We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lower East Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 451 hotels in New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you are looking for the Ritz, then please make arrangements to stay at the Ritz. The Comfort Inn LES was exactly what I expected. The room was clean, not spotless, small but quiet enough and comfortable for my needs. I had a room on the 4th floor facing the street and I had no problem with typical NYC noise. If you want zero noise, go stay in Mystic and take a train into the city. Anyway, the staff was friendly and Jazmin especially stood out as being helpful. NYC is full of other options, but if you're looking for a no frills spot, in a trendy neighborhood then the Comfort Inn LES is a good option. Just don't expect the Ritz.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    202
    53
    15
    17
See reviews for
114
121
74
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Pros- The location can't be beat. It's right in the middle of everything. You can literally walk out of the door to bars and restaurants in minutes. The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was very nice and friendly, Angel was fantastic, he went out of his way to show me the subway, stores and other great tips. His customer service was stellar!

Cons- Water pressure wasn't so great and the rooms are small. The breakfast is also pretty marginal but there are plenty of great restaurants around.

I would easily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel was ideal. Great location. Plenty of places to eat & drink on the street. Great staff - they couldn't have been more helpful. Angel & the others went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Price was reasonable too.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Here's what you need to know: it's in a raucous fun amazing neighborhood full of clubs, bars, music venues, and incredible restaurants. There's no parking unless you use a garage, which wouldn't be affiliated with the hotel. The rooms are small and tight, which is exactly what makes them affordable in Manhattan. The staff will always be there to give you whatever answers, advice or service they can. If you need sleep and silence, there are plenty of boring places north of central park, or in brooklyn and queens, or even jersey. This is an excellent, even perfect place for young businessmen and women, young couples, or definitely foreign travellers looking to have fun. I have never had anything but an amazing time, great service and just enough sleep at this place. Oh, and they had the housekeeping staff sing me happy birthday while bringing me wine and flowers on my birthday.

Room Tip: The only really noisy rooms are the ones at the first floor, like the lobby, but those are rarely if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had 2 double bed room, so it was a little small. Rather than that everything else was good. I loved their generous breakfast everyday. The location is nice. Close to little Italy and China town.
The staff are friendly. They check us in at 12:00. The noise was only loud on Friday night. Other nights there were no noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I were in the city to celebrate a friends birthday and saw the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to stay here. We arrived early (11 am) and had no trouble checking in early. Our room was on the fourth floor facing Ludlow St. and unlike other reviewers, we had no trouble with the noise from the street.

Overall, the room and bathroom were spotless, the bed was comfortable, and the service was extraordinary. Keep in mind, it is a Comfort Inn. If your looking for a Kimpton hotel experience, at Comfort Inn prices, you'll be disappointed.

Tips: 1) If you're staying a week I would find a hotel with more amenities and larger rooms. If you're staying the night, there's not a better place on the East Side. 2) The parking garage the hotel uses is much further than the municipal lot which is only 1 block away. The municipal lot is only $10.00 more for 24 hours... USE IT! 3) Get down to the breakfast area early (before 9 am). It gets pretty busy the later it gets and things get pretty picked over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was eaten alive by bedbugs! Very sad because otherwise the location was great. I am now treating the many bites and it is awful. It is a raucous area where people stay up past 4:00 am which is great if you want to be in the city that never sleeps but not so great if you need sleep. You can get great deals at stores and also go to very chic places there, but all I really remember are the bedbugs, the bites are my miserable souvenirs.

Room Tip: Tell the manager to treat the mattresses for bedbugs!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Address: 136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lower East Side 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lower East Side Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.