We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay here...love this little place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lower East Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 451 hotels in New York City
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Second stay here...love this little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This was my second stay at Comfort Inn Lower East Side, and it was even better than my first stay. I had a room on the sixth floor facing the front, which I preferred to last time when I had a back room on a low floor with no view.

Ludlow Street is very "lively" with partiers on weekend nights, but I stayed out late myself and was not bothered by it. I actually found it entertaining.

The neighborhood is perhaps my favorite place to stay in NYC. So many restaurants and bars nearby, and walking distance to many things (including the East Village and SoHo). There is a Whole Foods just around the corner and down the street, so having a fridge in the room is a great perk for an NYC hotel.

There was a very friendly and helpful woman at the front desk often - I wish I remembered her name but I don't. Housekeeping was also friendly, and very unobtrusive. It's always nice when you can sleep in on vacation without housekeeping making tons of noise in the hallway or neighboring rooms.

The rooms are small, but comfortable. The bathroom has a nice shower/tub and lots of counter space for your stuff. Flat screen TV worked well. And again, having a fridge is a huge plus!

Highly recommended very close by: Espresso for coffee around the corner on Stanton Street. And Schiller's Liquor Bar on Rivington for dinner (I made reservations for me, a college friend, and his NYC friends - and we were all super impressed by the decor and food). And Katz Deli at the end of the block is an experience - a delicious, diet-ruining one!

Am hoping to go to NYC again in June or July and will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    200
    51
    15
    17
See reviews for
114
121
74
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The hotel is small but very convenient for us. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. It was also very quiet and sleeping was easy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great staff, great location - we will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Hotel is fairly new (appx. 1 1/2 years old) and is still in good shape. The room was tiny but clean; the bathroom was of normal size and also clean. Rooms on the back side of the building are quiet and have nice city views. The breakfast was poor even for the typical "breakfast included": bagels were awful, there were no English muffins or whole-wheat bread, and the eggs were way overcooked. The neighborhood is grimy and slimy (with not a tree in sight) but there are lots of food and drink options very close by (too close, actually). Tourists should understand that this location is not near the main NYC attractions and is inconvenient in terms of the main subway lines. But, if you want to stay in this area, this place would work fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel provided a standard Comfort Inn experience to which I am accustomed, in NYC at a great value. While the room and hotel is compact in size - this is usual for value downtown NYC hotels. The room was small but quite efficient and comfortable. Everything was clean and in good working order.

I was traveling alone to NYU for business and I was able to easily walk to campus. The neighborhood is a typical Lower East Side neighborhood - it is not fancy - but rather colorful and traditional NYC. Within feet of the door were several really good eateries, fusion, irish pub, great burger place, and Katz' deli to name just a few.

Hotel clientele included business individuals, families and couples on vacation, students, etc. I felt quite safe, comfortable, and enjoyed the energy of the neighborhood.

The staff was helpful and kind. Breakfast was great and went until 10AM everyday which I appreciated.

The value of this hotel (price for offering) was excellent.

I will stay here again.

LC, PhD

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed for one week at Comfort Inn Lower East Side. All was OK, from the welcome, the rooms, the situation of the hotel and the warm and helpful staff. There were all so nice and friendly with us giving us informations, made reservations for us.We enjoyed this week and will of course stay there a next time when coming back to NY. We really recommend this hotel. Best regards from Family Karrer

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great value, would definitely stay again. Very clean room, very friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast with two kinds of waffles. Easy walk to the East Village and subway. Some street noise due to nearby bars. Rooms are small, but adequate, and normal for NY.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Address: 136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lower East Side 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lower East Side Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.