We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to rest your head for the night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Lower East Side to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #305 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Marlboro, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to rest your head for the night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I were in the city to celebrate a friends birthday and saw the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to stay here. We arrived early (11 am) and had no trouble checking in early. Our room was on the fourth floor facing Ludlow St. and unlike other reviewers, we had no trouble with the noise from the street.

Overall, the room and bathroom were spotless, the bed was comfortable, and the service was extraordinary. Keep in mind, it is a Comfort Inn. If your looking for a Kimpton hotel experience, at Comfort Inn prices, you'll be disappointed.

Tips: 1) If you're staying a week I would find a hotel with more amenities and larger rooms. If you're staying the night, there's not a better place on the East Side. 2) The parking garage the hotel uses is much further than the municipal lot which is only 1 block away. The municipal lot is only $10.00 more for 24 hours... USE IT! 3) Get down to the breakfast area early (before 9 am). It gets pretty busy the later it gets and things get pretty picked over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    224
    67
    21
    21
See reviews for
132
140
87
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was eaten alive by bedbugs! Very sad because otherwise the location was great. I am now treating the many bites and it is awful. It is a raucous area where people stay up past 4:00 am which is great if you want to be in the city that never sleeps but not so great if you need sleep. You can get great deals at stores and also go to very chic places there, but all I really remember are the bedbugs, the bites are my miserable souvenirs.

Room Tip: Tell the manager to treat the mattresses for bedbugs!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great location on the Lower East Side, convenient to sights, shops, restaurants and the subway. Our room with kingsize bed was tiny (and typical of Manhattan hotel rooms) but attractive and comfortable, and the bathroom was actually a nice size. Our room was on the top floor, and was perfectly quiet. The daily rate was quite reasonable for New York City. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful both on the phone and in person, with check in and check out prompt, accurate and efficient. Garage parking is arranged through the hotel and available just a few blocks away, and the $30 rate for 24 hours (no in and out) is, again, reasonable for New York City. We were there for just one night and opted to walk a couple of easy blocks to Katz's Deli rather than eat the breakfast that was included. The Economy Candy Company is right around the corner on Rivington Street, and the fascinating Tenement Museum is just a few blocks away. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location on a street with a number of restaurants and pubs and few minutes walk from the metro. The hotel is in a narrow old building and it has just 4 rooms on each floor. The rooms consequently are really far too small to accomodoate more than 2 people because if you cannot put your suitcases on the second bed you have no space for them. There were literally barely 60 cm between the beds and the surrounding walls. On the other hand also the queen size beds are pretty narrow. Acustic isolation is also very poor, both between rooms and towards the street. The price I got was not super cheap either. Breakfast was included and we found it ok.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I checked into the Comfort in with my 2 daughters. As expected, we had double 2 beds. What wasn't expected was the room size. It was surprisingly small - to the extent that we wondered how we would manage. We had no more than 2 feet at the foot of the bed, 2 feet between the bed and the bathroom and 1 foot between the beds, My daughter joked that we could not have 2 suitcases open at the same time. Sadly. it was true.
However, sleep is sleep and the room was completely quiet and the beds very comfortable.The location, though on the lower East Side, was a gateway to the trendy neighborhoods, and a subway 2 blocks away. Cleanliness could use a bit of attention but that would not preclude a future stay. The free breakfast was hot and enjoyable but had a "fast food" air about it (except for the waffle maker which was a hit for all).
The staff were friendly and welcoming - particularly Jasmine who's personality and charm made it hard to complain about minor inconveniences. Though she certainly attended to any concern we may have had. She was the definitely the face of this property - to the extent that we had pictures with her before we left.
After 3 nights, I can say that, despite the room size (not uncommon in Manhattan), we had a great stay. Thank you Comfort Inn and THANK YOU Jasmine !!

Room Tip: A queen room will certainly afford more space for moving about. Front or back of the Hotel makes no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just want to say a big thank you to Comfort Inn for making our stay in NY an absolute pleasure. We found the surrounding location very cool (lots of cool shops/bars/restaurants), the rooms really comfortable and the staff and level of service superb.

In particular we must thank Angel for his wonderful hospitality. He went above and beyond his duties to ensure we had everything we needed and was always helpful with information and advice about the city and local venues around the hotel. He epitomizes 'service with a smile' - truly a great asset to the hotel and certainly a reason we will be returning to stay in future.

We also must heap praise on the lovely Jasmine. Very switched on and happy to clarify various details regarding our stay, Jasmine provided excellent service and local knowledge, and never took any of our enquiries lightly.

All-in-all: Great location, comfortable and affordable rooms, excellent service (plus free daily breakfast was handy).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The rooms are very small but stock all the right necessities: hair dryer, iron, small refer, coffee maker & flat screen tv. The hotel is located in a great area with lots of eateries including a very authentic pizzeria (Via Tribunali) that prepared pizza in a tile brick oven. Going the other direction, we found a retro movie theatre that allowed us to escape the summer heat. Staff at the hotel are very caring and friendly. Breakfast is included so it helps with NYC's high rates.

Room Tip: I've stayed in rooms with a single QU and also with two doubles. Unless you need the extra bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#281 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Near Financial District
Comfort Inn Near Financial Distr...
#243 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#137 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#321 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Manhattan
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#397 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#245 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Address: 136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lower East Side 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lower East Side Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.