. The only real negative is the tiny size of the rooms. Even by NYC standards, they are TINY TINY TINY. Seriously, you could not walk around the bed to get to the other side, you had to climb over it. My son and I were getting claustrophobic by the third night. On the plus side, the bed was comfy, the bathroom nicely appointed, the wifi was reasonably fast and the room came with a fridge. This was great for us, as when we go to new York we bring a cooler of treats home. The staff was uniformly friendly, and a desk clerk loaned us an umbrella on a rainy day. If you pay a high rate you will be shocked by the size of the room, but if that's not an issue for you this is a solid choice, especially for a solo traveler.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you are looking for the Ritz, then please make arrangements to stay at the Ritz. The Comfort Inn LES was exactly what I expected. The room was clean, not spotless, small but quiet enough and comfortable for my needs. I had a room on the 4th floor facing the street and I had no problem with typical NYC noise. If you want zero noise, go stay in Mystic and take a train into the city. Anyway, the staff was friendly and Jazmin especially stood out as being helpful. NYC is full of other options, but if you're looking for a no frills spot, in a trendy neighborhood then the Comfort Inn LES is a good option. Just don't expect the Ritz.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Address: 136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lower East Side 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lower East Side Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.